PM's question: Should DPM quit?

Friendstar

Superintendent of detention centre sacked over Mas Selamat's escape

By Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 26 May 2008 1437 hrs

SINGAPORE: The superintendent of the Whitley Road Detention Centre has been sacked over security lapses that led to the escape of Jemaah Islamiyah detainee Mas Selamat Kastari. His deputy has also been demoted in rank, with a corresponding pay cut.

The two were the most senior officers in charge of the ground management of the detention centre, and were among six Internal Security Department (ISD) officers charged over the escape.

Two other Gurkha officers were also charged and have been demoted after pleading guilty.

Deputy Prime Minister and Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng disclosed this when he updated the Parliament on the disciplinary action taken after Mas Selamat's escape.

Mas Selamat had escaped from a ventilation window in a toilet at the detention centre on 27 February and remains at large.

No grilles were mounted on the window.

Mr Wong said the superintendent should have instructed the renovation contractor to install grilles on the ventilation window. Instead, the superintendent asked for the handle of the window to be sawn off in the mistaken belief that it was a sufficient security measure.

This, Mr Wong said, was a serious error.

The superintendent and his deputy have also been held accountable for the lack of supervision over the subordinate officers implicated in the escape.

Mr Wong said the command director in the ISD who the superintendent reported to, has also been relieved of his duties on 24 April.

Although the command director was neither directly nor indirectly linked to the lapses of specific officers down the line, and he was not at fault over the lapses, Mr Wong said he was formally the apex of the supervisory and management chain of command overseeing the detention centre. - CNA/ac

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stori...350057/1/.html

bloody coward to make other pple the scapegoat. cheap act, WKS! he shld be held accountable for these mistakes as well, being the head of MHA..and not just the superintendent responsible.. [shakehead]

Although the command director was neither directly nor indirectly linked to the lapses of specific officers down the line, and he was not at fault over the lapses, Mr Wong said he was formally the apex of the supervisory and management chain of command overseeing the detention centre.

what abt himself? [:|][:|]

seriously now the whole world look down on us. on 2 occasions that mas was caught, the indo has done it. now we lost him this time....sibei paisay...how tell ppl we are world class and yet get these small fries to take scape

To show their sincerity, they shld at least demote WKS instead of just letting the axe fall on the security officers alone instead..this episode only made me having less and less respect for them..only want high pay but dun want the responsibility.. [shakehead]

Edited by Damienic

IMHO I think LTK win this round. Yes he might appear no balls to challenge..but he did expose the 'exponent' weakness...that is he CAN'T decide..

For example, if you are the sect commander leading your man, if your man ask how you going to tackle this problem, you turn back ask what do you think..Your man will definitely say you CMI, waste their time...To me this principal applies. So, look at the leader we have...he's implying it's ok to be complacence, so long lesson learn and be responsible about it, let's move on...

Is this the system we are going to have....?

This "what do you think?" tactic is used at various level. I kenna alot myself...u know, the situation where you're been pressurised to say what you think and after that, the reply will be..."Good, then we'll work based on that, you'll handle this case from now on". I believe most of us have encounter situations like this...or maybe some of you use a system like this... where do I go to school to learn this?

Although the command director was neither directly nor indirectly linked to the lapses of specific officers down the line, and he was not at fault over the lapses, Mr Wong said he was formally the apex of the supervisory and management chain of command overseeing the detention centre. - CNA/ac

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stori...350057/1/.html

Based on this.... what do you guys think?

The command director is the apex but who is right on top of the apex??? [lipsrsealed]

Actually If i were to be WKS, i'll be damn paiseh to read this out... [blush]

Edited by Zedzee

Based on this.... what do you guys think?

The command director is the apex but who is right on top of the apex???

Who wants to be at the top of the apex now? Want to get your backside poked isit [lipsrsealed]

He has blundered and this fiasco had affected the party's image to certain extent. If they want to protect their image and prove to citizens they are serious abt demanding nothing but the best from their own party members, they got to do it even if he is highly favoured. Continuing to shower him with preferential treatment will only worsen Singaporean's perception of the govt as a whole.

To show their sincerity, they shld at least demote WKS instead of just letting the axe fall on the security officers alone instead..this episode only made me having less and less respect for them..only want high pay but dun want the responsibility.. [shakehead]

this case is good. let the whole of SG see what they are made of [rolleyes]

otherwise those die hard pappies can keep defending their idols. their silence of late is deafening [rolleyes]

to be in politics, u gotta have a hippo/rhino/crocodile thick skin. not just PAP, not just in SIngapore [:p]