My paper

Blacklx

dunno abt u but i've met local SQ girls and they r very real and helpful.

simple courtesy can go a long way not just in the air but even in hawker center.

i alway make it a point to tank table cleaners when the job is done n they really appreciate tat a lot.

just common sense.

Edited by Apollo

C'mon...Ms Tan asked, she didn't demand. How would she know beforehand that there aren't enough papers to go round? She might not be a frequent flier. It wasn't an unreasonable request. Like Sabian said, not like she asked for 3 copies of every kind fo newspaper they had. Oh and she didn't even ask for 3 copies - herself, her dad and mum. Her parents were sitting together and she asked for 2 copies, one for herself and one for her parents sitting in another row. Those tan xiao pian yi SGreans will confirm ask for one per person.

If the stewardess really couldn't spare any, just as Ms Tan said in her letter, the stewardess could've just nicely said that they don't have enough newspapers to go round, so could she please share it with her father.

Attitude means a lot, esp in the service industry. Esp when you take a plane like SQ which is supposedly known for top-notch service. Whatever it was, it's very evident that the stewardess did not even manage a basic level of courtesy for someone in the service industry. She didn't even manage to say "Sorry, if you don't mind, can you pls share the papers with your dad because we don't have enough to go round?" And she's a lead stewardess man...

Well.. if she'd asked for a copy of 3 different papers then no excuse to reject her... malayu arm bun nei oso can. By asking for more than a copy of ST she already lost the ground of arguement.. imo.. it is greedy. so dun drag in the level of service or attitude, wat a way to enjoy her days? [:/]

Whatever it is I believed the stewardess wasn't being rude, just less tactful tats all.. perhaps she should whisper in Ms. Tan ear.. because tats her concern to complain. [:/] The service crew are afterall not robots, they can't be providing impeccable service all the time to so many passengers esp. those with attitude.. Therefore I believed they also have their preference list..

That....I have to agree to a certain level... [laugh][laugh]

Women do check out other women and are probably jealous to a certain point. I do know some women who do silly things just because they are jealous of other women.

But men too what! Just that they prefer to be called 'competitive' instead of jealous. [:p]

Yah.. I do know of some.. Someone told me..

There was this Mit trying to overtake a SUV from centre lane, no brake light from both cars, and they're going almost parallel to each other, with SUV ahead with constant speed.. think din want to kena caught by speedtrap on a 70-80kmh road, junctions ahead. Finally got a chance to take a glance, both drivers women! [laugh]

Aiya....guys also right... [sly][sly][laugh][laugh]

Was it really u?

CX went to NYC must transit HK leh. If suay suay the transit time very long. Just last saturday my transit was 6hrs. I took wrong headset and didn't fit my handphone and was soooo bored!

Somemore, sometimes these flights with transit, end up much more expensive than SQ flying direct. :-(

Anyway, once I started having membership in 1 alliance group, it's hard to go another alliance program.....you'll have to start from scratch again.

Edited by Kianbeng

You mean to say if I go transit, I get more miles? Maybe with other airlines. But for SIA, if you go direct or if they also have a transit ie via BKK, the final miles are the same.

Leg? think my legs will be straighten before 8 5 if dad away at 65.. mum at 95.. whats the means?

machiam like a few stupit mil f00l.. the world tink so.. perhaps really are.. mind u.. tis wil nt b the last episode..

start counting down the daes.. hope lightning got eyes..

Edited by Togas

The airline cannot just make sure that each and every passenger will have a copy of the newspaper.... there are the Chinese, ST, BT and TODAY on offer on most SQ planes departing from SG. If it is done accordingly to your suggestion then 4 copies of the papers mentioned will have to be prepared.... I normally do not ask for any other newspaper then the ST when I board the plane, and most times when I board in SG, I don't even ask for a paper.....

But, many a times, when I board for return flight and if I am in Y class, I will always ask for a newspaper, and sometimes the crew may tell me that they have ran out, but normally, they will go into biz or 1st class to check if there are any available. I normally will get the paper after a while....

It is also how you ask for a paper, I don't say "Can you get me a copy of ST please".... not that is demanding, even with a "please"..... I normally will phrase it as "Hi, when you have the time, can you get me a copy of the ST please, thanks.", unless I am in foul mood prior to boarding. I once threw my handcarry into the overhead in front of a stewardess (no fault of hers).... but she was very nice and asked my what happened and can she get me a drink... but I was in no mood and wave her away..... I was angry with their ground staff, who made me waited until I was the very last person to board, my previous flight was late, but I still have half hour to spare, then they were anticipating that they will be full etc etc and saying they may upgarde me and all those crap....

Anyway, for long hual flights, I don't fly Y anymore, so i don't have no complains for SQ service.... they treat me like a prince whenever i fly with them.... and newspaper are brought straight to me and when i chose the ST, they will also ask if I need the BT and/or ZB... then comes the magazine...... and of course before all that, I will get my welcome drink....

[shakehead]

anyway whether the writer parents is illiterate or wat...

I xtill feel the stewardess could have gave a better reply..

well, you've only hear one side of the story.

anyway i believe the stewardess in question wun be reprimanded.

seems like as singaporeans get more educated, they like to complain more also. zero moral values.

i agree. its just one side of the story.

I travel frequently and 95% on SQ (company paid mah)..have to say so far I have not met any rude SQ stewards or stewardess...but have met many ugly and KS singaporean on flight...they thought they must be treated like prince and princess just bcos it's SQ and treat the service crew with attitude.... [shakehead][shakehead] I remember once when I took the non-stop flight to US, even for economy class they have a pantry area where there are free flow of light snacks and fruits available anytimes during the flight...happen I couldn't sleep so walk to the area to get a hot drinks and happened saw a Singaporean stuffing many packets of snacks in his pocket, over fill till his side pockets was showing...I was shocked and he can still tell me, "FOC, must take lah"....And all the while a steward was actually standing behind the curtain and saw the whole episode...the guy left in hurry after I saw him in action...I talk to the steward he also told me actually the worse customers that he ever served beside intoxicated ang mo , next in line is local....

i agree. i also often take SQ and never encounter much problem. But i'm shocked by the drop in service standard. for instance, using singlish. and speaking hokkien amongst themselves in flight