Rickster 5th Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 Dats right. I think the law should not be so biased. It is exactly because of this, that pedestrians in singpore give total sxxt to cars and juz walk slowly swaggering even though they r jaywalking or walking across a red-man pedestrian crossing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 These are the things we driver have to drive with unfortunately. Pertaining to this case, seems like there were a couple of witnesses not in favor with the victim. One glaring things that stand out, I read, was the victim was running diagonally across the road. The shortest distance between two points is a straight line. But one thing I do not know is, when the victim was running diagonally across the road, was he running towards the defendant's car or away. If running towards, then no matter how alert the defendant is, I guess we know the answer. Lesson learnt? As I have mentioned somewhere in this forum, no point even if you have the right of way - between a car and flesh - better give way first until you are certain the flesh have the right of way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 I not sure about the legality of this but I thought if a person chose to remain silent. then the court will see it in a negative light? why dig when u are in a hole? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yrvsport 2nd Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 Careful arh bro, she's the Assistant Commissioner of Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore So what is the big deal behind all this...Law have to follow Law my dear brothers no such thing as escape so have to put her behind bars and start digging her own grave Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 If you are an experienced driver or rider on the roads, you would have noticed by now that accidents where the pedrestrian 'intercepts' oncoming vehicle (even if the vehicle is just travelling at 20 km/hr), the driver or rider of the vehicle is 'totally' NOT at fault at all. You have decided to use a piece of news highlighting this particular case to draw forumers to a point of discussion of 'rich getting' away with almost anything. Take it that the courts have on many pervious occassion draw a 'nevertheless' the driver has to bear part of the fault type of decision, has for many years penalise totally innocent driver or riders needlessly....this should change. There were many public write ups on why the courts should NOT draw such conclusion given that my statement from my first Para already was a WELL known FACT! We shall see from now on after this case. But bear in mind, in many accidents, where a vehicle hits a pedestrain, there is a lack of evidence ( only the version of the driver at best) to help to uncover the truth behind the cause of the accident....many ppl who saw an accident, eithier are reluctant witnesses or only give conflicting versions! Bottomline is, no driver wants to hit any pedestrain. Both drivers and pedestrains have a part to play ,to help our roads to become safer for all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 My guess is the driver may not be totally at fault but it did because of the car hitting the victim resulted in the victim's death. It could be a truamatic experience for one who may have involved in a fatal accident. The driver keeping silent could also be 'why argue when someone is dead already?' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear June 4, 2008 Author Share June 4, 2008 My title is a question itself. I did not imply anything, just gathering views. I don't have the capability to sway thoughts, as I believe you guys are intelligent enough to make up your own views. For some unknown reasons, many humans like to Extrapolate innocent questions untill it sounds like defamatory/accusative in nature. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 Keeping silent is just a legal tactical strategy...not to allow one self to be incriminated by your own slip-ups... verbal or otherwise. Man laws never quite serve the benefit of mankind...given that man himself is free to draw whatever flak and/or opinions on what he/she thinks is so! We should 'move on' .....but humour aside...it is also not wise to pursue issues that give little comfort for all those who are involved...somethings are best left to memories...and hopefully ppl realise that commuting on the roads is a rather 'dangerous everyday affair' and nobody should be less cautious or less alert whenever they are using the roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 No offence meant...just to highlight the real truth to the issue...but I hope you are not going to put out loud that.....' I'm questioning your integrity' and you will pursue every bit of me even in cyber space and beyond! .... Then we'll have a Lee vs Pee issue or is it Lee versa some other ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 the diff is... usually, if a car hit a person on the road... the driver is usually at fault. no matter what happened... I still remember what happen few yrs back at Hougang Ave 3. a lady jaywalk and cross a 3 lane rd at Hougang Ave 3. The driver didnt see her, cos its block by the bus, by the time he saw her, she was only a few meters away... so, she was banged... flew to the bus and bang by the bus again...died on the spot... so?? the driver kena jialat jialat... cant remember wat sentence but at least driving license gone case... So?? is he at fault?? Not true. My relative's friend knock a child down many years ago... the child die. The driver just get a warning nia. The judgement is that the child is careless to dash towards the road (another word.. jaywalk). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 very rarely will one party be TOTALLY at fault.. yep, maybe like u said. anyway, i dun expect her to say anything lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 Bottomline is, no driver wants to hit any pedestrain. Both drivers and pedestrains have a part to play ,to help our roads to become safer for all. i wish it were the other way round as well. some pedestrianst seem to WANT to get hit esp at certain area at sera***** Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 And add cyclist to the list as well. The other day I saw one riding against the flow of traffic, almost slammed into a car that is about to turn left. Some idiots just have a death wish. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear June 4, 2008 Share June 4, 2008 sometimes i feel that TP shd really fine these buggers and media should publicise them as warning. stand by the busy street to crackdown on such pple, much better than standing on the sheltered overhead bridge with eyes glued to camera. to fine pple going few km/h above the limit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 remain silent after killing someone then you will be ok??? lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 (edited) I like your balance take on this. There is never a one size fit all scenario, especially we are not there. There is also Robin Hood mentality here, the tax collector(sheriff) is always bad, is tax collector here totally bad? In the real life, we tend to believe that it is not what you know but who you know that works on life....they might have the means but it is not always the case that they are right or wrong. Edited June 5, 2008 by Fortress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 (edited) These are the things we driver have to drive with unfortunately. Pertaining to this case, seems like there were a couple of witnesses not in favor with the victim. One glaring things that stand out, I read, was the victim was running diagonally across the road. The shortest distance between two points is a straight line. But one thing I do not know is, when the victim was running diagonally across the road, was he running towards the defendant's car or away. If running towards, then no matter how alert the defendant is, I guess we know the answer. Lesson learnt? As I have mentioned somewhere in this forum, no point even if you have the right of way - between a car and flesh - better give way first until you are certain the flesh have the right of way. yes no point but my point still the same, even if u r prepared but is yr wallet prepared to defend yrself to reduce yr liability to a lesser extent. how many can really afford? with the rules in favour of the pedestrians, it gave them a false sense of security which many a times i've seen it being exhibited here. we don't ask for too much, just saying that pedestrains shd be educated that they hv to play a part in their own safety. even amongst pedestrains they can bumped into each other due to misintepretations of body language. what more amongst drivers n pedestrains. Edited June 5, 2008 by Qpik Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 Just sharing my experience on knocking someone . That was really a long time ago, think 1998 or 1999. Was negotiating a sharp bend near Changi Village at 11+ pm, then out of no where came this Bangla dashing across the road. Jammed my brakes really hard, but still hit him. He was sent to hospital for broken ribs. And I got a warning letter. I felt that my upper hand was really the sharp bend, the visibility at night and also his jay-running actions. I would feel really aggrieved if I got fined or convicted becos of his actions. Really a huge scare in my life! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...