Where to do Engine Modification

Xiaogary

Anyone know any workshop that can do:

1) crankshaft lightening and balancing.

2) balancing of new forged pistons and forged con-rods.

3) Valve spring upgrade.

4) Grinding of camshaft to higher degree duration, abt 285 degree.

5) custom make performance head gasket.

6) install performance head studs kit.

Wow, what car are you referring to?

Usually balanced by the manufacturer. They pick and choose from a whole bunch of rods or pistons and you get 4 of the same weight.

You wanna grind an existing set of cams to a longer duration or get a set of custom-grind cams?

For installation, most performance workshop that can overhaul or "do up" an engine will be able to intall the above. If you're anal, can give them the exact torque specs and clearances.

I asked many workshop, but only heard there is a shop in amk doing cam shaft.

Lighten and balance crankshaft, cannot find at all.

Its for chevy engine. Which is same as daewoo or opel engine. Going to overhaul soon, so changing to performance parts.

Bringing the parts to JB and clearing custom have to pay taxes I think.

Edited by Xiaogary

Are there other local/overseas Chevy owners that has done the modifications you have listed?

Pardon me for asking but do you know for sure that the parts fit your ride?

What ECU/piggyback will you be using?

Just very curious cos have never seen or heard of Chevy owners doing such mods for their cars...

Yes. Its done up before. Up to 300+hp for chevy optra or aveo in other country mostly turbo charged or NOS-ed, but in singapore is illegal. So no one is doing that. I also not going to turbo charge. Only going to do NA mods which are legal.

Using UNICHIP now. Converting to emanage or Haltech soon.

A shop quoted me $2,800 to bring out the engine from the engine bay, and overhaul with me supplying the parts (pistons, con rod, ...etc) myself. $2.8k for labour alone. Is this the normal price in singapore?

Anoother shop owner told me nobody owns the machine to balance the crankshaft here n singapore. Only way is to send to USA or UK to balance after lightening. He suggest I leave it alone although its heavy. And concentrate to lighten other parts such as flywheel or car itself.

Annother one quoted me $600-700 for crankshaft lightening and balancing. But not sure whether how he balance the crankshaft. He claimed he have the machinary to balance it. But I request to see the machine, he say its in another shop and refused to give me address. I dont dare let him operate on the newer crankshaft.

If still cannot find, I think I might have to leave it alone. The crankshaft alone is 13kg, Is it considered heavy?

Edited by Xiaogary

This is the crankshaft I am trying to lighten. Too bulky and heavy I feel.

The pistons in the pic are the old flat 9.5: 1 low compression pistons (not forged). The new domed & forged pistons 11.6:1 compression are from Wiseco with Moly coated rings for up to 800hp application.

Although old rods are already forged, but duno how high hp it can withstand. There is one case which it never breaks but bend due to severe knocking in an aveo in Korea. The funny thing is it still can travel at speed above 150km/h only with some strange knocking sound of the rods hitting the cylinder. The new con rods are H-Beams forged also which can withstand up to 900hp application.

Both rods and pistons are already balanced to plus minus within one gram.

Now left the crankshaft to be lightened and balanced.

http://img244.imagevenue.com/img.php?image...n_122_522lo.jpg

th_94586_Cran_122_522lo.jpg

Edited by Xiaogary

u wanna lighten your crankshaft? be prepared to lose torque as yr engine will not have momentum...i'd rather balance it...and balancing the crankshaft is nt so simple...u have to balance it with the crankshaft pulley,flywheel and the clutch pressure plate...unless yours is a long stroke engine like mine which has heaps of torque low down end and sucks @ high rpm....i dont see the point of doing this to your car...and no offense...y bother doing it on this car may i ask?

Holy sxxt. 2.8k just to drop engine and overhaul. It's confirm a [knife] .

Should be looking at the 2k region with you supplying the crank, rods and pistons only.

For your crank, best to leave it alone. 13kg is just about right for a crank's weight. Stock Type-R cranks are slightly heavier than that. Lightening a crank will not make you lose torque, infact your car will be more torquey/revvy with a lightweight crank, but you might find that the car loses speed faster when you let go of the pedal.

As for crank balancing, are you going to raise your rev limit? To what levels? If it's not too high over stock (raise to 7.5k?) then it's not problem.

As for the conrods, if on a budget, can use back provided they fit the aftermarket pistons. The power increase will not be as much as those TC-ed overseas Chevys. If already bought liao then [:p]

Knock/detonation is always baaad. Sure that bugger can drive around with a lose conrod/piston but would you wanna do that? [sweatdrop]

Sorry for not answering your question on which workshop to do..haha. Honda owners and their workshops have been doing this for ages but might not be familiar with your make. Reckon you must be the first Chevy owner to do this locally.

Anyone know any workshop that can do:

1) crankshaft lightening and balancing.

3) Valve spring upgrade.

5) custom make performance head gasket.

6) install performance head studs kit.

Save ur money,buy a high performance car [:p]

The main reason is I am doing it on Chevy is because not many people are doing it ard the world. In Singapore maybe the only one or maybe a few more hiding behind the computer already succeeded but kept quiet. I personally find that its too common seeing a fast highly modded civic on the road. No offence to civic owners but I don't feel that I will be as happy to be driving a fast civic because others are just as fast.

Also civic have so many aftermarket performance parts available out there. Being unique makes it interesting. Sometimes its not the end product thats interesting. Its the process of going through it, especially if the process is a tough one.

Yes. you are not the first one asking me why spend so much effort on this car. I am used to it already, so don't worry, I am not offended. Haha...

Thanks for the info so far.

Thanks for your advice. I guess I will stick with the original crankshaft weight. I am afraid the shops might claimed that they have the machine to balance but end up balancing it with their eyes and I ended up with risky unbalanced engine.

Anyway my aftermarket flywheel is abt 4Kg only. So I believe the weight of the mid block internal shoould already be cut down by a lot. Plus the pistons and con rod (yes, bought already, forged one only 400g each) are already light weight stuffs.

Now still looking for performance main stud. Already found the head stud from ARP already. That should prevent the head from floating during high rev. I guess 7.5K rpm is abt the max I am going for the 285 duration camshafts. If need to go above that to 8k rpm and above, I have to go for 300 duration at least which will make my idling very unstable unless I go for direct quad tapered trottle body intake and bypass the MAP sensor.

1.6L engine or?

actually for na, if it 1.6L, u do all these, i doubt it will be as fast as a stock sir. no way u can gain 70hp for these few mods. so in the end u spend so much $, u will not be happy too. the amount u going to use, can downpayment for another car liao.

Edited by Iliketodrive

dun waste money.. spend so much on engine mods.. dun tell me u're not gonna upgrade ur exhaust..

if so.. its $500 fine also..

why not jump straight into turbo.. same money.. multiple times of gain.. same $500 fine too..

wah i like ur style. i also spend alot on 3 of my uncommom yet hard 2 mod continental cars, and many owners of these models are surprised by its performances. but no offence, its really shiok to be fast but more shiok driving a car rarely seen to be faster than most pple.