Sharks Fin  

98 members have voted

1. 1.

• I have decided not to eat/order sharks fin to do my part in saving them
    • I know they are dying out, but Hack the sharks, who cares? Just eat lah
    • I wont order, but if someone treating, i eat lor
    • I wont eat even if its free
    • Shark dying out meh?

I don't support because they are only cutting the fins, then leave the fish to die in a terrible way. If they were to at least kill the shark, cut off its fins, then use the rest of its body for other things, I'm still ok with it.

However, during wedding dinners, my point is that the shark is already dead. If you refuse to eat it, then the shark died for nothing. Refusing to eat it doesn't change anything. Refusing to serve it in your own wedding should be the way.

Thanks, didn't think of that place.

Yesterday we went to NTUC but can't find any.

Will go to buy some and also crap meat for our soup.

On CNY eve, this soup dish is a must along with chicken and roast duck and big prawns and vegetables and mushrooms and Tong Poh meat :wub:

Not forgetting Yusheng too :D

I didn't know what is Foie Gras until I did a Google search and found this info:

To produce "foie gras" (which literally means "fatty liver"), workers ram pipes down male ducks' or geese's throats two or three times daily and pump as much as 4 pounds of grain and fat into the animals' stomachs, causing their livers to bloat to up to 10 times their normal size. Many birds have difficulty standing because of their engorged livers, and they may tear out their own feathers and cannibalize each other out of stress.

The birds are kept in tiny wire cages or packed into sheds. On some farms, a single worker may be expected to force-feed 500 birds three times each day. Because of this rush, animals are often treated roughly and left injured and suffering.

They purposely over fed the goose so much that it starts to develop an inflammed/enlarged liver which actually cause it to die a very painful, agonising and slow death. In some countries, they actually considered banning this dish. The French loves it.

i guess its not priority cause its not endangered....

somemore angmo dua kee.... and they always hated asia stinky eating habits... innards and all that stuff

so we kena aim first

I didn't know what is Foie Gras until I did a Google search and found this info:

To produce "foie gras" (which literally means "fatty liver"), workers ram pipes down male ducks' or geese's throats two or three times daily and pump as much as 4 pounds of grain and fat into the animals' stomachs, causing their livers to bloat to up to 10 times their normal size. Many birds have difficulty standing because of their engorged livers, and they may tear out their own feathers and cannibalize each other out of stress.

The birds are kept in tiny wire cages or packed into sheds. On some farms, a single worker may be expected to force-feed 500 birds three times each day. Because of this rush, animals are often treated roughly and left injured and suffering.

nbz..... this is wat i call 缺德.... [knife][knife]

actually, sharks fin still not that bad.

whaling is worst.

i had a talk with a japanese colleague of mine on whaling and he said that yes, whales are "harvested".

the difference that he pointed out compared to sharks fin was that, the whole whale is eaten or used for other stuff, not just the fin for sharks fin soup.

how true is this, i'm not sure but i've have tried whale sashimi once.

I don't support because they are only cutting the fins, then leave the fish to die in a terrible way. If they were to at least kill the shark, cut off its fins, then use the rest of its body for other things, I'm still ok with it.

However, during wedding dinners, my point is that the shark is already dead. If you refuse to eat it, then the shark died for nothing. Refusing to eat it doesn't change anything. Refusing to serve it in your own wedding should be the way.

domesticating sharks is the only way left...

at least wild sharks wont get endangered

Please ban beef and lamb too because they are very tame and adorable animals.

I visited a farm and patted some cows and sheep on their head when they eat grass out of my hand, very tame and trusting to us humans, so why kills them for food, extremely cruel [bigcry]

Edited by Nemo6089

Humanity is the worst species on Earth, by a landslide. Unforunately I have no intension to kill myself, but truth be told, we need to improve vastly, if not for ourselves, but our next generation.

On shark fin, I think the 3 main problems are how little the fins contribute to the taste of actual shark fin soup, shark are facing extination, & the way to havest shark is cruel.

If you eat chicken, ast least the chicken provide the nutrient & actually contribute to the taste. I am not trying to be environmentaist, but its just points that is hard to argue against.

Really? They just fin the sharks and "dump" the useful carcass into the depths of the ocean???

Or is that some bs being spun by some shark hugger?