Dipstick Neutral Newbie October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 The deterrent should perhaps be increased to at least $5,000 or even $10,000. I agree with u that a $2,000 penalty does not seem to encourage the cab drivers to put safety above everything else. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joshterran 1st Gear October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 Hi, I personally feel that there are two sides of the story. If the penalty is raised to S$ 5,000.00, I think that more cabbies will give up renting taxi causing more shortage of taxi to the existing problem. Of cos, S$ 2,000.00 is not a lot money compared to their average monthly net income of S$ 3,000.00. Therefore they may abuse it by turning a deaf ear to safety. I think taxi companies have a system of tracking errand drivers and these driver have to undergo counselling work when exceed the demerit points. I suggest that companies should place more emphasis in promoting more incentives to drivers whom received safety recommendation from the Public. Passengers should play their part by monitoring the drivers' safety behaviour. If the errand driver know that the passenger is constantly watching them, i think they will behave and observe safety. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mach Clutched October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 i don believe taxi dirver no so free to talk ccoccck in internet Look what I found www.taxiuncle.com Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 OMG...this is funny man. You mean when they are not driving taxi and resting at home, they log on to forum to chat rather than getting the ample rest that they need? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mach Clutched October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 Its a sign of the times - new breed of internet savvy taxi drivers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 They work just like you do. When you're not working you also got the energy to get online rather than resting from whatever work it is that you do. What makes them different from you? You don't need rest meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 And after a while you will start to see discussions about how to zhng their taxis, maybe even increase turbo boost pressure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 (edited) Well, the difference is they are ON THE ROAD when working. If they do not get ample rest, aren't they endangering other road users? When you are tired, you are short-tempered and might not be attentive enough. Edited October 18, 2007 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 I spend three quarters of my day on the road, logging 3000kms a month, I am not a cabbie, and the last thing I would want is for someone to impose how I should spend my off-work hours. Haven't had a bingle yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 Since you are not a cabbie, who cares abt YOUR off-work hours? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 I'm on the road just like they are. Like delivery drivers. Like sales staff. Like bus drivers. Oh well, you don't get it...... never mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mach Clutched October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 Wonder whether they will start having a "Complaints" thread there too, about their encounter with us car drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 Well, I do delivery for my own company using Cabstar (from bedok to sungei kadut, tuas, town, AMK, etc) and I do know how important ample rest is. My post is juz suggesting that they should get enuff sleep. If not, you can see them sleeping inside the vehicle with the engine and air-con running. I dun like that do you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guniang Clutched October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 The deterrent should perhaps be increased to at least $5,000 or even $10,000. I agree with u that a $2,000 penalty does not seem to encourage the cab drivers to put safety above everything else.they should lock their speed and limit to 100km/h max oso...solve all the problem too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Masschaoz Neutral Newbie October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 Hey you sound familiar.Did i saw you in along Orchard Road last week? Haha, I saw this idiotic S15 cutting abruptly into this Evo driving leisurely in probably the 3rd or 4th lane along Orchard Road. If I didnt see wrongly, the Evo was forced to jam brake. Then the Evo driver got so irriated that he immediately ram his Turbo babe and within seconds the Evo was out of sight. Must be you right? The sound of Turbo is so fascinating. Wish i have also. Next car must be either WRX STI of Evo 9 if i have the capability. nah.. dun think is me though i travel past orchard very often... was it a blue e9?? but i dun rem entering any idiotic s15.. i only go to orchard in the evenings or very early in the morning.. either send my wife or pick her up from office Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
To_be_advised Neutral Newbie October 18, 2007 Author Share October 18, 2007 ok wrong number. not blue one. hee hee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 19, 2007 Share October 19, 2007 no shhit man!!!!! sign of the times!!!! i eat my words man!!!!! dammmmnn how come it taste like taxi????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackhouse Neutral Newbie March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 Just met a reckless Cab Yellow Sonata driver on Bukit Timah road this afternoon. plate: SHE2083B or SHE2038D can't remember clearly. He weaved between lane 1 & 2 quicky. Whenever his lane is slower than the other, he just cut into yhe other lane abruptly. While we are both in lane 2, this mother fcuker even overtake me between lane 3 and lane 2, almost hit my left side mirror. My pity Latio like a snail compared with his powerful weapon. If my family was not onboard, I don't think I can let this guy off. . and he got passenger also. This guy is really a 害群之马。 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...