Ruzmidah 2nd Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 i have a feeling its the PSU and the socket at her place. Somehow, the amt supplied by the socket cannot be used by the PSU. Try using another PSU and plug into her place, see whether can. Or try plugging into another wall socket at her home. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jezter Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Author Share December 15, 2007 yup... just too tired now to try it out again.tried to plug throughout her house sockets... its useless. so could be the PSU too sensitive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 tried the power supply in one place or a nos of places? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jezter Neutral Newbie December 15, 2007 Author Share December 15, 2007 tried all over her house nothing,tried at my place and SLS shop its perfectly fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 with the same power cable supplied by the shop (connected to the PSU) ? or another power cable? tried with another power cable? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 Try at her house, but turn off every other thing in the house if possible, except the fridge. Have to see which circuit breaker sub-switch goes to the room, and how many electrical items are in the room. Usually it's a case the circuit breaker sub-switch cannot supply enough current to ALL the equipment connected to it, so the current supplied to the CPU just dips and the CPU just power itself off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 li si A hiao or buay hiao one??? his one is not short circuit, didn't trip DB, why off all the power? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 Eliminate all possibilities. Can be the DB didn't trip, but it's already drawing maximum current, so a slight dip in the power supply can just cause insufficient current to be fed to the PC, so it shut off lah. Like when you turn on the lights, your tube TV will flicker momentarily. This is enough to cause a PC to shut off. Then again, you may be right lah. You toylet janitor got prampree 5, I only got K2. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched December 16, 2007 Share December 16, 2007 (edited) ok... think either the PSU too sensitive or her house power cant supply the juice.. cos the freaking pc cant work again!!!! argh.... suspect i can use it last night cos the was residue charge in the cpu while it was working at my place...cos it simply refuse to work this morning again. utter frustration.. cos the original casing PSU also have prob,and its not those high capacity 400W ones we added. bro, try this... take out everything from the casing... including the mother board, then just connect the PSU, MB and power toggle from the casing.... turn on and see if the cpu fan spins and boots up.... make sure you insulated all (the original MB sponge can use) from contacts.. if it does... very likely your casing is shorted. Sometimes some points of the MB will just happen to touch the casing when it's mounted.. but is ok when you remove... I got one stupid cheapo china made casing that fried 4 of my motherboards before I realised what happened.... heng can all send to RMA. Edited December 16, 2007 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jezter Neutral Newbie December 17, 2007 Author Share December 17, 2007 tried total of 3 power cables.. all nothing at her place.the one i tried at my place is my own. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jezter Neutral Newbie December 17, 2007 Author Share December 17, 2007 ok may need to try this out... this could be a prob... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear December 18, 2007 Share December 18, 2007 (edited) Now down again?! Got try unplugging everything (including keyboard, mouse, etc) except the power cable? Also, around her area, any of the following :- a) any appliances or equipment failure b) renovation c) road works d) depots - E.g. MRT, LRT, bus, etc These might point to power disturbances. Edited December 18, 2007 by Kklee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Incom 1st Gear December 18, 2007 Share December 18, 2007 Try getting a workable fully charged Uninterrupted Power Supply (UPS) to your girlfriend's house. Connect the PC to the UPS and the UPS to the house power supply, to see if it works. If it works, is either the power supply is unstable or the power cable wiring of the house has some problems. I used to encountered a similar problem like your girlfriend's pc for one of my uncle's pc. Troubleshoot for a few days, always at my house works, bring back to his place weird problems coming up. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackmore 1st Gear December 18, 2007 Share December 18, 2007 The situation calls for a Line Conditioner to stablise the power to the unit. UPS only supply continous power to the PC in the event of a power failure. LC or Power Surge protection is to minimise the fluctuation of the current to the PC as much as possible. There are extension bank which costs 3 times of norm but guarrantee the stability. Happen to my bro-in-law. He bought a cheap power extension bank; caused all the problem by auto shutdown every 5 minutes for no reason in his house. Brought back the unit to my house and QC 5 times with no symptoms. You can imagine the frustration. HDB electrical supply very unstable in NE area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Incom 1st Gear December 18, 2007 Share December 18, 2007 Coolz, thanks for the information. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched December 18, 2007 Share December 18, 2007 You can't depend on power surges also, there are places where there are dips in current. UPS are used in places where there are lots of spikes and brown outs. There are many different models and types of UPSes. Just need to select the right one. Can be anything from 400 onwards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear December 18, 2007 Share December 18, 2007 You need this. http://www.apcc.com/resource/include/techs...sku=BE500R%2DAS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 19, 2007 Share December 19, 2007 who fix the mobo? u or shop? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...