Do you mind bikes squeezing between lanes along expressway?

Pplater

I'm new to this forum. Passed my bike and car license (class 3) at the same time 1 1/2 years ago. Rode some 40000km to date, been on trips to many parts of Malaysia and thailand, fairly experienced rider. Opening this thread to check up on drivers' sentiments on riders squeezing between lanes.. Just what do you think? Usually.. i always occupy centre of lane 2... ridinf as if i'm driving... But from time to time.. i get tailgated from a thrill seeker or have someone following me with less than 1 second distance behind... I then squeeze between lanes... I understand this peeves drivers... As much as possible.. I would rather not decrease my safety distances sideways and rear.. But sometimes.. Squeezing between lanes is the fastest way to get away from aggressive vehicles... Of course.. in traffic jams and traffic light junctions.. most drivers are nice enough to let me squeeze through... I'm wondering what drivers think of my road habits.. I dun squeeze at fast speed on expressway,, most of the time.. i keep it at +20km'h or max +30km/h... Riding a decently powered 400cc super 4 btw... enough for 0-100 in 5 secs.. gd enough for sg roads... I'm also very kiasi... have blindspot mirrors and reflective stickers on my rear... double check blindspots... almost never been honed at.. but friendly honing others pretty often... sometimes.. i get tailgated on lane 3 travelling at speed limit.. doesn't make sense to me... when the next exit is pretty far away... I like to smoke cars tailgating me by dropping 2 gears and acclerating away at fast speed... Usually they dissapear pretty quickly cause in SG traffic cars simply have so few chances to overtake pretty often. I get pretty irritated being tailgated in lane 3.. cause bikers cannot afford to go down with someone close behind...I never road hog. I try not to get angry on the road... But sometimes.. its just ridiculous. of course... in the end.. when **** happens.. i will always lose out.. Dirvers who ride comment? Sentiments? Gentlemen?

Edited by Pplater

i would say u are very 'brave' to spam other threads just to open this thread.. at least post something constructive.. dun think it is that hard to come up with 15 posts..

tailgating happens when ppl like to hog the road, esp at lane 1.. i dun mind biker riding in the middle of a lane but i do mind biker zipping in and out of a lane and hogging the 1st lane even though on speed limit.. lane 3 is more for slow moving vehicle like lorries or bus.. ur bike should be faster than them so dun think ppl can tailgate you

Edited by Beei

You will be banned in no time once the mods see it. Wanna increase post count also post something constructive lah.

Btw, please paragraph what you wanna type lah...irritating sia. [:|]

Welcome to driving/riding in SG.

Dunno what writing you coz it's so difficult to read.

You might want to rewrite your stuff with proper formating and at the same time do a spell check...

That's the basic courtesy for you to start a thread and others to reply you.

Before I switched to a 4 wheeler, I was riding for about 7 years. A scrambler when 2B and Super4 when 2A.

Remember this, you also pay road tax. It is perfectly alright to drive in the middle of a lane. When I travel on lane 1, it would be at least 90kmh and I give way when a car is fast approaching. For lane 3, nobody can doing anything to you even if you dropped your speed to 20kmh, why so irritated?? ego issue I suspect, I may be wrong.

I had my fair share of bad drivers, thats part of riding. The car will also try to bully you, cut into your lane as if you ain't there. Unfortunately, riders are always at the receiving end regardless whose fault it is, so please look out for yourself an anticipate whats around you, key word is awareness.

When it comes to slow moving traffic or jam on small roads or expressway, I would use the "express" lane but at a reduced speed. There are some technics you can use to protect yourself. Never never zig zag your way through as it is both irritating and dangerous.

lastly, dun lose your cool. Not many car knows the power of a bike and they will use their big car to show off. just laugh it off. No need to tell them you can do the century sprint in 5s and maintain a FC of 20km/L right?

The joy of riding can never be replace by driving I feel. [thumbsup]

I hate it when they squeeze in between mine & somebody else's cars...then in less than a second, they can suddenly be right in front of me. This is so dangerous! I hate it when motorcyclists feel that I am responsible for their own safety, that I am responsible to ensure they get home safely, etc etc. On another note, riders of bigger cc bikes are more responsible bikers, at least generally speaking

Eh.. I share a different view point.

if they come ontop my car, I might have to do penal beating.. but if they go under, then I share your statement. It doesn't bother me [:p]

tell u hor...

in Korea, bikes are banned from highways..

and..

if you don't do paragraphing.. no body will bother to read..

and..

i only read your 1st sentence... keke

you have spam our forum in order to start this thread.

Please take note that in MCF, we will not tolerate such act.

This thread will now be locked, meanwhile, your post count will be reset to zero.

Subsequent infringement by you will result in membership termination.