Junjie 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 If your repair cost > OMV, most insurance companies will advise total loss.... I nearly encounter in such situation with IDAC so called professional surveyor....when my ride was towed to the big big workshop at Portsdown road...the surveyor only see see look look and quoted overall repair to cost 11K....I was shocked as clearly the extent of my damages wasn't that bad, I went to see the surveyor and questioned him how he made his assessment...he said your font kana laga, gear box sure up lorry must replace the whole gear box...I was like WTF u talking, just by looking u know?.....immediately called another workshop and the boss son was kind enough to come down and assess the damage cost...end up only 6K for repair and my insurance coy settle the payment promptly which initially when they received the assessment from Idac they wanted to call for total loss....alway seek second opinion.....not to promote but Chew Goon Wkshop in AMK autopoint is no horse run...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 what has OMV got to do with it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 haha no worries la..they are ALL the same...my experience with the supposed better international insurance company is not better...also cant convince me why they have to do this or that...always same word "Procedure"....just drive with care Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 If I am not with NTUC but the other party is, why do I need to go to IDAC if my insurer don't require me to? u can choose not to but u will have difficulty claiming from ntuc. u go to ur own workshop, they jack up claim amount. ntuc will pay? of course not la. ntuc will offer settlement to the amount they deem reasonable (ie what their workshop can repair for). if u go idac, easier to claim from ntuc. people who insist to go to their own workshop then later when ntuc dun want to pay or pay lesser, dun realise that they contributed to the scenario. in an accident, nobody wins except lawyers and workshops. why not be cooperative and see to it that things go smoothly instead of resisting and causing more pain? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 this i disagree. IDAC is just n assessor for NTUC. in fact the assessor wud b most happy if u dun go. why? becos each pix they take can only charge sometink like $5 but the consequence of not taking the right pix can means a penalty close to $100, which literally wipe off a couple days work. as long as u follow wat ur insurer say is ok one. they hv their own assessors also. as to how they deal against aunty lucy is another cheeze bun issue. not impt here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 IDAC is used mainly by NTUC. I am more inclined to behave like what Apollo says. follow what my insurer says. IMHO, any dispute between the 2 Companies is their problem. I am not in the wrong unless my insurance contract says no need to go IDAC but if IDAC is required by other party must go. but it doesn't says that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 i tink cos ntuc is garment wan so their method is following exactly the same as garment... pay and giv $$$ very slow, take $$$(premiums) from us very fast... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goop Clutched September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 nothing to say except u chose NTUC...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 13, 2007 Author Share September 13, 2007 not me, i cut n paste the article from somewhere else. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 if u wanna claim thru ur insurer, then follow wat they say. but if wanna do thru workshop and bypass ur insurer, then go idac to protect urself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 orhhhhhh so they give sh8t we also take lah. Sound familiar leh........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bullterrier Clutched September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 (edited) IDAC was the brainchild of the former NTUC CEO. Being the biggest auto insurer they pushed for this independent party to act as an industry surveyor primarily to reduce overinflated insurance claims. While the idea was commendable execution was often quite another story. Many users recounted stories of unnecessary delays while the tendering system took time to kick in for the cars needing repairs. Workshops had to quote based on photos and accident reports and are expected to complete the repairs within the price agreed even if more damage or repairs are required upon collection of the damaged vehicles. Much later, NTUC admitted in the media that IDAC failed to lower repair costs and that claims has actually gone up industry wise as a whole. NTUC will or have repaired vehicles with used or reconditioned parts - the same ex CEO was quoted in the media as to why should we need to put new parts onto cars that are already say four years old and so on. I wonder if this is reflected in the premiums we pay every year? One wonders if overall safety of the vehicle, its occupants and other road users are compromised in any way through this cost cutting measure? Are the owners themselves kept aware of such practices? And then there was that highlighted case of the woman school teacher who was insured with NTUC for over 10 years without any claims during all that time. Then her car was hit by another car and when she wanted to have her car repaired by the agent as she was worried abt the repairs and workmanship, NTUC said that unless her repairs is done at one of their Quality workshops she will not be able to renew her policy thereafter with them. In the end NTUC relented (after all the bad publicity in the media) and said they will renew her policy but the woman retorted that she is no longer interested to insure with them anymore. My own biff with NTUC involves my less than 1 year old car being hit at a traffic junction from the back by a car insured by NTUC . I was not in town and my wife who was driving my car drove it to IDAC anyway to have it inspected even though with my insurer Aviva IDAC inspections are not required. Nevertheless I still received letters from NTUC informing me that it would be in my interests to have my car repaired at their Quality workshop (supposedly better equipped and trained than my agent to look after my less than 1 year old car) and that I should be honest and act with integrity with my claims. Other points listed in the letter were equally offensive and implicative, habouring on the typical boorish behaviour of a big corporation perhaps trying to intimidate a private individual? I ranged NTUC up and told them tat while they are the largest auto insurer in the land they are far from having the final say in law so likewise I will reserve all my rights and leave the matter in the good hands of my solicitors. I was more than satisfied with the outcome of my claims in the end. Edited September 13, 2007 by Bullterrier Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoop Neutral Newbie September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 (edited) since you are in the industry.. is it true for cars over 3 years.. re con parts can be used. like as stated in GIA http://www.gia.org.sg/consumers_motorInsur...l#willmyvehicle Edited September 13, 2007 by Scoop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoop Neutral Newbie September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 (edited) IDAC is good for two things.. As a reporting centre and for taking accidents photos. Edited September 13, 2007 by Scoop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 you meant? if i wanna claim thru my insurer against NTUC, i'll do wat my insurer says and not NTUC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sci10213 3rd Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 what has OMV got to do with it? It should be nett value, not OMV. Nett value = Market Value - Scrap value So if Repair costs > Nett Value, bye bye to your car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sci10213 3rd Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Yes. Generally workshops are to do repairs on lump sum basis if the car is > 3 years old. Unless the car has spare parts that cannot be replaced easily. Some PI cars > 3 years old cannot do lump sum repairs because the spare parts no stock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sci10213 3rd Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 (edited) A simple rule is: "Follow the procedure(s) of the insurer whom you wanna claim against" Example 1 ========== You want to make TP claim against A who is insured with NTUC Income. As NTUC Income requires IDAC survey, so you should go to IDAC for inspection even though you are insured with Company X which does not require IDAC. Example 2 =========== You want to make TP claim against B who is insured with Aviva. Aviva dun need IDAC. So you just go to any workshop to repair & submit claim to Aviva. Better still is if you go to Aviva's authorised workshops to do repairs even though you are insured with Company Z. Example 3 ========== You want to make OD claim against your own insurer AIG. AIG dun need IDAC. So you just have to go to any of AIG authorised workshops to do repairs. AIG will then pay for them. NB: When you say you want to claim NTUC through your own insurer, it means you are claiming OD. So please be clear you are claiming TP or OD. The only way to claim another insurer through your own insurer is to claim your own policy first i.e. OD claim. So that later your insurer will then recover from the other insurer. Hope the above examples are clear & simple to understand. Edited September 13, 2007 by Sci10213 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...