SAF logistics officer dies after 1.2km run

Garlic

Source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../320318/1/.html

SAF logistics officer dies after 1.2km run

Posted: 02 January 2008 1730 hrs

SINGAPORE: Major (MAJ) Tan Yit Guan, a SAF logistics officer, collapsed at 8.20am at Kranji Camp on Wednesday morning.

MAJ Tan was talking with his colleagues after completing a 1.2km self-paced run when he suddenly collapsed.

He was given prompt medical attention and sent to the National University Hospital at about 8.45am. Efforts by the SAF medical team to resuscitate him en route were unsuccessful. MAJ Tan was pronounced dead at 9.30am.

MINDEF and the SAF extend their deepest condolences to MAJ Tan's family, and will be assisting them in their time of grief.

MINDEF is investigating the incident.

CNA/so

R.I.P MAJ Tan

so another case again arh,

maybe heart too stress during the run thats y u collaspe

[shakehead][shakehead][shakehead]

govt gg to do anything again???

Edited by Suhong

with all respect to the deceased..

but 1.2km run???

in the army..i never experienced before 1.2km SELF PACED run...isit something new..smelly2 at least 2.4km RUN..

Wa Lau ... [:(][:(][:(]

RIP Major Tan [smallcry][smallcry][smallcry]

Nowadays cases like these seems to be getting more & more common [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Must take care man ... [gossip][gossip][gossip]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

2.4 is damn sian.. I always get 4 points for 2.4 in napfa.. I think this year 3 points liao ah.. 30 points so impossible. [:(]

napfa??

Maybe it's time to scrap the 2.4km run liao. Die like that for the country really bo hua leh....

Anyone knows why IPPT run is 2.4km, why not 1.5km or 3km ?

Edited by Darth_mel