Tyre pressure - Pls advise.

Moeykf

Hi Bros,

Im using 225/50/R17 and dunno how much air to pump.

I tried pumping in 280 at petrol kiosk.

Anyone can advise what is the ideal pressure for the said size?

my car comes with original 16" and i upgraded to 17". Weight of the car about 1.5Tons.

There's no ideal figure to give u. U have to judge for yourself.

What the user manual states is the best COMPROMISE on grip in wet & dry conditions.

Ppl always got the wrong conception that pumping over the recommended pressure the tire will burst.

The tire will not burst even if u pump the maximum ALLOWABLE pressure. 4 or 5 times the max. pressure maybe it'll burst.

I always overinflat 10% the recommended pressure to get better FC.

1 atmospheric pressure(normal air pressure) or 1 bar is 101.325 kPa. Our tire pressure is 2x or slightly more dan 2x of that. Dun let the big number scare u.

Hi Bros,

Im using 225/50/R17 and dunno how much air to pump.

I tried pumping in 280 at petrol kiosk.

Anyone can advise what is the ideal pressure for the said size?

I am using 225/45/R17 and my tire shop advised my to pump 32PSi which is prob around 250 (I think?). In any case, 280 is way too much already lah......

as a guide for u:

255(warm taya)= 230(cold)

300(warm taya)= 265(cold)

i pump to minimum 300 when taya is warm b4 going up NSH. [;)]

Most cars have an info sticker on the driver's door pillar. check it out there, plus up to 10% is OK!

i use 15" before and i know 250 is scary for 15"....usually i pump 200-220 for 15" 195/50/r15 wink.gif

Stamford Tyre tell me pump 250 leh [:p]

But i think ideally is 245, jus that i pump 250 to compensate cos tyres would be warmed up by the time i reach petrol kiosk [nod][nod][nod]

Bumpy is a bit especially i'm running on aftermarket suspensions [nod][nod][nod]

But already get used to it for more than 3.5 years liao [laugh][laugh][laugh]

280kPa is not too high lar...

my mz3 recommended rear tyres for full load is 310kPa.