Ms_tan Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Just learnt from my colleague from other branch.. A female colleague from Finance dept can't workout with all engineers & management is considering to have part of the work given to my dept... Guess I'm the one whom the 'wastbin' of my dept liao...(previously I was the one whom helping finance to do when they lack of manpower) Seems like she started to make a fuss over small issue & once management headache over this, they will pass the 'sxxt' to my dept... The fuss she made has been years ago... So angry / fedup... What should I say if really that sxxt belongs to me... I don't wanna do that.. It belongs to Finance dept & what's got to do with my dept, what's got to do with me? Any expert advicers here, pls teach me how to reject management from doing so? I know, once I take up that work, it will be endless... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 time to ask for pay increment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liping24 Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Why not hint to management that they can easily hire TWO fresh graduates to do the job of the existing finance lady salary? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Author Share August 6, 2007 I will rather don't want the work from finance... The work can be tedious as it involve the whole company $$$... If there's increment, the most $10 niah... I rather don't want... Pls teach me how to reject it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jnetjnjn Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Sigh.. sometimes it's hard to push away the rubbish being thrown to you from management. They don't need a reason to do so as per my previous experience.Their attitude is, take it or take a hike as there are many grads out their queueing up for the job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Easy. Just do a piss poor job, bo chap, chuck it aside. If anyone question u just say u are not "trained" in this area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 stand firm..say u are bz... and list the work u haf online... 'exaggerating' in the process Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Author Share August 6, 2007 Sad to say my dept ppl mostly doing nothing & to say I'm busy with my work is a crap that nobody (even myself) will not believe... Busy as an excuse is not acceptable in my case... I know I've to accept that bloody work thrown by other dept but I don't wish to accept it & must really do something to let my immed boss know that I'm really piss with him... My boss is a very understanding boss but he uses his 'understanding' to other depts & oftenly we work under him feel stress... He always take shits from others for us to work.... I want to let him know - at least spell it clearly to him that if I can't reject, I MUST clearly let him know that I was being FORCED to do so... not willingly... I also wanna let him know that I will not show any kind face to that LADY WHOM POUR OUT THIS sxxt TO ME & if trouble arises in future (involving engineering dept), that's his problem.. Any script for me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Author Share August 6, 2007 Easy. Just do a piss poor job, bo chap, chuck it aside. If anyone question u just say u are not "trained" in this area. I can say your idea not bad... Be using this as 'protesting' ... What else??? I know by doing this, I will have all Engineering 'shooting arrows' at me very soon.. But I don't care.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 erm...dunnoe if i should say this.....it seem to me that you understand that your dept is mostly doing nothing........shouldn't it be fair that it's time to do somthing? I'm not trying to be antagonistic here but if both department are equally busy, by dumping the other dept's work on you is not ethical to say the least...but if your dept is less busy....isn't it time to start really earning your worth in the company? Sorry if the above sound harsh but unless you are a professional....eg. doctor, if the finance department of the hospital ask you to help out is their accounting, that will be crazy cos your training does not cover that and even by chance you are able to do some accounting, that will be waste of resource. But if you are a non-professional, eg. secretary/clerk/HR.....helping with things like typing out a meeting minute, submission fo applications, updating of particulars are easily within your capability and scope. Nobody likes to do extra work...who dun like to do minimum but earn maximum.....think about it.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Author Share August 6, 2007 I used to have the concept as yours - be fair & do something. So I initiated to help material doing updating (doesn't affect the system)... But it was my boss whom stop me in helping. He said, who is giving me the performance result, is my dept or material dept.. He secretly sent an email to me alone saying I should not help other dept.. Let him know before I committ anything... So u see, not I wan to be doing nothing.. I was being stop.. And now, management wants me to do something not for my dept.. Contradicting right? The most impt is I don't like that task cos it was a sxxt been thrown out from Finance dept.. And it involves mostly engineering dept... And this dept was the most impt for this company... U can see why I so fedup??? A wastebin am I? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 there are many ways to look at thing, if you think those were thrash, then you are thrash bin I thought you mentioned your dept has NOTHING TO DO, including yourself, then would you rather have SOMETHING to do than get retrenched?? You can reject management by letting them reject you! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ares Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Try your luck to talk to your boss. There is no exact script for you as only you can 'play by ear' in the process by guaging your boss's body language and tone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Author Share August 6, 2007 Not say totally nothing to do lah. We do internal audit, documentations for internal / external... etc & etc... so don't really busy as other depts which need to handle customers... We work 'behind' not 'infront'... so they all will said our dept is very free lor... Esp, we catch them & 'fine' them using documents.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Sad to say my dept ppl mostly doing nothing & to say I'm busy with my work is a crap that nobody (even myself) will not believe... Busy as an excuse is not acceptable in my case... True, if a staff is overloaded with work, he/she won't have the time to surf the net and contribute postings regularly to MCF. Today is my off-day, hence I am here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 wow, you really are busy... if u dun like the job and handling so much S H I T, then maybe you can consider what most talented ppl do... find another job! You ever heard of the saying "Only talented ppl leave, dead-beats remain."? heehee maybe can just find another job and tell your boss you dun wana slog it out doing wrk for others. I guess your job scope is really extensive, inculding having to make postings on net forums during office hours.... no wonder you are busy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Difficult to reject can you take pay LL have to swallow it. I got a shithole from my ex colleague as well. He screwed the whole thing up and I have to clean up the mess now. I have nothing against ang mohs but I really do think alot of ang mohs all pian jia one... talk very good but do work all buay gan one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mubarakrashid Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 remember this.. If you are good, you will be assigned the job. If you are really good, you can assign someone else to do the job.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...