Josho 1st Gear June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 when i am in unit, i only know abt parachute.. i dunno abt weapons.. cheong sua.. etc etc... but i miss my BMT infantry pals.. guessed they all long forgotten me... Spartan (BMT Mono intake) now a Rigger ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 the camp got 1 ah gua there! Her name is jenny..... but her food stall sucks! not nice one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josho 1st Gear June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 I also blue beret leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tomcat Neutral Newbie June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 don't know about now...during my days, overseas training means good food...so no complain lah...anyway, that was the first time i fired a 155 live...nice training ground but also get to see how the poor there live...so end of the day, appreciate what we are having in singapore... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tomcat Neutral Newbie June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 eh, we blue for arty, u blue for clerk, is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 Don't bluff, bluff la, which TARGETS? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 But me not blue lei. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 There are many grouse that FT are taking over our safe country.That they benefit from our NS stint which provided a safe and clean island for them to enjoy and suck us dry and as a stepping stone to USA/Canada/etc. IF there was no NS and reservist for local males to waste 2 years of our life... The question is.... Will we rhen be more 'open arms' to accept the FT to be part of Singapore? My own answer would be, Yes I will accept all FT if there is no NS for me and my children. How about you? Whatever it is, a country need some form of defense. No matter what many has said, every army has to wayang so other countries can be deterred from taking advantage of us. It is just like not showing your base card when you play poker. I think for Singapore wise, we do have relatively good military capability and I believe it will be useful when the need arises. I believe also that for many who may curse and swear at NS, or saying it is a stupid show biz, when the calling come, they will too take up the arms without question. I think the 2.5 years does serves its purpose be it for the defense of Singapore or the moulding of a young man's character. I think i learnt a lot during my NS days and it made me appreciate my family a whole lot more. At the end of the day, it boils down to the attitude of an individual. NS is not by choice, so it is entirely up to you whether to take it as a waste of time, or an opportunity to make full use of the 2.5 years. It is sad to me if my whole life in this small piece of land is all about money chasing. I think being given a chance to join the military does add some colour to the already boring life we had. I look forward every year to my ICT. I also find it funny and contradicting how come some guys can be complaining about NS and yet like to 'boast' and talk about their NS days so much with enthusiasm never seen before elsewhere. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 chio chio thai loh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 yeah.. the standard of living there is very poor... was really an eye-opener for us all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 I, too miss the reservist training. Miss seeing my kakies, my team, new faces if posted to other units, IQ drop I donno la, but I have so much to do, I sometimes think I'm still on contract service. Yeah, but for every blur fark we have, the enemy has THREE!! love my unit too and the friends i made. love going back to reservist, although i think at some point in time, i will get fired from my job because of it. love the army songs, esp cho peng ziang kia si PTI....actually i love the semi wilderness of army camps, the back to nature feeling. no sure abt you guys, but when i wear back no. 4, everything changes, mood, priorities, behaviour, language; IQ instantly drop 50 points i think so looking forward to it. our army no good? as they say, for every blur f*ck we have, the enemy also have one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 TIGER la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gturismo Neutral Newbie June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 Ayiah, if you wanna pass, I can help you la, 8 weeks prior IPPT, I train you, confirm pass one la. All the fellows come into the gym looking for me, prior to IPPT, train like siao, pass one. My reserve training I had to pull up units who had very low percentage passes in field and Ippt, no problems. Can achieve if you set your mind to it. BTW, why forgo the money when you can get it, instead of doing RT and spend your OWN money and waste time also. PM me la, and I tell you how. Can teach me how to do it? I'm on the failing list too. Thank you so much Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 KNN, you kiam pak. eh, we blue for arty, u blue for clerk, is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 siao liow, become personal trainer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tomcat Neutral Newbie June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 clerk also do firing mah...at the keyboard... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 Dying from training is good actually......means training so realistic, people die. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 (edited) come think of it, for better or for worse, i think NS is indeed the identity for Singapore. No FT can truly share the bond NS guys form. And indeed, on the flip side, 2.5yrs is a lot of time and $ that could hv been better used. imagine if ur starting pay is 30K per annum and u hv a 2.5 yrs headstart. It can mean a lot. havent calculate the loss in earnings should u start earlier, promote earlier earn more money earlier and invest those earlier. i think of my foreign jc class mates, by the time i finish my NS, he almost done with 1st deg. by the time i grad from uni, he completed his master and commanding 8K Euros. Edited June 9, 2008 by Peqasus ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...