Sharks Fin  

98 members have voted

1. 1.

• I have decided not to eat/order sharks fin to do my part in saving them
    • I know they are dying out, but Hack the sharks, who cares? Just eat lah
    • I wont order, but if someone treating, i eat lor
    • I wont eat even if its free
    • Shark dying out meh?

Not all sharks are endangered lah. I used to rear nurse shark in my aquarium. Shark eggs are for sale legally in SG, u can find it at various marine fish farms. There is also the black tip and white tip reef shark who looks dangerous but are pretty harmless.

When I had my nurse shark, everyday I'll put my hands in the water and give it a pat on the back and touching its rough skin.

But sharks fin are too expensive for me to pay on my own. Will usually go for 2nd helpings at wedding dinners. [laugh]

anyone doing anything to the poor chicken? literally, millions are beheaded daily as well [smallcry]

but I like KFC [inlove]

U should go to UK. Jamie Oliver (Celebrity Chef) pushed for the welfare of chicken in UK. So now no more "battery chicken" in the supermarket, just free ranges ones. Meaning the chicken are allowed freedom to run around before they are grown fat enough to be eaten. [lipsrsealed]

Then again, with the rising price of everything, wonder who suffer more... Chicken or those who pay to eat them. [sweatdrop]

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

push for the welfare of chicken.. so anyone pushing for the welfare of human? [sly]

Hey fellow brudders,

Just watched a show 'SharkWater'. Really pity the sharks and I think we should really do something to help this species.

Pal, I share your sentiments; Our cravings for shark-fins are implanted by our society because ppl say it's nutritious, it taste good and it's highly priced. Often, I find fish maw taste as good too; But yet, my subconscious mind will tell me "shark fin is nutritious and a great delicacy" [shakehead] Gotta resist the temptation.. [smash]

The biggest b*st*rds on earth are human who will kill any animal for our own selfish fantasy. I won't order sharkfin if I make the call but will still eat it if others order lah [laugh]

Anyway, Asians are the last group of ppl you wanna talk animal/environmental protection. Once, I was at MacRitchie reservoir and saw some locals catching an injured monitor lizard; It was a caucasian who went up-front to stop them [thumbsup]

ya.. the caucasian was trying to bring it home to rear [laugh]

Actually the method used to make Foie Gras is very cruel. Wonder why this has not receive much attention compared to the hoo ha on consumption of shark fins

I salute people that don't eat shark fins.

And I can honestly say these are the people

I really enjoy sitting with at Wedding dinners.

Actually the method used to make Foie Gras is very cruel. Wonder why this has not receive much attention compared to the hoo ha on consumption of shark fins

because duck is not endangered?

Hey fellow brudders,

Just watched a show 'SharkWater'. Really pity the sharks and I think we should really do something to help this species.

Shark fins are tastless and has no nutritional value. I seriously think the killing is not justifiable at all. Furthermore, sharks killed only 5 people a year. As compared to 100 by tigers and elepants.

There are alot of misconceptions that sharks are dangerous. In actual fact, they are more afraid of us! Their teeth do not function to tear off body parts and like intelligent animals, they have long term and short term memory, learning that if they cannot fight against something, they wouldn't attack it.

So I strongly urge everyone to start boycotting shark fin products.

I love shark fin soup so much... till I watch the clip fees back. I never touch it ever since. Even my trying to coax me in. I just say no! :)

because duck is not endangered?

They purposely over fed the goose so much that it starts to develop an inflammed/enlarged liver which actually cause it to die a very painful, agonising and slow death. In some countries, they actually considered banning this dish. The French loves it.

Edited by Damienic

i love shark fin soup.

seriously, why would watching a documentary change your taste buds?

i mean, sharks are just animals...not as though they are your love ones..

one fine day ppl will be looking documentries on all animals and we have to start to be vegetarian... then comes documentry on greens.. jialiat leh [knife]

then eat ur avatar already, bo pian :wub:

i love shark fin soup.

seriously, why would watching a documentary change your taste buds?

i mean, sharks are just animals...not as though they are your love ones..

its either u eat them or they eat u :D