Slowpoke156 Neutral Newbie May 25, 2008 Share May 25, 2008 firstly it's a cute car. not that i look down on cute cars but who buys cute cars? Mostly girls. And 9 out of 10 girls who like cute cars don't drive manual. The manual girl drivers will probably look into faster minis and even then, mini manuals are struggling to sell, even to the males! next, it's the price. as u stated in your blog, the price tag of the old 500 makes it attractive. But at 76k???? I can get a 147 2L for just about 10k more and whole lots more power and style and its auto! Who is TTS trying to kid? i'm probably one of the few guys who will appreciate the 500. but no, the price is way off. The appeal of small Fiats is its affordable price tag plus loads of style. This is shocking pricing indeed. I haven't compared to the UK pricing but a good gauge would be to look at the 500 UK pricing. I wonder if this is truly a pricy car or the dealers made it expensive. I suspect it's the latter. Meantime, let me try to find out that info. I was waiting for the Abarth version for my wife and was told it would cost 90+k. I laughted and walked out. For 90+k, there're a lot of cars I rather buy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mingsect 5th Gear May 25, 2008 Share May 25, 2008 haha,, interesting so now toyota can be nicknamed "rat" in singapore ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enrique Neutral Newbie May 25, 2008 Share May 25, 2008 the 1.4 already 90k plus, the Abarth version will be over $100k. I rather buy other. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear May 25, 2008 Share May 25, 2008 (edited) I think the AD is attempting digging its own grave ... in trying to market 'exclusivity' into a FIAT brand. Its like attempting to sell Pioneer home theater/audio at Bang & Olufsen or Mark Levinson prices Or Seiko watches at Rolex prices ... Double Let's see ..... for $100K or thereabouts, instead of a FIAT 500 Arbarth, one could get the: - Ford Focus ST (2.4L Turbo) - Mazda MX-5 Miata - Honda Civic TypeR - Volkswagen Golf GT. or - MINI Cooper All much revered models/marques IMHO and most in that list could easily outgun the 500 Arbarth. $100K for a girly-looking FIAT model? Come off it! Edited May 25, 2008 by W210k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear May 25, 2008 Share May 25, 2008 W210k, you damn well said everything i was trying to express. i guess i'm abit more diplomatic with my words that's why i failed to get my point across. sometimes, it helps to just say it the way it is. Anyway, that was what i was stressing. Fiat is no exclusive brand. Singapore is not some 3rd world country who knows little about cars. We're very much aware of how products are branded globally. Shucks, i'm getting diplomatic again... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nikolaiski69 Neutral Newbie May 25, 2008 Share May 25, 2008 (edited) hey it's a forum man...at least you don't have to be diplomatic like how we are, sometimes with "reviews" Edited May 25, 2008 by Nikolaiski69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowpoke156 Neutral Newbie May 25, 2008 Share May 25, 2008 That's not what I heard from TTS. Anyway, forget it, wife and I went to the Mini showroom over the weekend. At 90+k, the Mini has better residuals. Screw the Fiat 500. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear May 26, 2008 Share May 26, 2008 Well done! I think you have made the right choice for $90K. Made in UK, with BMW Valvetronic engine. Won't go far wrong with the MINI One Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count_dukulangsat Neutral Newbie May 31, 2008 Share May 31, 2008 Here's a Fiat 500 vs Mini One comparison video. Surprise, surprise.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Xf9GzZQEBs&feature=related Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nikolaiski Neutral Newbie June 1, 2008 Share June 1, 2008 surprise indeed...i've always considered the MINI unbeatable in the handling AND driving feel department I wanted to do the same thing..but I had trouble getting these cars to a track...haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear June 3, 2008 Share June 3, 2008 this is the Price list 1.2 Lounge Glass Roof (A) $79,900 1.2 Lounge Glass Roof (M) $76,900 1.4 Lounge Skydome (A) $89,900 1.4 Lounge Skydome (M) $85,900 niche car, niche market, niche price oso? i was getting quite excited about its arrival. cuz my wife wana change car... but see the price liao pui chao nuah... i was expecting it to be priced near to the panda. which is what the prices in europe are. really a load of BS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear June 3, 2008 Share June 3, 2008 not buying for ah pork meh?? prices are indeed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear June 3, 2008 Share June 3, 2008 to be fair to the mini, this is a higher spec 500 vs the lowest spec mini. maybe a fairer comparison would be the mini cooper which we all know will blow the 500 away. but its pricier. point is mini is a pricier car after all. anyway, just goes to show how weight kills handling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Punkeyboozter Neutral Newbie June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 some quick info on pricing from UK sites. Fiat 500- about 9000 pounds Mazda 2- 11000 pounds In SG, Mazda 2- $53000 Fiat 500- $76000 Anyone with a common sense can easily know which car has way better value. I have no doubts the 500 is unique. But pay what it is worth. I moved here from london recently and find car prices to be redic s lets say the car cost 11000 pounds that is equel to 33000 Sing dollar. Just t let you all know cars are taxed heavalily in london and the 11000 is a on the road price. ok back to the point. so there is COE to add to that lets say 15000 to be save. that gives you 48 000 sing dollar so where does all the rest of the money go?? dont tell me in shipping.. because even to ship a car from japan to London will cost more then to ship it to SG...or am i missing something here? btw fiat are rubbish cars and remind me of the alfa's of old.. they look nice but the QC is not there. my 0.02 cents Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 They're trying to use the same strategy as MINI. Both are iconic in the past. But both were cheap to buy in the past sad to say. Overprice cars in sg is everywhere. Like what u said rich women will buy them regardless of practicality or size. There are ppl here in this forum will brag about exclusivity owning such a car and not being branded as one of the commonly seen cars on our roads. There will be buyers, dun be surprised. Agreed, definately there will be buyers. Just look at the R1/R2 and the mit i. These 3 cars are horribly expensive for the size/performance you are getting, but yet, I see so quite a number of them on the road mostly driven by ladies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 Hey all, did another testdrive on my blog, this time its the 1.2L Manual Fiat 500 http://iwant2puke.blogspot.com/ hope you guys enjoy it! Once again, comments and advice will be appreciated! Thanks! Its a nice & cute version of the old. Good job by Ford. I personally, however, won't be taken in by the price. There are other better value, yet cuter cars... and oh... more reliable ones Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 well based on your pricing, then the mazda 2 is fractionally higher here in SG. but the fiat is way way higher. i've known some friends from abroad before and despite their way higher salaries than many locals, they don't even drive. i guess when we know abit more about the world, we'll know what to do with our money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 simi Ford ?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...