Drink and drive

Yeshe

with the recent heated up issue on drink driving, i was wonder how many of bro/sis in MCF actually have personal experience when kena stop by TP after some drinks. what do you feel and how do you get out of the situation.

I have 2 accounts that i can share, it was not my personal encounter, but it was my colleagues.

first guy, he was 22yr old then, still studying in poly. he drank with his friend quite abit and kena stop by TP on the way home driving his dad's car. Panic after he failed the first 2 breathanalyser test. He plead with TP that he is still a student, TP give him last chance to blow real hard into the tester. somehow this time, he passed. till today, he never dare to drink and drive anymore.

second guy, during a colleague's wedding dinner, he down some red wine + beer. on the way home, he was driving co van and forget to turn on highlights. on the PIE, a patrol car saw him and stopped him. they made him take the breathanalyser test and he was lucky to pass near the threshold. nevertheless, he was still fine for not turning on headlights. close encounter for him as the police could have ask him to go hospital to take urine test.

actually, does the recommendation of 2 glasses of beer max to maintain within the alcohol limit applies to everyone?

Balls shrink man.. bloody scared. [bigcry]

Was doing my NS.. nites out with the guys.. naturally drink quite a bit but confirm fail one. Sending my 2 frens back kena road block.. police took our IC. He confirm smell alcohol. went to the back of the patrol car.. i was praying so hard man. Another officer came.. THANK GOD fren knew him.. they were good frens.. The officer went to get our ICs back and ask us to Fark off now and go home.

Went we back to camp, Fren said that night i was super lucky the first officer was going ask to do the test. lucky his fren rank higher let us go.. Phew

Til to date, i never drink and drive. Still thanking the person up there and who help me..

actually, does the recommendation of 2 glasses of beer max to maintain within the alcohol limit applies to everyone?

Not exactly true IMHO [:)]

Depends on individual [nod][nod][nod]

My advice is still 'Wanna drink, don't drive. Mai Hai Si Nan' [;)]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

I given up drinking back in 1996, after having spending all my Friday nights at pubs (mostly run by Europa) and discos, sometime even on Wednesday or Thursday which were ladie's night.

I started going to pub to listen to live bands during my N.S. days (late 80's), I rode a bike back then but didn't ride when I drink. However, when I started work (late 80's to early 90's), initially was driving a company van for the 1st 2 years, was always almost drunk when we (me and my colleagues) left the pub around 2am when they close, almost driven off the road twice along Dunearn Road on that van sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

Another time I was quite drunk, after downing a bottle of JW Blue Label that I share with my friend, I know that I must drive slow (I was driving Alfa Romeo 33 1.7 16v) on the ECP, after coming out from Europa East Coast, my eyes can't even focus on the road and white lane markings on the road keeps shifting left and right, lucky didn't get into any accident, manage to reach home alive. Next morning, actually latter in the morning, went to my car and realised I forgetten to lock and wind up all the windows on my car because I was too drunk then sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

I was stop twice at road block, the 1st time the officer give me a chance and let me go even though he knows that I was drinking, the 2nd time I almost got it, on the small road coming out from Europa East Coast, I was very lucky as all the cars in front of me (at least 5 cars) all kanna and were pull one side for breathanalyser test.

The police officer that stop me was a rookie, can see that he is very young and don't know what to do with me, keeps looking back at the rest of the officer and hopefully someone will come over to help him, can also look at his badge number that he is a NSF and not a regular PC. So I quickly ask him "so how? behind me all the cars all jam out you know", he got no choice but to let me and some of the cars behind me to passed sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

I stop going to pub and disco when I met my wife wink.gifPosted ImagePosted Image

Man, I really like your life story

flawless my respect

I think most of us born around that time are some kind of "good" bad kids

we had our days of fun and laughter

we now know how serious the consequences can be but we did it

it is terrible

yet we are so unforgiving to these people nowadays

I am not saying they are right

but looking at the threads

it seems that the way we comment on these people on the news committing offences

as if we are non sinners

perhaps we should all forumers including myself be a little more restraint when we pass judgement on those who supposedly committed the crime

how many times someone made you so mad that if there was a knife or gun around you would have surely killed him

what if that really happened

but news only report that you killed a man without any form of defence

I hope we all can contribute to a more forgiving society

I have a couple of friends who were drug addicts, they have gone into cold turkey and when come out society treat them like outcast

they are good hardworking people but by some unfortunate weakness got trapped

they finally returned to drugs because it is the drug pushers that treat them like 'humans'

so with regards not only to drink and drive

I hope forumers can join in to help this group of people by giving them a chance

everybody makes mistake

if you know it wrong and willing to change

why are we so hypocritical and dont give them a chance to change

I guess your wife definite have a positive influence on you

behind every successful man is a good wife

[:)]

There have been quite a number of times when I encountered road blocks. But the police usually let me pass without questioning. May be I have the good guy's look.

Don't always think that 1 or 2 glass is Ok. Yes, it could be still within the limit i.e. able to pass the breathe test, but don't forget, if you met with any accident, still can be charged under drink driving. Drink, don't drive....

yah, we all had our pass, be it good and bad,

I not only drink but also drive like there is no tomorrow.

Back in 93 when I got my Alfa 33 1.7 16v (my 2nd Alfa 33, the 1st 33 was a 1.7 QV), I clock 198km/h along ECP, that straight stretch that can be used as an alternate runway sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif I was really crazy back then, see any fast car on the road and will just race with them sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif and along N/S HW I hit 210km/h and was wanting to push it to the max 230km/h as I have re-chipped my Alfa, then something came to my mine and I remember that the tyres were only 'H' rating, meaning not more then 210km/h, so I just max it to 210km/h, that was back in 94 sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

Beside being influenced by my wife to stop drinking and driving like there is not tomorrow, I still like to drive fast but will not take unnecessary risks, is I lost a friend in a car accident.

He's like me, party + drink + driving fast, he send the wife home early as she was tired after a few hours at a disco in town, on the way back to the disco to join his friends, he lost control of his Alfa 33 (same model as mine) on one of the corners and the car was totally flaten, impact was so great that the engine block was found a few meters away. I was shocked after I look at the photo of the damaged car shocked.gifPosted ImagePosted Image

That really wakes me up, since then, I stop those crasy challenge on the road, the most I do is play a bit on pickup and some of the corners but no longer to the extend of overtaking on the breakdown lane or do whatever I can to overtake that car that I was racing with Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

Now with 4 kids, have to drive with care Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image the only time that I go all out was when I go tracking in PG Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image now driving a cheap Korean 8 seater cannot go PG liao Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

Edited by Vtim

I know but that was way back in 95', also can see during that time, he is more 'kan cheong' and 'buay chai' than me laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif that's why can makan him sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

It's all depend on individual, it's really difficult to tell one can drink how much of alcohol then can pass the BA test. When you drink, don't drive, recently there's a lot of accident happened just because of drink driving. At the same time, even you pass the BA test, let say the BA device show warning, which mean you had drink, but is still within the limit. You can still be charge for drink driving if you get involve in accident, even you are not at fault. BTW, the police will bring you go hospital for blood test, not urine test. Urine test is for drugs, while blood test is for alcohol.