Kelpie 2nd Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 I would prefer comfort more than speed. My ears have enough of noise pollution from my current lancer liao. Furthermore im almost an ah pek liao. So those fast and furry type will be out. But i dont mind a Mark-X tho. But resale pricetag of sub 70+k is little on the high side. I would like to do more road trips to MY. Especially Cameroon highlands and kuantan and maybe even penang. This current lancer cant really make a 150km/hr drive comfortable. A sonata might be better for long driving trips. 1. Initially, I don't have the urge to change my previous 1.6L until after the trip to penang, I feel pity for the car and the passenger . A larger CC car means I don't have to rev and rev the engine or to frustrate the passengers with more noises. 2. I was struggling with going for a MPV or a bigger sedan since comfort was what I wanted for road trips. But I also don't want to compromise on handling, performance and stability at high speed. Hence the choice of a bigger sedan. 3. 2.4 Sonata should be a good cruiser like what some have said, minus the bells and whistles and high tech stuffs in the cabin. Not only the driver will feel more relax and I'm sure the engine will enjoyed the cruise and the push too . 4. But on the practical side, you have to pay more fuel and much higher taxes. I've not crossed the physcological level of getting >2L car yet. Perhaps the next change. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Yes, the new facelift sonata should be out soon. The new dash board look classy. The new 2.0L engine produce 160bhp, even higher than Honda Civic 2.0Si. But with so many sonata taxi running on the run, I don't think it can sell well in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 (edited) Woo Hoo........place deposit on the car liao!!!!!! Everything was bigger and one notch better then my lancer. Test drive it around kakit bukit nia, but can feel the power and comfort liao. The exterior is true to the picture. Flawless and without any dents. The interior wise, quite plain rah. But almost flawless too. i cant really complaint since the pricetg is $44,800. Even got the STA Vehicle inpsection cert @ Feb 2008. But they agree to produce another test cert this week, since the milage diff from the test cert to current date is almost 3k milage. They offer 20k for my OPC Lancer. Which is a far cry from the 18k See & See & Hoo-Dai offer. Overall not bad rah and wify likes it very much. Got HID + fog lights too. Sports rim also quite chio. The boot is HUGE!!!!! The engine is duno what twin-cam something(i know nuts abt engine) and have steptronic gear. And my favourite colour is WHITE. http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-2AIjTnZX-1244.html Edited April 16, 2008 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephteo 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Woo Hoo........place deposit on the car liao!!!!!! wah bro....changing to hyundai sonata liaoz? POWER! good deal at 44K sia.. congrats Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Woo Hoo........place deposit on the car liao!!!!!! Everything was bigger and one notch better then my lancer. Test drive it around kakit bukit nia, but can feel the power and comfort liao. The exterior is true to the picture. Flawless and without any dents. The interior wise, quite plain rah. But almost flawless too. i cant really complaint since the pricetg is $44,800. Even got the STA Vehicle inpsection cert @ Feb 2008. But they agree to produce another test cert this week, since the milage diff from the test cert to current date is almost 3k milage. They offer 20k for my OPC Lancer. Which is a far cry from the 18k See & See & Hoo-Dai offer. Overall not bad rah and wify likes it very much. Got HID + fog lights too. And my favourite colour is WHITE. 1. Congratulation! Wah 2.4L leh, must give way to you on highway liao . 2. Lets hope the next gen Sonata lives up to my expectation. Anyway, I feel happy for you as we know what we need for road trips on NSHW. So you can now hit beyond 200Km/h easily. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 How old is your lancer? Did you bargain further from the $44800? PM me if not comfortable to disclose. btw, driving a CS3 and also backside itchy already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Yes, the new facelift sonata should be out soon. The new dash board look classy. The new 2.0L engine produce 160bhp, even higher than Honda Civic 2.0Si. But with so many sonata taxi running on the run, I don't think it can sell well in Singapore. It can still sell well just like when they launched the NF initially. The bottom line is still cost. 160 horses will beat many Jap cars and conti liao. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Go for the kia magentis then. Same engine, better interior. Lighter too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 The resale value of my OPC lancer suxs. Last year this time i also itchy backside. Almost change car. That time i was offered 27k. This time round, see & see + Hoo-Dai offer 18k. But this PI offer me 20k. If delay one more year, i think my lancer lei-long sell under 15k liao. The lancer is 2 yrs 6mths old. Milage is 57k. But one thing that help most is becasue my collegue did a trade-in with them last year. And i was with my collegue during the test-drive and tracstion....all the way to take over the car. So they are easy going with my deal lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 Woo Hoo........place deposit on the car liao!!!!!! wah bro....changing to hyundai sonata liaoz? POWER! good deal at 44K sia.. congrats Haha....never mind rah. I will still go for lancer meet-up. I think Xtran wil be surprise at my trade-in too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephteo 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 yea..i duno if he will see your this thread... he is now crazy over his lancer...he just installed a spoiler... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 (edited) Bye Bye Lancer. Edited April 16, 2008 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephteo 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 btw....i just saw the pics.... wah lau... one major leap from your lancer sia... looks damn comfortable... and i'm sure ride quality is also... it's normal car right? not OPC rite... cannot see coz they block the number plate.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 The Sonata is normal plate. SFY plate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephteo 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 (edited) you should say HELLO SONATA! when you getting your new ride? Edited April 16, 2008 by Josephteo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 (edited) They giving the sonata a free grooming both interior & exterior. Plus the tranfer, insurance, bank loan blah blah blah.......the offical take-over will be next wednesday. Actually everything can be completed by this friday, but both wify & me cannot take leave until next wednesday. . Also we wana spend a few more days with our Lancer. Our first car. And also WHAT TO DO WITH MY 20+ OPC Coupons..........wah raoz!!!! Edited April 16, 2008 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephteo 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 And also WHAT TO DO WITH MY 20+ OPC Coupons..........wah raoz!!!! OPC coupons cannot sell is it? if can sell.. i'm sure got ppl want ... wah.. your kids must be thrilled about daddy's new car... hehe... enjoy your lancer for these few days then... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Riverfish 2nd Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Congrats for your new ride. I also once considered a 2nd hand Sonata but since I've owned my lancer for less than a year so decided to stick to it for the time being. BTW, the seller will foot the bill for the STA evaluation? You didn't try to bargain from the asking price of $44,800? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...