Vit4wd 1st Gear May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 I was overseas for the past 2 weeks, and upon returning, I realied that my Getz is more powerful. Later I realised that my bro-in-law, who had been using my car during my absence had pumped 98RON petrol. I always pump 95RON. So 98RON does make a car more powerful. The engine is now quieter and smoother. I thought so long as the min RON is used, it's fine, but now I realised that higher RON makes a car more powerful, and quieter and refined! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnie Neutral Newbie May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 worth paying the extra per topup for that 'powerful' feeling? could be because he lut your engine until carbon all cleared. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 If Can Drive for Extra Mileage.....Worth it .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 well, if someone else pays for, i don't mind trying RON98 in my car Actually, i've always been using 92 then recently switched to Caltex 95 to take advantage of the $3 discount from OCBC. For 2-3 tanks, the FC was super crappy.. loss about 1km/l. The other day i switched to Shell 92 and then wow... FC improved (for 1st 100km so far anyway). But i wonder is it becos the Shell pump attendant forcefeed my car so gave the impression that i'm using less to drive further Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 pop ur bonnet. Ur bro in law may have installed something snaillike. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 mine also smoother and more power on 98 mileage same Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicz Neutral Newbie May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 Its near to a myth by saying that RON98 has better power. If its such an easy chore to earn power, many things will have no market value liao. its just placebo, fren. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minmax Neutral Newbie May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 does it affect the engine if i switch between RON95 and RON98 ? example : like half tank 95 and half tank 98? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twnll 1st Gear May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 Ron 96.5? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Decibel Neutral Newbie May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 95 is a mixture of 98 and 92 I believe so you think leh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 worth paying the extra per topup for that 'powerful' feeling? could be because he lut your engine until carbon all cleared. ========================= Now u make him worried. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 yup... agree with you. all placebo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 Maybe the knock sensor is programmed to advance the timing slightly with a higher RON petrol but it will run fine without any knocking if u use the minimum RON. That's why a higher RON seems more powerful cos it can extract just a little more power from the engine when u push it hard. For normal driving, the minimum recommended RON is more then enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 yeap depends wat the engine is tuned for some engines are tuned for 98 but run fine on 95 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wilb Clutched May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 pop ur bonnet. Ur bro in law may have installed something snaillike. LoL. Maybe open up one supercharger inside, no wonder so POWER Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 Stating the min ron used is just to prevent knocking or pre-ignition IMO. Manufacturers simply stop at stating the min RON recommended is that they dun want consumers to think that a certain brand fuel will run "better" on their cars. They dun want to cause unnecessary misunderstandings. What consumers want to use is up to them to choose. Fuel company can always claim how wonderful is their product and such. Consumers will have whatever opinions they have or "feel" which ever brand, grade runs "better" on their cars. No end on the debate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minmax Neutral Newbie May 12, 2007 Share May 12, 2007 Erm, anyone know wat RON and wat brand will be good and FC for my 1992 honda esi(A)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear May 12, 2007 Author Share May 12, 2007 95 is a mixture of 98 and 92 I believe so you think leh? The oil co. actually mixes 98 & 92 to get 95RON? Any evidence that this is true? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...