Pisces69 6th Gear January 27, 2008 Share January 27, 2008 Below is a post I am posting on behalf of anotner MCF member who cannot post due to insufficient posts. Please note it is not mine. ================================================================================ ==== HI Everyone! I got thoughts regarding OPC and i had e-mail LTA my thoughts and hope the outcome would be positive for all owners of OPC and would be OPC owners DEAR LTA, I would like to know what is the actual meaning of "The gaverment has previously announced that the automatic conversion of Weekend Cars (WECs) to normal cars (NCs) would be effected when the Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) scheme is implemented island-wide. This is expected to take place beyond year 2000." This is an extraction from 1 motoring. Does it means that ERP gantries have to be set up at every carpark entrance island wide in Singapore? From my point of view now i could see ERP gantries at majority parts of singapore already. Major expressways,thomson road,bukit timah,kallang and many more.Some are operating late into the night as well. I would like to know the exact meaning of "Island wide" stand of the goverment. Also i would appeal to LTA to allow the full day use of OPC for saturday usage as traffic on Saturday is low apparently which is why i think LTA recently lifted the bus lanes restriction hours for saturday and no ERP gantries are in operation on saturday.Also freeing up saturday for OPC usage in my opinion will enhance Goverment sector/some Public sector companies 5 day work week policy which encourage family bonding and maybe even higher birth rates as most owners of OPC are those with family and kids who would appreciate the extra morning available to them to bring the entire family for an fullfiling outing to the ZOO,Discovery center etc.... which can in turn help in hitting the 6 million population figure sooner and not to rely so much on foreigners. All these points i think is a WIN WIN situation for the Nation and the people. The people will very much appreciate this if my appeal to LTA is granted. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear January 27, 2008 Share January 27, 2008 it will be followed by crap reply from the "Elites", bro how is your Optra wagon? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched January 27, 2008 Share January 27, 2008 Did he get an automated reply from LTA "Your feedback has been received, ....... " Let him continue building his dreams.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluenuts Neutral Newbie January 27, 2008 Share January 27, 2008 Bro Pisces, encourage this fellow MCF bro to keep on trying. If one don't even try, then there's no chance of change at all. Besides, what he said about the saturday situation is true and should be review. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fri13th 1st Gear January 27, 2008 Share January 27, 2008 thks bluenuts for ur encouragement! will post when i get reply from LTA most ppl i think drive normal car so i guess its not shiok for them to see opc cars getting more free days for driving.....i guess thats human nature i really hope i get the last laugh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zcold 2nd Gear January 27, 2008 Share January 27, 2008 bro.... firstly i nt trying to be wed blanket n secondly i have nothing agains OPC cars... but i dun tink they will change it ... tink u need to post on mass media oso like ST then makin sat a full day might render ERP "harmless" ... drivers might tink "since i aldr save $20... wads a a $2 ERP?" dunno if u get wad i mean.... the implications are high i guess and they would rather earn yr 20 bucks than tt puny $2.... anyways hope u hav the last luff n prove me wrong ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fri13th 1st Gear January 27, 2008 Share January 27, 2008 Zcold i really dunno what u mean leh......saturday no erp charges u know? i wait for their reply first than see how....anyway this wont be an overnight thing as u know how gov sector work...everything have to follow law and system and dunno got how many dept to approve than can implement....this time cannot i post in ST lor and 1 day maybe need ur help also to counter post on ST to enhance my post Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged January 27, 2008 Share January 27, 2008 (edited) Hope you get a favorable reply from LTA regarding the sat usage. Your argument is sound...but the chances of making LTA changes their mind is slim at this moment. Many such letters have been sent to the ST forum in the past and LTA stood firm on their policy by giving some not very relevant reply. Same goes with free parking at HDB carpark on Sat. Nevertheless, I agree with some forumers that OPC drivers shouldn't give up. If there is enough voices....LTA might just change their mind. Edited January 27, 2008 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear January 27, 2008 Share January 27, 2008 Correction: There are ERP charges on Saturdays in Orchard area. http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...saturdays_.html Zcold i really dunno what u mean leh......saturday no erp charges u know? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mok_ Neutral Newbie January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 The answer is in their FAQ. http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...ar_scheme_.html Anyway, OPC is not equal to WEC. Why else do you think they rename it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 (edited) thks bluenuts for ur encouragement! will post when i get reply from LTA most ppl i think drive normal car so i guess its not shiok for them to see opc cars getting more free days for driving.....i guess thats human nature i really hope i get the last laugh Normal car people see your actions, will probably write in to LTA to ask for MORE restrictions for OPC/WEC, citing reasons like OPC/WEC jam up THEIR road. So as a lowly citizen of this elite controlled nation I rather nobody ask for any changes. But if you insist on carrying on, u ever heard of online petiton? Maybe get enough people in the petition (all 34000 OPC owners) and the media will take notice. Edited January 28, 2008 by Sgnick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 every morning about 7am, i still see many OPC beating the system by not displaying the daily license at jurong west, pioneer, jln buroh and pandan rd area. i guess OPC or NC same same leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 Below is a post I am posting on behalf of anotner MCF member who cannot post due to insufficient posts. Please note it is not mine. ================================================================================ ==== HI Everyone! I got thoughts regarding OPC and i had e-mail LTA my thoughts and hope the outcome would be positive for all owners of OPC and would be OPC owners DEAR LTA, I would like to know what is the actual meaning of "The gaverment has previously announced that the automatic conversion of Weekend Cars (WECs) to normal cars (NCs) would be effected when the Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) scheme is implemented island-wide. This is expected to take place beyond year 2000." This is an extraction from 1 motoring. Does it means that ERP gantries have to be set up at every carpark entrance island wide in Singapore? From my point of view now i could see ERP gantries at majority parts of singapore already. Major expressways,thomson road,bukit timah,kallang and many more.Some are operating late into the night as well. I would like to know the exact meaning of "Island wide" stand of the goverment. Also i would appeal to LTA to allow the full day use of OPC for saturday usage as traffic on Saturday is low apparently which is why i think LTA recently lifted the bus lanes restriction hours for saturday and no ERP gantries are in operation on saturday.Also freeing up saturday for OPC usage in my opinion will enhance Goverment sector/some Public sector companies 5 day work week policy which encourage family bonding and maybe even higher birth rates as most owners of OPC are those with family and kids who would appreciate the extra morning available to them to bring the entire family for an fullfiling outing to the ZOO,Discovery center etc.... which can in turn help in hitting the 6 million population figure sooner and not to rely so much on foreigners. All these points i think is a WIN WIN situation for the Nation and the people. The people will very much appreciate this if my appeal to LTA is granted. have just been owned. reason to have ERP and bus lanes on saturdays Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 there was even someone who wrote in asking not for sat to b a free usage day...but half price.like a coupon for $10 for sat use.he was willing to pay...not free leh...but still LTA rejected.so...asking for free usage...i don tink they will ever look into it. another thing to improve on is de availability of de opc coupons.y make it only available in Post offices?...wat if urgent need n no coupon?or need to buy at night for next morning use?they should make it available at 7-11 or petrol kiosks.dis was also suggested to LTA but they rejected also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Libox88 Neutral Newbie January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 Yes, what you say is correct as sometimes you may run out of OPC coupons and need to drive out next day early morning at 7am. Does Post office open at 6.45am then ?! As what I can see, LTA never listen to public opinion lah. If ever they allow S$10 for sat usage is already a BIG BIG win for OPC drivers already. I wonder what Lemon is going to announce that will or may affect OPCs or would he announce something that benefits OPC ? Guess not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 i don tink they gonna implement something to benefit de opc more.cos a lot of those "normal" drivers will surely b not happy if more benefits r given to opc. dats y i say...i'm not asking for more benefits...jus make it easier for opc to get de coupons can already.de rest is a bonus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 28, 2008 Author Share January 28, 2008 it will be followed by crap reply from the "Elites", bro how is your Optra wagon? ========================== Getting used to it. Smoother than the Corona but it's taller so the CG is higher & not as good around corners. Anyway my family likes it better then the old car . So at least they r all happy with my purchase. Must get my daughter to start driving it asap so she can get familiar with it. I like the bigger storage space behind. Wil come in handy during my fishing trips, especially those up north. Even good to load bulky items which were not able to fit in the Corona b4. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 28, 2008 Author Share January 28, 2008 Did he get an automated reply from LTA "Your feedback has been received, ....... " Let him continue building his dreams.... ======================= Maybe he knows he wil get the standard textbook reply from the gharmen so he try to post in the forums to get more exposure & maybe add some more pressure for LTA to buck-up. As it is, they claim to b planning to do much more to improve the traffic situation here like improving public transport & lowering the cost, which will make a big difference when pple decide to buy a car. Let's hope it's not just tok tok tok only. Otherwise it is just another con job. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...