Forget Tissue, new way to chope table is...

Apollo

Actually those who complained about people chope-ing seats should understand why people are doing it during that busy lunch hour.

- These people have just one hour of lunchtime. One hour minus ten minutes of lift waiting, five minutes to walk to the eatery, another five minutes to find a seat, another five minutes to queue and buy food. Walk back 5 minutes, take lift up to office another 10 minutes. All these people left about 20 minutes to eat, if they don't go toilet after eating. It's damn rush for these people. You think they have the time to walk around with a tray to find a seat if they do not reserve one?

- Not every office allows its staff to eat at their desk.

- Not every office has a canteen or a big enough canteen for its staff.

- Not every people who works in the CBD are willingly to eat in restaurants everyday. And not everyone who works there are high positioned people who earns high income monthly.

- There are probably people who don't have time to mingle with their colleagues (either too busy or different departments) can only get the chance during lunchtime.

I think those who are not working there or not working on these weekdays should understand the problems and pain eating in such an overcrowded CBD areas at such hours.

What I don't encourage is after eating but still hog the place to chit chat. Can talk on the way back, no need to hog the seats.

The above is true also for the poor chap carrying his tray of food looking around for empty "not choped" tables. An hour is an hour, doesn't mean the CBD people's hour are more valuable.

Which is why I had said, try to look at the perspective of these office workers eating lunch during these two hours. Limited time, limited places and limited choice of food to choose to eat fast. Those who went there to eat before during those hours or who worked there will know the agony of eating there.

How big is the pantry?

Especially offices in the CBD, companies usually make most of the office space for office use. Pantries are not particularly huge to accommodate everyone. Normally the pantry is just a small to medium sized room about 2 to 3 tables for medium large companies. Small company pantries are normally a small kitchen with no tables. How?

One example:

http://workzspace.com/property/shenton-way-cbd-singapore-verve-offices-the-octagon-l22/

Not to accommodate everyone lah. My question was in relation to you saying that office not allowed to eat at desk.

The above is true also for the poor chap carrying his tray of food looking around for empty "not choped" tables. An hour is an hour, doesn't mean the CBD people's hour are more valuable.

Disagree. 

If the person is not working, and in the first place he knows that the CBD area eateries are going to be very crowded during the lunch hours, then why still go there and jostle with the office lunch crowds? There are so many places outside the CBD where he can eat at a slower pace and being less crowded, or he can go there to eat outside the peak hours. There are choices elsewhere and time allows him to make choices if he doesn't work that day. He has the luxury of time he have to eat because he is free that day but these office people only has 1 hour to lunch.

If the person insist to eat around the area and knows that there is the culture of chope-ing seats there, why not follow the culture and make his life easier to guarantee yourself a seat in that super crowded eatery. At least he did something, reserve a seat, using a tissue or another person. It's up to his choice whether to follow the culture to survive in that kind of environment. If he know that the place is going to be super crowded during lunch, then it's his choice whether he wants to do it to protect his interest, instead of everyone to serve his interest when these people do not have time for themselves.  

Upon the above situations, he has a choice. But you think that these office people has much choices for just an hour of lunch? Who has the luxury of time here?

Probably you need to go there to work or meet a friend who work there for lunch. You will eventually understand the rationale behind this culture.

This culture is prevalent everywhere in Singapore.

Look at IKEA Tampines in the weekends. The crowds are really insane. People use people to reserve a table, people use their purchases to reserve a table. So you want to throw their things on the floor or tell the people to go away because they are not supposed to reserve and take the table yourself? 

Of course hogging is another situation which I don't encourage. Again in Tampines IKEA example. Families of four are hogging the seats to chit chat and depriving the family of six with two elderly, who probably have problems standing long, of a table. How? Tell the family of four to eat and go and chat elsewhere?  

School children put their bags in the benches and go off to buy lunch and come back for a seat to eat, else the table to be taken away by another group of students who wants to study. 

Reserve, go buy food, eat and go is ok. What is not ok is people reserve, buy and eat and then sit there and hog the seats chit chat.

Not to accommodate everyone lah. My question was in relation to you saying that office not allowed to eat at desk.

Some bosses don't like because they think it is not good for company image. 

Some don't like the smell of food trapped in the sealed air con office, making the smell moldy after some time.

Some don't want to attract pests in the office in case someone accidentally spill things like curry, soup, etc and also make the poor office cleaner work more.

Some don't like because it may dirty important documents or things like that if accidentally spilled food or whatever. 

Some think will give a bad impression for their department/company, for example: bosses don't give lunch break to his workers, making them work and eat during lunch.

Some situations like visitors, big boss or clients coming, or situations like that, everyone has to go out and eat together, with these important people. Sometimes the employees themselves are caught in such situations even if they want to eat alone. 

i have no issue with choping the table with tissues

actually i feel it's evolved into a local culture [smash]

and hawker centres were first built for communal living, where people of all trades came together to enjoy their affordable meals

communal living, just like the HDB corridors or void decks

dunno when people became selfish over time

i have no problem sharing seats with strangers... although it's awkward sometimes

in HK people hack care how you chope, they will cramp the 6 seater table and put in extra chair if they can find one [laugh] you make noise sure kena fark upside down [sweatdrop]

You really want us to be as overcrowded like hk?

Well, you might very well get your wish soon if we remain on track.

You really want us to be as overcrowded like hk?

Well, you might very well get your wish soon if we remain on track.

i have been working around CBD area for now than 20 yrs, although cbd populatuon increases, there are also more makan place open in the area. i dun feel 'agony' during lunch time.

there are so many alternatives, I can even take bus or train to 2 or few stops away, eat and come back less than an hour.

Actually those who complained about people chope-ing seats should understand why people are doing it during that busy lunch hour.

- These people have just one hour of lunchtime. One hour minus ten minutes of lift waiting, five minutes to walk to the eatery, another five minutes to find a seat, another five minutes to queue and buy food. Walk back 5 minutes, take lift up to office another 10 minutes. All these people left about 20 minutes to eat, if they don't go toilet after eating. It's damn rush for these people. You think they have the time to walk around with a tray to find a seat if they do not reserve one?

- Not every office allows its staff to eat at their desk.

- Not every office has a canteen or a big enough canteen for its staff.

- Not every people who works in the CBD are willingly to eat in restaurants everyday. And not everyone who works there are high positioned people who earns high income monthly.

- There are probably people who don't have time to mingle with their colleagues (either too busy or different departments) can only get the chance during lunchtime.

I think those who are not working there or not working on these weekdays should understand the problems and pain eating in such an overcrowded CBD areas at such hours.

What I don't encourage is after eating but still hog the place to chit chat. Can talk on the way back, no need to hog the seats.

Most of the people eating at hawker center during lunch time have only an hour for lunch as well. So it does not make tissue paper choopers any more special than others. Edited by Kxbc

Most of the people eating at hawker center during lunch time have only an hour for lunch as well. So it does not make tissue paper choopers any more special than others.

Depends on where is it.

CBD hawker centers/food courts/fast food restaurant are damn crowded, and it's really damn crowded. Suburb ones are less crowded, much less. Places like Marine Parade Central hawker center, you can buy food, find an empty seat or share a table pretty fast and eat in peace. 

Normal people who don't work can sit there and eat for an hour or longer but these office people has basically about 20 mins to eat after their time being spend on other processes within that hour from wait and take lift, walk there, find table, queue to buy food to walk back and wait and take lift back to office. Unless you are talking about those lucky ones who can go out for lunch for more than an hour without the boss noticing. 

Very good comment...

To achieve this new hawker centres/food courts will have only small single tables with single seats, kind of like classroom arrangement.  No interaction and time wasting.  The tables will be so small that you cannot even place your handphone to browse while eating.

Just do your business, sorry, eat your food, and vacate!

LOL

Good suggestion, like those japanese budget eatery

a considerate tissue paper chopper is they will put number of item for same number of people. If I see a 6 seater table with 4 tissue paper chope, me and my colleague will take the empty 2 seat. Dun tell me you put one tissue pack and claim the whole table, I dun give a damn.

If you want to 'chop' whole table, it is to put umbrella.  I only learn about this rule last Friday.

Disagree.

If the person is not working, and in the first place he knows that the CBD area eateries are going to be very crowded during the lunch hours, then why still go there and jostle with the office lunch crowds? There are so many places outside the CBD where he can eat at a slower pace and being less crowded, or he can go there to eat outside the peak hours. There are choices elsewhere and time allows him to make choices if he doesn't work that day. He has the luxury of time he have to eat because he is free that day but these office people only has 1 hour to lunch.

If the person insist to eat around the area and knows that there is the culture of chope-ing seats there, why not follow the culture and make his life easier to guarantee yourself a seat in that super crowded eatery. At least he did something, reserve a seat, using a tissue or another person. It's up to his choice whether to follow the culture to survive in that kind of environment. If he know that the place is going to be super crowded during lunch, then it's his choice whether he wants to do it to protect his interest, instead of everyone to serve his interest when these people do not have time for themselves.

Upon the above situations, he has a choice. But you think that these office people has much choices for just an hour of lunch? Who has the luxury of time here?

Probably you need to go there to work or meet a friend who work there for lunch. You will eventually understand the rationale behind this culture.

This culture is prevalent everywhere in Singapore.

Look at IKEA Tampines in the weekends. The crowds are really insane. People use people to reserve a table, people use their purchases to reserve a table. So you want to throw their things on the floor or tell the people to go away because they are not supposed to reserve and take the table yourself?

Of course hogging is another situation which I don't encourage. Again in Tampines IKEA example. Families of four are hogging the seats to chit chat and depriving the family of six with two elderly, who probably have problems standing long, of a table. How? Tell the family of four to eat and go and chat elsewhere?

School children put their bags in the benches and go off to buy lunch and come back for a seat to eat, else the table to be taken away by another group of students who wants to study.

Reserve, go buy food, eat and go is ok. What is not ok is people reserve, buy and eat and then sit there and hog the seats chit chat.

Your first two paragraphs start with a "IF"

What if the lone person also works there? What if he also has an hour of lunch? What if he met someone who put tissue pack in his pocket? You mean non CBD personals can't enjoy the same food stalls there during lunch hours and have to live with the ungracious behavior of choping tables & seats? Table chopers have a choice, just leave a pax at the table while the rest go get their food. He can even ask one of those to buy from the same stall if necessary. I personally dislike seeing tissue packs on the table or seat.

If you want to 'chop' whole table, it is to put umbrella.  I only learn about this rule last Friday.

actually, this is the only correct way to "chope" one whole table.

post-2854-0-61038800-1493136557_thumb.png

Now chop seat and chase people away or quarrel can be  charged for public nuisance...

Print this article and take over the tissue chopper place with peace of mind, without them quarreling with you. Just tell them don't be a public nuisance.

Edited by Ender