Sharks Fin  

98 members have voted

1. 1.

• I have decided not to eat/order sharks fin to do my part in saving them
    • I know they are dying out, but Hack the sharks, who cares? Just eat lah
    • I wont order, but if someone treating, i eat lor
    • I wont eat even if its free
    • Shark dying out meh?

Really? They just fin the sharks and "dump" the useful carcass into the depths of the ocean???

Or is that some bs being spun by some shark hugger?

A robber will chop off thosee fingers stuck w a gold ring but i dun think he will kidnap the victims to sell as slave...

Logistically, a challenge...

i guess its not priority cause its not endangered....

somemore angmo dua kee.... and they always hated asia stinky eating habits... innards and all that stuff

so we kena aim first

Some US state already ban foie gra

Really? They just fin the sharks and "dump" the useful carcass into the depths of the ocean???

Or is that some bs being spun by some shark hugger?

Yes really. The fins are in demand, not the rest of the shark. Why waste cargo space to carry the whole shark carcass when they only want the fins.

They cut the fins off and dump the sharks back into the water, often still alive. The sharks then "drown" because they can't swim to get oxygenated air through their gills.

Yes really. The fins are in demand, not the rest of the shark. Why waste cargo space to carry the whole shark carcass when they only want the fins.

They cut the fins off and dump the sharks back into the water, often still alive. The sharks then "drown" because they can't swim to get oxygenated air through their gills.

Just like how research into alien technology is being carried out in Area 51, Roswell is a regular landing-site for UFOs, sightings of the Loch Ness Monster (in High Definition, no less!) are authentic?

Ever thought that you might be buying a wee bit too much into the grossly exaggerated hysteria that is the hallmark of most activists out there? The literature is readily available out there. Do yourself a favour and peruse it. I heard that a new alien technology called "Google" is now making the rounds on the a similarly new technology called the "Internet". Might be of interest to you too. [rolleyes]

Just like how research into alien technology is being carried out in Area 51, Roswell is a regular landing-site for UFOs, sightings of the Loch Ness Monster (in High Definition, no less!) are authentic?

Ever thought that you might be buying a wee bit too much into the grossly exaggerated hysteria that is the hallmark of most activists out there? The literature is readily available out there. Do yourself a favour and peruse it. I heard that a new alien technology called "Google" is now making the rounds on the a similarly new technology called the "Internet". Might be of interest to you too. [rolleyes]

Finning is enough of an issue for a number of countries to ban it within their waters and disallow the import of fins without the associated carcass and/or only allow sharks to be landed if the fins are still attached. But i'm sure those governments are also buying a wee bit too much into the grossly exaggerated hysteria.

Google tell me one.

Finning is enough of an issue for a number of countries to ban it within their waters and disallow the import of fins without the associated carcass and/or only allow sharks to be landed if the fins are still attached. But i'm sure those governments are also buying a wee bit too much into the grossly exaggerated hysteria.

Google tell me one.

You obviously lack the intellect to grasp the nuances of a simple issue. Let me help you out with the basic steps:

1) Live finning exists. Much more so last time, much less so now due to legislation and sustainable fishing practices, as well as greater market demand for shark carcasses overall and vast improvements in modern fishing and food processing technology.

2) Finning today is not the mainstream practice, let alone a widespread practice. As with all legislation, there are bound to be grey areas and also illegal economic participants who do not abide by the rules. Unfortunately, hysterical activists love pouncing on certain select cases of unsustainable fishing and finning, exaggerating their frequency and their impact through social media, hoping to influence less-than-discerning people out there on the Internet looking for another tree-hugging cause to embrace and cry over.

3) When I said peruse the literature, I actually meant to peruse it with your mind, not just your eyes.

4) Cannibalism used to be an issue in ancient days. Today it is banned and outlawed in most if not all countries. It still take places in the rural reaches of the world where legislation has no power or hold. Therefore going by your logic, because the legislation that outlaws it exists, and it used to happen, therefore it is still a mainstream practice today?

[rolleyes]

Screw the freaking conservationists and continue eating. I love sharks fin soup.

We Chinese don't waste a kill. The freaking ang mohs eat only the fillet from the catch. We use the deep fry the bones and eat them whole. The head can be used for curry. Oh I'm referring to fish if you don't know :D

Screw the freaking conservationists and continue eating. I love sharks fin soup.

We Chinese don't waste a kill. The freaking ang mohs eat only the fillet from the catch. We use the deep fry the bones and eat them whole. The head can be used for curry. Oh I'm referring to fish if you don't know :D

You missing the point bro, the taste of Shark fin soup does not come from the shark fin. You can cook the soup without it, & it still taste the same.

to save earth, reduce greenhouse gases.

to do it, reduce the number of cattle farms. stop eating beef. al gore advocates that too.

if the western world can do that, i am willing to stop eating beef, lamb, pork, chicken & sharkfin and turn vegetarian.

You obviously lack the intellect to grasp the nuances of a simple issue. Let me help you out with the basic steps:

1) Live finning exists. Much more so last time, much less so now due to legislation and sustainable fishing practices, as well as greater market demand for shark carcasses overall and vast improvements in modern fishing and food processing technology.

2) Finning today is not the mainstream practice, let alone a widespread practice. As with all legislation, there are bound to be grey areas and also illegal economic participants who do not abide by the rules. Unfortunately, hysterical activists love pouncing on certain select cases of unsustainable fishing and finning, exaggerating their frequency and their impact through social media, hoping to influence less-than-discerning people out there on the Internet looking for another tree-hugging cause to embrace and cry over.

3) When I said peruse the literature, I actually meant to peruse it with your mind, not just your eyes.

4) Cannibalism used to be an issue in ancient days. Today it is banned and outlawed in most if not all countries. It still take places in the rural reaches of the world where legislation has no power or hold. Therefore going by your logic, because the legislation that outlaws it exists, and it used to happen, therefore it is still a mainstream practice today?

[rolleyes]

Oh so now live finning exists? I thought it was in the realm of aliens, UFOs and Nessie.

There are no concrete figures on live finning, although the good and/or bad news is that shark catch figures overall have dipped since the mid-00s. The might be due to legislation or might just be a sign that numbers are dwindling. Demand for fins continues unabated in Hong Kong and China and i won't be suprised if demand has actually increased with the rising affluence in China. Yes, i do know that a large portion of fins to China/HKG come from Europe where there is legislation in place to discourage live finning, but our region is also a supplier (with our lovely tropical waters and the coral triangle) and consumer of fins. Sustainable and responsible fishing is not really the in-thing with the local fishermen around the region (also see dynamite and cyanide fishing), but it's hard to blame them when the demand is there. There are dive areas where sharks have not returned after being overfished, despite the areas being converted to protected marine parks (the hammerheads at Bunaken come to mind).

Yes, live finning exists. No, we do not have concrete figures on live finning and i doubt the fisheries that practice live finning would be willing to share numbers. Yes, i'm willing to do my small part in hopefully cutting down on the practice further, along with many, many other people in this world (who are all ignorant idiots who have been blinded hysterical activists and social media according to you). This goes along with the broader concept of educating local communities on sustainable fishing practices and environmental conservation in general. Just because live finning is now not as common a practice as it once was (according to you), does not mean we can all just ignore it now. To me it's like the whole dolphin/tuna thing in the 80s/90s which lead suppliers to actually make the effort to provide "dolphin safe" tuna. Perhaps one day we'll have sharks fin being provided as "responsibly fished, not live finned". Personally i feel that it might already be too late but i'll do my little bit anyway.

Perhaps you have a personal interest in the shark fin trade, maybe you're a marine biologist/researcher who knows the real deal or maybe you just REALLY love sharks fin. But trying to make your point in a derogatory manner doesn't really help to get it across. Maybe you're one of those people who prefers to belittle others that you feel are your intellectual inferiors. Whatever the case is, i have my point of view and you have yours and it looks like we're not going to change each others' minds. The only difference is that i'm not going to call you names for believing what you do.

Edited by Myxilplix

And what would happen if all the sharks were wiped out?

Does it mean they will eat less fish and there will be more

fish for us? If there were no predators what it eats will grow

out of control. More fish?

And what would happen if all the sharks were wiped out?

Does it mean they will eat less fish and there will be more

fish for us? If there were no predators what it eats will grow

out of control. More fish?

Eventually less fish i'd imagine as the 2nd tier predators/other shark prey population grow and wipes out species (smaller fish/shellfish/crustaceans/vegation) further down the line. Ecosystems rely on balance and removing one factor or the other will have an impact. I don't think there is much data on the actual observed effects yet, although i remember reading about one area in the states where the local sharks were wiped out, leading to an expansion of the ray population and their behavior, which in turn killed off the local scallop fisheries and industry.

I agree. I think shark meat also quite nice. But got to get rid of the smell.

My mum used to cook with "dao jio" (soy paste sauce) and salted veg. Very nice with rice.

The meat also very firm, like chicken.

Eventually less fish i'd imagine as the 2nd tier predators/other shark prey population grow and wipes out species (smaller fish/shellfish/crustaceans/vegation) further down the line. Ecosystems rely on balance and removing one factor or the other will have an impact. I don't think there is much data on the actual observed effects yet, although i remember reading about one area in the states where the local sharks were wiped out, leading to an expansion of the ray population and their behavior, which in turn killed off the local scallop fisheries and industry.

I wish I was there, I would have helped with the ray problem

to save the poor scallop.

I love bbq ray on banana leaf with sambal.

I heard USA has a snake head infestation, they just need some

chinese people there, they would wipe them out with fish head bee hoon.

I wish I was there, I would have helped with the ray problem

to save the poor scallop.

I love bbq ray on banana leaf with sambal.

I heard USA has a snake head infestation, they just need some

chinese people there, they would wipe them out with fish head bee hoon.

Ang Mo don't eat head, let alone the fish eyes...very wasteful. :angry:

Why most angmo don't eat offal, relative to the Chinese, becoz rich, wasteful or just lazy? maybe there are cultural reasons. Just wondering...