New gs300 2008 model

Santa

Oh ya. Forgot to add.

The BMW 320 is crap too. [:)]

Anyone who is reading your posts will agree that they are crap too =)

btw, this is this saying...

"after all, a mercedes benz is still a mercedes benz.."

If that crap Merc E200 can be priced at $178k. I don't see why the MUCH higher spec GS300 cannot be priced at $177k.

For people who compare price-to-price, you will see that the GS300 is a much, much more worthwhile buy. Badge? E200? Oh please..

I'm currently in London... and its really difficult to find a car with a L badge. Try looking for a mercedes car. U'll easily lose count. My point is this... people perceive "value" differently. U tink that having a higher spec 3litre V6 engine blah blah means this car has higher "value". But at the same time, people like me have always wanted the mercedes emblem at the front of the bonnet SINCE YOUNG. Now, this is Marketing at its best. They toyed with ur emotion when u'r a kid just like Mcdonalds and happy meal. And Yes i'm willing to pay more for the "crappy" E200. So what's ur problem?

oh lastly, pls look up the dictionary for the word "dogmatism"

People who buy the E200 typically do not do so because it can do 0-100 in sub xxx sec. It's not engineered to do that. But it can be tuned if you really want to. How fast can you go in Singapore anyway ?

Test-driving it and owning one and driving it day-in/out is a different story. Trust me, it grows on you. 1.8 is economical and with the abundance of spare parts, easy on the pocket to maintain as well.

The ride is comfortable, well insulated and the ability to pamper yourself in one the premium marque in life brings a sense of achievement and joy to one's life. Don't you agree ?

I heard about the Bimmer being a driver's car but becos I dun own one or driven one I cannot really comment. But that does not make me thrash Bimmer just becos it cost more than those you term "value-for-money" cars right ?

If everyone adopts the same mentality like you ... we will all be driving the same type of car, live in the same type of house, wear the same style/type of clothes, eat/drink the same type of food/drinks and watch the same type of movies ... life wld be boring is it not ?

Ala Henry Ford "you can choose any colour so long it is black"

wow, this article is drawing some heated debate

personally, mercedes build quality has improved lots with the new E and C class.

jeje is very fervent in his opinion but i can understand how he feels. you pay top dollar but u dont get the best technology or the best equipment. a lot of good equipment is always in the optional extras

jap cars always give good value for money feeling but there's no substitute for the snob appeal of the bmw or merc badge. volvo....hmmm....somehow i dont like their interiors very much... but it does look very solid

A pre facelift 2007 GS 300 was clearing at 165 K.....now that is good value. [thumbsup]

mercedes benz must be doing something right to have so many people in love with them.

i am a merc lover at heart !

They also have the reputation of being "dependable" workhorses and the look of class just lasts forever. an old merc always doesnt go out of fashion as other cars

if only C & C could price them cheaper ! [flowerface]

Edited by Azarael

Because of our unique environment, many of the luxury continental makes that most Singaporeans will purchase have the lowest engine specs to save on road tax but still provide the brand cachet.

But then again, in our densely populated country, there is not much need for a high cc engine unless one likes to rush from one traffic light to another.

i dun own a merc or anything remotely luxurious..

but when u can afford "luxury", it doesn't make sense to spoil the whole picture with a coarse engine.

might as well buy camry [rolleyes]

i like ur reply.

i agree. when comes to the mighty big decision for your CEO, Boss etc... everyone's sure vote for Merc.

The lexus will sell to those who perceived the car as value for money car, which is what I think lexus is trying to market their car as. Just compare: the new GS is around $190k right? The BMW 530i is about $250k ! Thats $60k diff which u can buy a second car yourself n maybe with spare cash change [sweatdrop] . But why do people pay more? Ok they can afford...but is that the only reason. Ask yourself why ladies buy Luis Vuitton Bags (not fake ones)[laugh]

BMW = Ultimate Driving Machine

Lexus = Relentless pursuit of perfection

Hav anybody heard how BMW 530D? If u hav not seen 1, do look out 4 it in MY. It sound like juz anybody petrol ka except during idling. Tis ka can smoke Mit Evo/WRX.

Sadly, it is not available in SG unless u r willing 2 pay 400% diesel surcharge.

no lah, dont think 530d or 535D can smoke EVOs lah. But Topgear showed that the diesel 535D was not much worse off than the petrol 545 leh.

SG garmen is like dat one lah, diesel cannot pass one. actually these days diesel engines are much cleaner.

i would consider lexus anytime den mecz jaguar or bmw.

lt might not have the brand. but it's super comfortable at least to me. My friend bought the gs300 6months ago, i sat inside and when i ask him start engine leh. he told me engine already started. didn't even near a noise. and also powerful. too bad still can't affoard 1 yet.

1st choice lexus

2nd choice Bm

3rd choice volvo.

among luxious cars

Dude to some people, that is a problem and reason why they dont buy this car. That is due to the sound proving, not because the engine is smooth until no sound, and partly bcos of the exahust they use on the car.

Sound-proofing is part of it, Lexus is definitely having more of that. On the other hand, the engine is quieter too, try putting the Merc, BMW, Audi, Volvo together with the Lexus, have the engine on, turn the air-con on and one will note the difference (outside of the car, not inside).

Having said that, I agree with Ahbengdriver that for some people, the lack of engine and exhaust noise is one of the main reason why some will go for the BMW and other continental luxury makes instead (apart from the badge prestige). I remember one of my friends who commented a car should have some noise. He owns a Merc and a BMW. [:)]

Edited by Dclk

Hmmm ... personally i will not buy a Merc/Bimmer so that I can go faster than a WRX/EvoX ... what's the point ?

Even for the folks who buy the AMGs/Ms ... I doubt they do so primarily to smoke the Jap rockets right ?

[crazy]

hanor hanor.

To be fair, lexus are good if u want to listen to music in the car bcos the sound proving is good. for most cars, once the engine roars, no matter how solid is yr stereo hifi, u cant hear yr music properly.

yet to some, its the engine note that give them the orgasm [laugh] . Like jeremy clarkson said in some reviews of sporty cars, why have the stereo when the engine note is so nice! there is no need for a stereo bcos once u get inside these cars all u want is drive drive and drive on.

Did u read or see of the topgear episode? Jeremy clarkson said something like " the merc slk 500 is excellent and more than enuf, there is no real need to get the AMG. The reason why people would buy its AMG version is to show off, and thats the reason why I(jeremy clarkson) I bot the AMG." [laugh]

Precisely ... it's getting funny these days pple are more geared towards buying a model that can 'smoke' another ... than simply buying a car that he/she really likes and yearn to own ...