Chickenfarm Turbocharged April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 Constitutional law on Individual Ministerial Responsibility: Ministers are politically answerable in respect of matters lying within their statutory or conventional fields of responsibility. If maladministration within his Department is attributable to bad organisation or procedures or defective supervision, or exist on such a large scale or at so high a level that he ought to have been able to prevent it, then he is blameworthy. Sir Thomas Dugdale resigned as Minister of Agri-culture in 1954 bcos of the exposure of maladministration by senior officials in the over-celebrated Crichel Down Affair. Lord Carrington and 2 other Foreign and Commonwealth Ministers left office in 1982 after Argentinian invasion of Falkland bcos their department had not adequately assessed Argentina's intention. Our Home Ministry had mismanaged not once but thrice on security breach ranging from Took Leng How's escape to JB without a passport, Richard Yong's HK shopping spree and the latest being Mas Alamak's case. Shouldn't the Home Minister be blameworthy or shld we just shoot the police and ICA? Just my thoughts ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 I pity the guard. Perhaps he was just following the SOP to inform the SDO. Blame it on the system. Blame it on the one who came out with the system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sonicmood Neutral Newbie April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 from now till 2010 wont have much good news but election would need to settle before then, just show the mother@$^#@$#$ what the rest think on what is ok or not when tat time comes they (cheng hu) will know wat to do... dish out more ang poh... lift upgrading.. open more highway... top up cpf... baby bonus... growth ang poh... rd tax discount... give out food vouchers... pub discount... conservancy fee discount... then they will say economy veri veri good...more jobs in the market...inflation under control.. wat else did i miss out...? then ppl will forget all the past liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 (edited) i think people are forgetting they themselves are paying for what you listed above and still have to pay , irregardless of parties in power. Edited April 24, 2008 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 I agree... Tax-payers are paying their salaries to take us for a ride... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sonicmood Neutral Newbie April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 fully agreed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 dont give them excuse to charge 8% late charges If everybody is passionate enought to give a strong response to the gahment, 8% is nothing which I'm sure they are willing to sacrfice.. But this is Singapore, hurt the pocket, good enough to keep us quiet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 Honestly speaking, it's not the 8% late charge. The signal that you are advocating is not going to achieve anything and the authorities will also be in the right for levelling that 8% late charge fee. I'd rather send the signal at a time and place when it CAN matter .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 ya, tell me about it. every month use CPF $$$ to pay HDB instalments for the rest of my working life, which i still questioning what is the actual cost of my pigeon hole... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 Ask MBT lor... But while listening to their explanation, don't kenna confused hor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 Why is it about achieving something?? I don't expect to achieve anything at this infant stage. It's about not keeping quiet anymore, show disapprovement. The Gahment is taking our silence as concent. And they use the silence again and again in the media to show majority of sigapore agrees to his speech or policy. Do you think earth day, aids day..etc going to achieve their goal? No they won't, they start with awareness, and hopefully the goal is achieve a few generation down the line, or maybe not. When I propes not to pump a day, it's also not about MUST achieve the goal, it's about not keeping quiet anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klinz Neutral Newbie April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 IMHO I think LTK win this round. Yes he might appear no balls to challenge..but he did expose the 'exponent' weakness...that is he CAN'T decide.. For example, if you are the sect commander leading your man, if your man ask how you going to tackle this problem, you turn back ask what do you think..Your man will definitely say you CMI, waste their time...To me this principal applies. So, look at the leader we have...he's implying it's ok to be complacence, so long lesson learn and be responsible about it, let's move on... Is this the system we are going to have....? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 The objective to show disapprovement is also such that the other party REGISTER the disapproval. Delaying due payment is more of a show of rebellious, rather than approval. Show your disapproval where and when it WILL be registered... in which box you put the "X" in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 (edited) That no doubt I will when the time comes to put my X ... But to the effect of the PM speech yesterday, I'm worried the day come, everybody forgets. What's our reaction to his speech? it'll water down by then.. The NKF saga, the swift response from dispporval donors give strong consequences. Though there a -ve impact on other charity, the message was clear.. Edited April 24, 2008 by Ender Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tasman Neutral Newbie April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 (edited) Perhaps in the next GE, we may never see WKS again. Should he be there as a candidate either in a GRC or standalone, citizens can show their displeasure at the X box. A wake up call like the one in Malaysia is all we need. Edited April 24, 2008 by Tasman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 No flame intended. But we should be COMMITTED to invoke some change, and not just RETALIATE when we feel angry. Like you pointed out with regards to charity, it's the other charities that suffered and Durai is now happily earning 1M per year in Dubai. Reacting fast is not necessarily reacting smart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 (edited) Durai may earn 1million bucks in private sector, I don't care. At least he's not abusing public fund anymore. If it become effective, only if (hypothesize only, coz we know it'll never happen), WKS step down and goes into private sector become CEO, I don't care, as long as he's not holding public appointment such as a important and critical position as Minister of Home Affair. I'm not out for his blood, CEO in private sector or toilet janotor in private sector, no concern. Edited April 24, 2008 by Ender Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear April 24, 2008 Share April 24, 2008 U really think out of the box leh. Like that also can. Anyway i think PM ans to LTK qns somehow tell us his stand liao lor. "Lim Pei is the boss, who go or stay, i decide, not u" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...