Jl1500k Clutched January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 regreting buying! which model of kimchi car he had bought. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyousuke Neutral Newbie January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 Might just be a faulty key cylinder that could result in such symptoms. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 Colleague got a brand new Peugeot. Loads of problems. I can only remember 2. One of which is he can smell outside exhaust when the mode is turn to internal air circulation mode. The other one is worse - he drive halfway, engine can shut off by itself. In the end he got the car repaired after a few a trips to the workshop. He also got some petrol vouchers and i think about 2 years of free maintenance or something. It is good compensation. I guess u can try to ask for compensaton. Car replacement is near impossible..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paladin Neutral Newbie January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 Replacement? Don't bet on it. If my memory didn't fail me, I think last time there was an incident where someone bought a lemon BMW 7 series it got over heating problem since day one. Performance Motor also cannot solve the issue and they didn't give him/her a replacement. Any bro can still remember? It was in the newspapers. The owner was very too lan liao and ended up suing PM.. don't what happen in the end. Even buy from premium brand also facing same treatment so what can you expect from Korean brand? Like one of the bro said , its still too early to classified the car as a lemon yet Cross your fingers and hope that everything will be fine after the repair. Sometime its just a defect component. Just get it changed and you are good to go again. My friend's new car broke down 2 weeks after collection he did not get a replacement vehicle but was promised by the distributor that they will fix the car in 1 day. told him its some electronic issue. - its a korean make. the car must be a hyper lemon and my friend really regreting buying now. is there any recourse for him to ask for a refund. from experience how would you guys handle the situation. any suggestions on whether they can even replace him with another brand new car if refund is not possible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Author Share January 28, 2008 the more established one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 I bought a kim chi years back, it broke down 1st day. and the following half year, it drinks fuel faster than i can take a leak. 50 l last me 285km max... a 1.6l car only. have to top up tank everyday. send to *&*, they say, its like that one.... rite... in the end, i cut loss and sold the car with a 12k top up check. ouch! still hurts now. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Author Share January 28, 2008 actually i thought they have come a long way, nowadays korean and jap car almost same price. my other friends who have been driving kimchi for years all got no problem lei Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 It all depend on luck too cos I have friends who bought Japanese cars also break down or having lots of problem so it do not happen to Korean cars only, not to say China cars, guess will be worst. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 Replacement of new car is almost impossible over here At most can ask for some servicing vouncher/petrol vouncher ... etc if the problem still persist after this repair Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 I bought a kim chi years back, it broke down 1st day. and the following half year, it drinks fuel faster than i can take a leak. 50 l last me 285km max... a 1.6l car only. have to top up tank everyday. send to *&*, they say, its like that one.... rite... in the end, i cut loss and sold the car with a 12k top up check. ouch! still hurts now. lol Kimchi eh Turbo Car si bo??? Really is for a 1.6l to have a 5.7km/l fuel consumption Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 (edited) Tough luck. Same thing happened to my dad's previous generation Cefiro. Car had to be towed when it was less than a month old, ECU and fuel pump were replaced and thankfully it only took 2 days. Within a year, the entire dashboard had to be replaced due to a big crack (was told only certain batches were affected). On the third year, A/F sensor had to be replaced as it was causing extremely high FC and poor power delivery. Thankfully it served us well without any more problems until it was sold. Your friend should not be too worried, it might have been a defective part from the parts supplier. After all modern cars are governed by an array of electronics and the slightest problem will result in "limp" mode. Yes the feeling of a new car breaking down sucks but hey, Murphy is always around the corner. Edited January 29, 2008 by Garlic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bentwy Neutral Newbie January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 wonder if you will say the same thing if it were you experiencing 'infant mortality'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bentwy Neutral Newbie January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 wow. scientist big crap. these are just hypothetical models. nothing constructive at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bentwy Neutral Newbie January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 i think just do the repair and monitor. if it is a lemon. well... there will come a time whereby the sheer hassle of repairs will outweigh sticking with the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chaihot5 Neutral Newbie January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 It all boils down on luck, Got my Tucson within a few months got problem with aircon, got it fixed. Since then after 120k km of driving. No hiccup at all. Been driving the car for 2yrs plus already. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 yes... there is only 1 case of lemon which went to court before. but the possibilities of having repeated breakdown over a span of 6 months is really 1 in multi million. otherwise most cases, a simple issue of production reliability. so why u so uptight? nothing is 100% defects free. i mean it is ok to send lawyer letter if u wanna prove a point but dun expect pple to bend the rules at the workshop level later becos it cuts both ways. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrc206 Neutral Newbie January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 (edited) Most of the time....the agent will just fixed it under warrenty. No replacement car, especially for a 1 day job....unless it's conti, luxury cars, etc.... But your friend should ask for more if the same problem or car keep breaking down. Sorry hor. Even if conti oso same. Look at the BMW case and another certain Euro make along the same stretch as Ikea Alexander Road. The can just shut down while cruising they also won't give one to one replacement Edited January 29, 2008 by Wrc206 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 For new cars, there are warranty definitely but it depends how hard u bang the table. My take is to insist on a Deadline where this will be resolve and demand a Spare car to drive for the time being. As for your request on refund or trade another car, I would say it is not possible. But if they treat u badly and keeps on dragging the repair, go to CASE ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...