Toyo 1st Gear January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 maybe she requested the air stewardess to read out the straits times in chinese so that her parents can understand ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 (edited) To be frank, SQ should have prepared one copy of newspapers per passenger in the plane. I think one copy of newspaper to be shared by a small family of passengers should be reasonable. Every passenger in the individual family group rotates/exchanges the sections to read. The duration of the flight is a few hours, so everyone should have ample time to read. If every passenger is entitled to one copy, then the amount of newspapers on board the plane would qualify the SQ as a karung guni store room. The additional fuel can be quite substantial. I would prefer them to carry something more useful like additional emergency kits/medications etc. Huge amount of newspaper can be quite a fire hazard. Not just Straits Times, they also carry other newspaper too. One copy per passenger might be too much. Edited January 24, 2008 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mlimhs 1st Gear January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 (edited) Actually my view on this, she did commented "I'm sorry Madam, but can you please share if you don't mind as we are running out of newspapers" Maybe the cabin crew choice of words or her TONE sounds rather harsh to her and makes her feel bad, i do feel bad too if i'm being rejected straight. I guess every human being wanted to be treated softly and nicely, the important jobs of every cabin crew are their service. They are the FRONT service line. Ultimately every passengers be it in economy or first class flight wanted to be treated with service and nothing else but service. I'm not against the cabin crew neither the writer but that's my opinion. Edited January 24, 2008 by Mlimhs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 The topic is also discussed here..... http://www.sqtalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3408 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Strange, if her parent could not speak English, why would she requested the stewardess to pass her father The Straits Times which is obviously written in English? Yalor, I was about to say that! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Her parents cant speak english but can read ST?? What is this????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 MCFers are assuming that the lady was impolite or demanding in her request. But I doubt that's the case as she could only reply with a stunned "Okay" when the stewardess rudely told her to share. A truly demanding passenger would've taken issue with the stewardess' attitude on the spot. And as those in the service industry would know. When a customer is already pissed or shows a pissed attitude, the worst thing to do would be to show attitude back. Hence, I honestly doubt the lady had been rude first. If the plane has other newspapers, the stewardess could also have counter-offered another paper for the lady's father instead of just telling her to share. This is my objective view of the matter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 but she cud b writing this to vent her anger only. u sud know how women behave surely. and how 百万 some singaporeans behave. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 My late great grandma also can't read English. But she likes to cut out the pictures from Straits Times to paste them on her cupboard. I would prefer her to collect my photos instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 To be frank, SQ should have prepared one copy of newspapers per passenger in the plane. I think one copy of newspaper to be shared by a small family of passengers should be reasonable. Every passenger in the individual family group rotates/exchanges the sections to read. The duration of the flight is a few hours, so everyone should have ample time to read. If every passenger is entitled to one copy, then the amount of newspapers on board the plane would qualify the SQ as a karung guni store room. The additional fuel can be quite substantial. I would prefer them to carry something more useful like additional emergency kits/medications etc. Huge amount of newspaper can be quite a fire hazard. Not just Straits Times, they also carry other newspaper too. One copy per passenger might be too much. But then something is very wrong if they offer newspapers to some passengers and not to others within the same class, isn't it? That is if the service provider is a top-notch service provider. Every field has to be covered to ensure that customers/passengers will not have any complaints. Anyway the crux is the attitude of the stewardess, which many fail to see. Maybe got no ang moh for comparison in the scenario, that's why all fail to see the problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Most probably. That's what most forum letter writers are doing right? Fail to or miss the chance to make their 'grievances' known on the spot to the direct parties then blast it out in newspaper or online forums. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 This is my objective view of the matter. Hey Sis, the level of "objectivity" is up to the rest of us to decide. You can't claim it yourself, you know. Or, are you trying to mean "my "subjective" view". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 cannot say all lah.. some hv real grievances like ttdurai's daughter writing in to plead for him. like temasick hoching writing to plead for aNgKayFook. u know elite write in usually got make Fooking sense lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Nope. Objective meaning not biased towards or against any party, just taking into account the facts mentioned of the situation. Coz the lady did specifically say that the stewardess could've used a better tone, and she spelt out the words, which seem like an average polite request, not a demanding one. If the stewardess had not even managed an averagely polite request as phrased then that's really a lack of service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Most mah...I didn't say all. Some is go thru direct means liao no response, then make public. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Dat time i was boarding qantas flight to sydney.. Saw the stewardess at the entry point with 1 stack of the local papers. I asked her for 1 copy but was given a polite reply..i think its something like "Sorry sir, i will pass to you another copy later because these are meant for first class passengers" I though ohh ok..later till flight finish...i still never see the stewardess or the paper. but then main point is she replied politely la.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 SQ air crew have always extended excellent service to me both in Y and J classes.... With planes like this, how to complain..... and yes, the new business class seats are the most comfortable as compared with other airlines for the same class....... I slept like a baby on long haul flights.... Disclaimer.. the pictures are not mine, I leeched them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Strange, if her parent could not speak English, why would she requested the stewardess to pass her father The Straits Times which is obviously written in English? Knowing how to read does not mean knowing how to speak the language...well. Especially for those PRC students who come here to study, they are good at the written English language but when it comes to speaking....u'll be . ST got a lot of pictures to see also what. It's just that ppl like her in sg are very kiasu and impatient. Want this and want that, very high expectations. Ppl tend to forget they're also served by sgporeans. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...