Engine Oil Brands that are not Certified by API , yet print API standard * CONFUSED*

Gim_ong

but established hypermarket like giant... they should be getting the oil from a reliable source?

Do you think they have the Engineering Knowledge to check on the API?

May be they have , i cannot be sure.

According to my personal experience, WHen I tell this truth, many of my friends who owns car for years, have a JAW dropped experssion.

Basically a normal layman will not be aware that there is SUCH truth about the API non-certification.

I came across this website ... like an unusual discovery for me. It is because, i want to understand more about ENGINE OIL , I want to make my car perform with better FC, so I will read up anything tht help FC.

If you guys can , please Spread the word, e-mail this THread to all your friends.

So that they will do a personal search before they start buying Engine oil, then they can make a wiser choice for themselves as consumers.

Gimmy

I really like your Explaniatin in this

"

3) Integrity: I think someone mentioned in this thread before, if you are my employee and tell me you're not certified, I'll totally accept that. But if you are my employee and you tell me you got doctorate, then when I later found out that you don't have the cert, what do you think my reaction will be? Wow, it was a great adventure?"

Well, good luck to such EMPLOYEE he is working in the JAPANESE keiretsu companies.

He can never find another rice bowl in the industry.

Gimmy

of course you meant for ALL companies generally.

What I mean in Japanese Companies..

In the kereitsu organisation.

If anyone is found to have no integrity, the whole japanese group of companies will never forgive this person and give him a 2nd chance in that particular industry.

gimmy

Talk about OWS, I remember just 1+ yr back there was some imitation OWS iridium plugs distributing around in SG.

Nowadays even if you say Made+assembled in Germany, I think still better treat the product with a huge fist of salt.

I doubt they were imitation plugs as they just started the biz, the plugs were so bad and had numnerous returns and complaints. Some WS refused to even touch OWS plugs after that. My best guess they were trying to wriggle theyselves out of it but saying they were imitation plugs.

Strange isn't it that so called Made in Germeny brand is not found in any German cars; Porsche, BMW, Merc, Audi, VW. [rolleyes][rolleyes] or am I ignorant [flowerface]

I stay with NGK, Denso, Bosch brand plugs that have a long lasting reputation [thumbsup] . No more strange sounding 'mickey mouse' heavily advertised brands for me [sweatdrop] Same for oils as well [sweatdrop]

OWS-Germany... very interesting brand... if there's passion for mystery and adventure... visit the OWS-Germany website...

a) contact.html - important email using SINGNET

b) OWS Singapore - does this company even exist?!

c) website created by a SG company

[dizzy]

Edited by Kklee

Very interesting , that Singaporeans got this LOUSY attitude, which always create a risk for blind spot.

Made in Germany = good...anything from Europe or America is good loh, Ang Mo made mistake, Singaporean very forgiving towards them one leh.

Michael Fay can get away with 2 stoke of Cane less once their Gov make some noise.

with this kind of attitude, we will be sitting Duck to shot with LIES, and easily con. OWS spark plug mention by bro here is classic example ... ha ha. We dun to even bother to check and challenge their quality.

Made is anywhere that is OVERSEAS ... Ang mo or Jap one.. sure good as long as not neighbouring country sure good.

It is a sad sad case, like our Stephanie Sun and our JJ have to be famous in TAIWAN ,HK and China....

Singaporean do not support local product, Ji kay Yan ta Ji kay Yan. 自己人打自己人

自己人不帮自己人

Come on man, Singaporeans have to united loh.

Always think that others are good, is not helping our locals to make it in life, not helping our locals to make it big.

If there is a chance, would anyone here buy SINGAPORE made Cars? If any.

Maybe the brand should be called : MerLion. [laugh]

Heh heh

Gimmy

Edited by Gim_ong

I've been reading this thread in amusement. API/ACEA standards are just there to show min standards met. "Certified" oils just mean that someone has paid huge amounts of money to get the oil accredited. Just because an oil does not have accreditation, doesnt mean its not good. Just because its accredited doesn't mean its good either.

Oils are there for lubrications and cleaning to ensure the minimum of wear and tear, and the only way to really tell how good they are is by doing a both a virgin and used oil analysis.

Take bill gates or steve jobs as examples. neither one has a degree or even a diploma, yet they're the worlds two richest men. yet there are tons of people in the business arena with MBA's or PHD's yet they make paltry amounts of money. Who would you say has a better business mind.

OWS http://www.ows-germany.com/profile.html

Up till today, we still manufacture all our products in Germany because we believe in quality and quality that we can control and maintain.

OWS lubricants are manufacturer approved and meets the requirements of ACEA and API

But couldn't find it listed in API licensee directory.

It is not about the quality of the Engine Oil , I am addressing,

It is the ethics , integrity and turst of these companies that I am highlighting.

to let this thread to be a warning to End - Users. Because there has been a MISLEADING issue here, most probably for a couple of years.

Urging them to check before purchase. Consider carefully.

After End- user always have freedom of choice which oil they want to use.

Be it One Engine Oil Brand that does not have API Standard, if the End-User wants to buy it, nobody can stop them.

What I am adovating here is ; at the very least check back, consider the pro-cons before making a wise choice.

Re-garding your example of Bill gates and Steve Jobbs, did they blatantly lie saying that they are degree holders when they are truly not.?

In business trust and 信用 is the highest piority, never break the trust. If not no matter how clever you are in business is going to be a waste. Nobody will trust what you say.

Would you carry out a business transaction with a party that has questionable trust and integrity?

Gimmy

Edited by Gim_ong

That is the whole purpose of a governing body that ensures that the oil manufactured meets a certain spec [thumbsup]

So what's makes you think that when the oil is NOT certified but has the words printed API/ACEA meets the specs [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

One can pour 'Knife' brnad into any bottle and print API / ACEA aqnd sell it. Get the drift [;)]

to challenge your analogy, how many in the world (in percentage) is composed of your steve jobs or bill gates?

yes, you will have that 0.0000001% number of genuine oil that actually exceeds the 'standard'. but how about the other 99.9999999%?

i like to reiterate, standards are there for a reason, if it's not certified, there is no way you can be assured (even the workers in the eng oil factory won't know) that the eng oil works accordingly.

and what makes one think that getting oil certified is very expensive? Because you are using from the perception that you are the layman on the streets? Do you mean to say a big oil cartel like shell cannot afford to certify all their products? Or is it just the neighbourhood oil factory that produces oil cannot afford?[sly]

not trying to create an big issue here, but will you buy and consume viagra from Pfizer that says "sildenafil citrate xxx mg" on the bottle, or will you buy and consume a bottle of pills labeled "viagra" and "sildenafil citrate xxx mg" from xyz company that does not belong to any FDA or similiar list?

I think it is common sense for me, but I like to say this, it's your car-your money, your choice. I will try not to consume (in both meaning), products that are of dubious nature, that my character.

Really like your good sense of humour[laugh]

In some countries , in -stead of using Petrol,

they pump USED cooking Oil

Apprantly cooking Oil can move CArs.

Have not heard of ppl using Cooking Oil to lubricate Engine Parts, maybe it could be an amazing discovery [:)]

Gimmy

Edited by Gim_ong

confirm gim ong no bxxxxxxt.....

realli.....i am already using cooking oil as fuel [nod]

if you don believe, i can show you....realli....i am going to use it sometime in december.....so when i am going to use, i can show you.... :)

cooking oil cannot everyday use one.....use for special occasion only [nod]

not becuase of the engine but bec of the price [sweatdrop]

it is more expensive than diesel [:/]