Mustank Hypersonic October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 to be very honest......not totally true.... mine is a 2.9 diesel turbo with intercooler but weighs 2.5 ton so pickup is quite bad ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 Haha, Smell something? A Conspiracy to gang up against a newbie. So funny..... er... a bit sensitive bah... some joking niah leh... if thats the case dun come in anymore more lor, since you noob only. just a POV, not flaming. you are 'advised' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 That's because your vehicle is heavy I guess. I know it's a Musso rite? For the Caddy (engine is 1.9TDI and ULW is 1480KG), the pickup is actually quite fast. I believe the Sonata cab engine would be more powerful and the ULW surely is less than 1480KG? Please correct me if I'm wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 Apparently Sonata cab drivers these days are becoming hell divers in my opinion. Encountered at least 5 Sonata drivers this weeks who drive like there is no tomorrow. The worse part is they are actually carrying passengers. Kao!!! Dont they care for passengers' safety? My goodness..... Sigh.....if only i have a speed detector and a camera, then i sure see their faces to STOMP for review. turbo rules those cabbies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 yap....it is a musso.... bec i kenna a number of accidents with little damage to my musso (but the other parties got it real bad), i nicknamed it the mustank Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
To_be_advised Neutral Newbie October 11, 2007 Author Share October 11, 2007 Caddy? The van? I overheard my friend's friend commenting his heavily mod his Caddy can sub 7 secs from 0 - 100. Is that really possible? Amazed.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 (edited) i agree with your view, but have you ever driven something like a sonata (new one), camry, cefiro etc? basically the 2litre and above jap/korean, power and torque very kao lat one, outside may seem like hell-driver, inside barely 3k rpm only and very quiet so i guess these cab drivers just pushing these new cars the way they did the old crowns, difference is that newer cars can really run Are u referring to 2litre and above petrol car? But I dun think they can outrun new taxis in short sprints from standstill. At higher speeds, maybe still got chance. Perhaps, at least u need cars like mark x, IS250, GS300 to eat them. What do u all think? I have not seen any petrol car chiak those cabs in pickup from traffic lights yet. Edited October 11, 2007 by Redboy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 Yep, Caddy the VW van. It's possible, especially the TDI. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 yes. possible... some euro panel vans are wicked... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 bro...u too humble le..ur um..2.5L TC-ed ride is not slow... am i rite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 Not to be mean, but i would say good riddance whenever i see a cab wrecked. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joshterran 1st Gear October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 Hi, I would like to share my opinions on taxi drivers. These days, I noticed the following phenomenon either by my observation as a driver or a passenger in a cab. 1. Crown Cabbies Majority of them is safety and speed conscious drivers, they travel on Expressway usually around 80km/h to 90km/h They will drive along mostly on 2nd lane but there are a handful of them on 1st lane. Once they are on 1st lane, they will drive all the way at 90km/h irregardless how far the distance to the next vehicle in front. They will not bother to look at the rear mirror or reflect on themselves if they are hogging the lanes for others to overtake. Simply "CAN'T BE BOTHERED" is engraved in their minds. Only when they noticed vehicles with Siren On, then they will immediately switch lane without any signal or checking if there is any vehicle beside them. Therefore should you are behind a slowing hogging taxi, either you continue to drive behind them at about 80km/h plus or to overtake them by the left lane and switch on your "Right" signal to "inform" them that you have overtaken them. b. PREMIUM Taxi (SONATA/ MERC) These vehicles' horsepower are extremely powerful and their pick up speed is GOOD. In my opinion, I would NOT attempt to "Play" or chase them unless your vehicle is 1.8T or 2.0L. Otherwise, you will be wasting your precious petrol and damaging your engine and yet you can't even keep up with them. These drivers tend to drive beyond 100km/h esp on the expressway, there was once I took a SONATA cab whom is travelling at 130km/h (early morning on PIE) and I saw the RPM is only about 2,500RPM. WOW, it can achieved 100km/h at about 1,800RPM. To them, with a powerful engine,cheap disesl (88cents per Litre)and mentality that the vehicle does not belong to them, WHO CARES ! They can drive and push the vehicle to the max limit until the engine "dies" . Well, my advice to all drivers and passengers Drivers Never, Never get involved in any accident with a cab. You might end up paying for the damages for both vehicles and also cabbies' income loss due to vehicle' repair. Passengers Always wear your seat belt. That is why you are constantly reminded to wear your seat belt cos you never which type of drivers whom are driving for you. At least, you will not substain serious injuries so that the companies will not have to pay you hefty medical costs. If you do not wear them, no insurance coverage. DUN PLAY PLAY ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Masschaoz Neutral Newbie October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 the best thing is they see my evo 9 like good to eat when i drive leisurely... and purposely cut my path... gets on my nerves and blow them away within seconds.. leaving them shocked when we stop at the next traffic junction... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 dun need an evo la. a simple rxz or scrambler have blown these away for 10% of the cost of the evo 9 :) these 125cc to 200cc 2 stroke bikes can hit 0-100 under 6-7 seconds if they rev them hard enough and launch them quick enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vodkeith Neutral Newbie October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 R they turning our road into a race track? too soon for the F1 yeah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
To_be_advised Neutral Newbie October 18, 2007 Author Share October 18, 2007 Hey you sound familiar. Did i saw you in along Orchard Road last week? Haha, I saw this idiotic S15 cutting abruptly into this Evo driving leisurely in probably the 3rd or 4th lane along Orchard Road. If I didnt see wrongly, the Evo was forced to jam brake. Then the Evo driver got so irriated that he immediately ram his Turbo babe and within seconds the Evo was out of sight. Must be you right? The sound of Turbo is so fascinating. Wish i have also. Next car must be either WRX STI of Evo 9 if i have the capability. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
To_be_advised Neutral Newbie October 18, 2007 Author Share October 18, 2007 Hey, Ya I forgot to include the Merc cab in my initial post. Met some who are also reckless drivers. Zig in and out and drive like there is no tommorrow. Others say "Live like there is no tommorrow" I say "Die like there is no today" Hahahahahaha..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joshterran 1st Gear October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 Hi, They have been driving this pattern since the introduction of 3L diesel engine. More power in their hands, WHY NOT ! Most importantly, they have strong Mountain backing behind them. You may not win the insurance war if engage in any accident. Therefore I advise strongly NOT to play with them and leave them alone. P.S : TP will also close one eye or even two eyes on errand drivers (one cabby told me that TP will give chance if they speed because cabbies are earning a living) How often you see cabbies stopped by the roadside by TP? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...