Ronleo 6th Gear April 29, 2014 Share April 29, 2014 I am also making a trip there during Vesak. :P Are you going up with family, kids? The outdoor themepark is closed. ITs only left with a few miserable indoor rides which will also be closed for renovation in June 2014. Besides just the Casino, there is really nothing much left. Of course if you intend to just go for a short R&R to enjoy the weather, I think its still ok. Ultimately its the company that matters usually. Hi pal, Any idea which date in June will the indoor theme park be closed? I juz booked hotel last night, and juz saw your posts!!! Damn! Bringing my kids there on the 14-16 June... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EXO 4th Gear April 29, 2014 Share April 29, 2014 (edited) Ronleo, more information can be found here: www.rwgenting.com/en/themepark/images/firstworld.pdf Hope this helps Hi pal,Any idea which date in June will the indoor theme park be closed?I juz booked hotel last night, and juz saw your posts!!!Damn! Bringing my kids there on the 14-16 June... Edited April 29, 2014 by EXO 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleo 6th Gear April 29, 2014 Share April 29, 2014 Ronleo, more information can be found here: www.rwgenting.com/en/themepark/images/firstworld.pdf Hope this helps Tks pal! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 Hi pal, Any idea which date in June will the indoor theme park be closed? I juz booked hotel last night, and juz saw your posts!!! Damn! Bringing my kids there on the 14-16 June... I thought is outdoor thempark close? You mean indoor also closing? In that case, perhaps you can bring swimming costume and let your kids play in the indoor mini waterpark. The water is hot. There is also a game arcade with mini rides at genting hotel. Enjoy your trip. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 Here's a video showing the drive up Genting in day time. Good for use to understand the drive up. Thanks for the video. Which part is the steepest drive in the video? Is it at the 19-20 min....? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 In that case, perhaps you can bring swimming costume and let your kids play in the indoor mini waterpark. The water is hot. There is also a game arcade with mini rides at genting hotel. Do they also have a indoor heated pool for adults ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 Thanks for the video. Which part is the steepest drive in the video? Is it at the 19-20 min....? imho, should be 17:23 min. Hi pal, Any idea which date in June will the indoor theme park be closed? I juz booked hotel last night, and juz saw your posts!!! Damn! Bringing my kids there on the 14-16 June... Can bring them for the magic show.... http://www.rwgenting.com/en/entertainment/2014/petermarvey/index.htm Suggest to book online in advance to ensure you can get seats. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 I thought is outdoor thempark close? You mean indoor also closing? In that case, perhaps you can bring swimming costume and let your kids play in the indoor mini waterpark. The water is hot. There is also a game arcade with mini rides at genting hotel. Enjoy your trip. During our recent trip on 14Apr2014, we noticed that a lot of major constructions are ongoing. I think the indoor mini waterpark should be already closed/demolished. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extremme 4th Gear April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 During our recent trip on 14Apr2014, we noticed that a lot of major constructions are ongoing. I think the indoor mini waterpark should be already closed/demolished. Yup the kids pool is already closed cause its connected to outdoor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 I usually stay at Theme Park hotel and parked at Resort Hotel. This time round I will be staying at First World, where can I park my car? Is there a MSCP? I saw a carpark entrance that says Members, I have a silver card, so can I park? With silver card, you should be able to park at that carpark. However, you can also park at Resort Hotel or Highlands Hotel carparks, which are open only to silver card and above. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 Thinking of making a trip up this Vesak day week. I know the theme park has closed, and I don't gamble. What else is interesting up there besides the cold weather? Last time I went was few years ago. adults only or with kids? strawberry farm at gothong jaya http://www.gentingstrawberry.com/index.htm if keen on shopping, some of the shops in First World Plaza have decent prices/sales. For instance, Diesel had a sale when I was there in March. cinema at First World Plaza is not bad, altho not many choices of films available. Seats are clean though. Choose the premium seats rather than the normal ones. drinking coffee (or other beverage of choice) in the al fresco environment (coffee bean @ resort htl or starbucks @ genting hotel) Especially shiok when raining and at night. Can also try to eat Baskin Robbins ice cream alfresco m-spa massage slightly overpriced but expected for holiday area. foodwise - u can explore the various restaurants and kopitiams in the area. I like: - genting palace restaurant (dim sum is nice too) - mushroom farm restaurant (not the same place as the strawberry farm) - Hainan express near resort hotel, not the giant one in 1st world - ah yat in 1st world plaza - resort hotel carpark B5 kopitiam - Chinese soup place in resort hotel basement tunnel area... I dunno the name. the TVs in resort hotel have usb input, so u can BYO movie if u wish to nuah in room. Can bring own drinks etc. The minimart in resort hotel B5 has a decent selection of beers and a limited wine selection. can make daytrip to bukit tinggi resort as well as Raub/bentong durian farms when in season. can jio the local taxi drivers to race up/down the mountain. Ok just kidding. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear May 1, 2014 Share May 1, 2014 With silver card, you should be able to park at that carpark. However, you can also park at Resort Hotel or Highlands Hotel carparks, which are open only to silver card and above. Bro, You mean the Resort Hotel, will be using silver card to enter ( Highland Hotel use to have guards at car park entrance to check ), previoulsly, just drive in and no one checks. What you mean now is that guards will be checking ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged May 1, 2014 Share May 1, 2014 For first timers driving up Genting, do watch out for other vehicles weaving in and out of different lanes, particularly after 19.oo part of the video, where the wide sweeping & steepest curves are found. Remember to switch on full headlights and also fog lights when visibility reduced by low clouds. Have A Safe Drive! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EXO 4th Gear May 1, 2014 Share May 1, 2014 No idea bro, I see the video the whole trip okay leh. Tmr night will be the first time I drive up Genting. Thanks for the video. Which part is the steepest drive in the video? Is it at the 19-20 min....? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear May 1, 2014 Share May 1, 2014 Bro, You mean the Resort Hotel, will be using silver card to enter ( Highland Hotel use to have guards at car park entrance to check ), previoulsly, just drive in and no one checks. What you mean now is that guards will be checking ? Resort Hotel and Highlands carparks allow only silver card n above to enter. At Resort Hotel carpark, an entry barrier was already installed, but not sure already in operation. At Highlands Hotel carpark, a card reader and entry barrier are in operation. The guard is there occassionally to assist in case of card unreadable. Sometimes, the guard remain in the nearby security booth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear May 1, 2014 Share May 1, 2014 can jio the local taxi drivers to race up/down the mountain. Ok just kidding. Can also jio those super bikes and Lotus which gather at Resort Hotel driveway every weekend morning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extremme 4th Gear May 1, 2014 Share May 1, 2014 Resort Hotel and Highlands carparks allow only silver card n above to enter. At Resort Hotel carpark, an entry barrier was already installed, but not sure already in operation. At Highlands Hotel carpark, a card reader and entry barrier are in operation. The guard is there occassionally to assist in case of card unreadable. Sometimes, the guard remain in the nearby security booth. oh really? I am a frequent vistor to Genting but I did not noticed that. The resort hotel MSCP you were referring to, is it the one above Old Town? I know that there is a guardpost at one of the levels and I recalled upon reaching that level, they block the right turn and cars have to exit. IS that the barrier you said? If yes then I was wondering why they block off now. Silver card, I thought its a standard card for everyone. Its like everyone gets a free upgrade. :P adults only or with kids? strawberry farm at gothong jaya http://www.gentingstrawberry.com/index.htm if keen on shopping, some of the shops in First World Plaza have decent prices/sales. For instance, Diesel had a sale when I was there in March. cinema at First World Plaza is not bad, altho not many choices of films available. Seats are clean though. Choose the premium seats rather than the normal ones. drinking coffee (or other beverage of choice) in the al fresco environment (coffee bean @ resort htl or starbucks @ genting hotel) Especially shiok when raining and at night. Can also try to eat Baskin Robbins ice cream alfresco m-spa massage slightly overpriced but expected for holiday area. foodwise - u can explore the various restaurants and kopitiams in the area. I like: - genting palace restaurant (dim sum is nice too) - mushroom farm restaurant (not the same place as the strawberry farm) - Hainan express near resort hotel, not the giant one in 1st world - ah yat in 1st world plaza - resort hotel carpark B5 kopitiam - Chinese soup place in resort hotel basement tunnel area... I dunno the name. the TVs in resort hotel have usb input, so u can BYO movie if u wish to nuah in room. Can bring own drinks etc. The minimart in resort hotel B5 has a decent selection of beers and a limited wine selection. can make daytrip to bukit tinggi resort as well as Raub/bentong durian farms when in season. can jio the local taxi drivers to race up/down the mountain. Ok just kidding. I also always eat those places mentioned. I think the B5 kopitiam's food is pretty ok haha but then standard differs ok. I felt the Mushroom farm restaurant standard dropped already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear May 1, 2014 Share May 1, 2014 oh really? I am a frequent vistor to Genting but I did not noticed that. The resort hotel MSCP you were referring to, is it the one above Old Town? I know that there is a guardpost at one of the levels and I recalled upon reaching that level, they block the right turn and cars have to exit. IS that the barrier you said? If yes then I was wondering why they block off now. Silver card, I thought its a standard card for everyone. Its like everyone gets a free upgrade. :P Yes, the MSCP above Old Town Cafe is the Resort Hotel carpark. If you keep driving left alongside Old Town Cafe, there is one more carpark entry (abit hidden out of direct view). Not sure about guard/barrier here. If you don't enter here, and continue driving up the ramp, you will reach Resort Hotel driveway, and then the main carpark entry with barrier. Not sure about the guard post you mentioned, may that is to allow gold card n above to enter. Since we are talking about Resort Hotel carpark, those with high vehicles need to take note..........there is one intermediate downramp somewhere in the mscp, the ceiling is very low, iirc 1.7m, much lower than the main carpark entry. I almost drove my 1.8m down, luckily my wife alerted me in time, and we had to reverse up the ramp. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...