Schneider79 Clutched July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 If you look at the money side... of course it's good. But if you look on the social side... it's not safe to go out at night... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 Ok, this is what I found...... VAT Sweden Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 aiya... human is like that one lah. For those of us who spent some time living overseas will know what is high tax high standard of living. Cheapest hair cut 12 Euros Take bus one/two stop cost 60 pence = $1.80 Bus frequency 30 minutes Cheapest takeaway = Fish & Chips = 2 pound = $6 Car insurance for Peugeot 406 = 1,500 pound (third party only) = $4,500 for fire and theft depends on area you stay. Change sports rim premium add another 100 pound add spoiler add another 100 pound no such thing as food court or coffee shop. Cheapest coffee 2 pound = $6 and taste like water And worst... if you are yellow skin, it means you are stupid same job, ang mo makes $5000, asian will be given only $3,500 Then all your ang mo colleagues keep arrowing you their work It is ok for them to go drink beer at 4 pm but if you do that you are termed lazy . And after 10 years working, the top job always go to Ang mo... you just keep working as senior executive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 (edited) Shhhhhhh..... paint a nice picture please...... CS,... if the mod does a ping on my IP, he will find that it is coming from stockholm.... Edited July 18, 2008 by KapitanE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 either that (at the bottom of foodchain), or someone who lives a very frugal lifestyle, like some keleng FT.. eat loh dee/own make prata, sleep in shared quarters, cycle to work and saved money all send back to india. as i said, quality of life will be bad.. and not many of us can tahan that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 Well, why dun you go along too????? I had loads of opportunities to leave, but no .. something held me back.... 17 USD per hour... hmm... I was paid AUD 100 plus for two hours work once... end of day I got 50 bucks... why... it went to taxes... did you sister's friend tell you about her sorrows??? U are only looking at the good things... go and experience it yourself and if it good, come and tell us, but please do also tell us about the problems..... Dun just listen to the good things.... I am not sure what are the sorrows or any good things. All I know is that many of my friends went to US, Europe and Aussie and they didn't want to come back. Recently another one went to Bangkok and now his home in Singapore is his 2nd home. I think that's the best testimony already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 eh.. u got it wrong. before the go back india or china, smash or chop off little finger, then say site accident, lie down horsepeter for 2 week ROD mood, claim another several thousand $$$ extra to go back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Songsong 1st Gear July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 Wrong, Singapore is one of the best place to live. Every time i read the forum people complain this n that. 1) european, us, australia good - :---- I did my studies in manchester, it was 7 years back, in those times i was robbed 2 twice. Our hostel was broken into once. Not to mention countless of times the white people made racial remarks. Was at italy i was surrounded by soccer hooligans. That year roma won seria A. Cars windows were smashed, shops too. You go to paris n the blacks there asked u for $$$$. You go to shops, the ang mo shopkeeper give u one kind of look. Lan jiao i come here to spend $$$ leh. Shops close at 5++, shops too far away, everyday stay at homen cook watch telly. don't know how to cook then u pay $15-25 eat at their inn or restaurant. Go to china town cannot find laksa, mee robus, char kueh tiao ......... many more....... n more. In Singapore i walk 5 mins got kopi shop got hawker centre. $ 5 dollar enough liao. Over there midnite u want to eat how? Order take away lor everyday masala chicken or fish n chips only lor. See u go crazy or not. Huhhh go out got to wrap yourself like a F@#$ing dumpling. one layer not enough 2, two not enough 3. and in the winter go out also sian... Wind blows piercing swords at you face n lips. Then ur lips crack, got to put lip gloss like char boh. Some times lip gloss not enough lips still crack. Who say Singapore not good! i going for my chicken rice n steamboat dinner now. To be continu..... try finding that in ur european nirvana! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 Can't blame her. I came home everyday just to spend a couple of hours with my newborn son before and go work again the next morning. When my wife gave birth, I was supposed to go for a whole month's leave (Long told my boss and approved) but I was asked to go back work in the first week liaoz. 2nd week my boss told me he has to cancel my leave. Now I just heard that his wife has given birth and no one has seen him in a while. Knn! Wah!! So chun ah .... He needs you to be back so that he can disappear mah ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 aiya... human is like that one lah. For those of us who spent some time living overseas will know what is high tax high standard of living. Cheapest hair cut 12 Euros Take bus one/two stop cost 60 pence = $1.80 Bus frequency 30 minutes Cheapest takeaway = Fish & Chips = 2 pound = $6 Car insurance for Peugeot 406 = 1,500 pound (third party only) = $4,500 for fire and theft depends on area you stay. Change sports rim premium add another 100 pound add spoiler add another 100 pound no such thing as food court or coffee shop. Cheapest coffee 2 pound = $6 and taste like water And worst... if you are yellow skin, it means you are stupid same job, ang mo makes $5000, asian will be given only $3,500 Then all your ang mo colleagues keep arrowing you their work It is ok for them to go drink beer at 4 pm but if you do that you are termed lazy . And after 10 years working, the top job always go to Ang mo... you just keep working as senior executive There is no perfect place to live in ... Only what we can accept and live with. For me ... bo bian liao ... stuck in S'pore liao. So have to learn to live with whatever liao lor .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 Good for you, then Singapore is the best place for you liao. Stay here and vote for PAP, more good years ahead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angdao Neutral Newbie July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 I wonder how many local guys marry angmoh girls and move overseas. I guess move of this nature is females' prerogative. Very hard for it to materialise for us local guys. Gee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Songsong 1st Gear July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 Sori hor as far as i know the last GE i tick the opp without blinking an eyelid. i never vote for PAP. I just think that PAP must oneday split internally into two strong political party. But i really think this is a very fine place to stay n bring up our kids. If we dont put pressure in our kids. then what we have left? Other countries sell barrels of oil, we sell what to the world? sewage drinking water? one barrel how much? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 When I was very young, I saw a tape recorder with the name National. Whoa! I thought Singapore so good, own tape recorder. Then when I grow up I was working for National, its a Japanese household name. You are right, Singapore is a import country. Almost everything we need is import, even the domestic helper. What do we have to back the SIN$? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 I also used to think Singapore is a good place to stay and bring up kids but all that view has changed after having 2 kids myself. I realize that unless i leave behind millions for my kids or they themselves super smart can enter RI or ACS and become ELITE themselves. Life will be very tough indeed for the avg Joe as there's no place for the avg or mediocre in our country. sign... the Singapore dream is only just a dream. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Songsong 1st Gear July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 (edited) correct loh. What we have, nothing leh. Sometimes the govern make some stupid decision, but most of the times they made good ones. (the recent ERP thingy is the stupiest one they make in this difficult period) Althought we live in HDB tin cans, you can rent ur HDB tin can out to "foreign talents" leh. YOU all think without these "talents" i can rent my 5 rm punggol flat for $2300/mth? my returns 12% pa. In my grandma n mother times, these women n men worked so hard never complain much. CAn give birth to 10 over children, no maid sometimes apple must share. 12 people cram into a small kallang airpot unit. Some sleep in the living rm some outside along the corridor. Nowadays couple have kids must have maid. no maid no kids, no govern subsidy no kids. mother time not everybody drive car, most plp take public transport. now everyone wants one. Singapore so small, got nothing, even want to catch rain water the area also small. hey people we r small, just live with it. we cant make the land bigger already, but we can improve ourself n our next generation. If oneday we stop doing that, then it will be our own girls becoming agogo girls instead of our neighbours. huh.. they can grow rice leh now rice so ex good for them. we sell what? Sell our sperm also dunno anybody wants. All i hope for oneday is internal split of PAP, Then u can see wah kan seng f&^% little lee in partyment. back to the SPG N the red hair. lets talk about something very interesting for us guys THERE IS NO WHERE ON EARTH like GEYLANG. Pride of SG and it is legal. You want to eat what cuisine also have. Viet, Chinese, Thai, russian. Entre starts at $30 bucks. In the middle of the nite lets say at 4am u are hungry u still can find nice dishes around. Go europe lor either ur wife cook for u or u go cook urself. KTV Where got KTV?????? Go for lap dance see cant touch. Go for house massage they see u yellow banana no up. TBC Edited July 18, 2008 by Songsong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 There is always twosides to a coin. The grass is greener on the other side, or appears to be.... Singapore has one of the lowest tax rate for personal income, ..... Don't know about that... surely those people who migrated have done their sums well. If it's really more taxes they're paying overseas - surely they would not have migrated at all. These people are not stupid to just migrate without considering and comparing cost of living. Please don't be fooled by the govt saying our income tax is low - we end up paying a lot of indirect taxes here and there, e.g. ERP, petrol, HDB flat, car, etc. I find that despite the so-called "low" income tax in singapore, it's quite tough to save money here - evidence that all these indirect taxes are burning a hole in the pocket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Songsong 1st Gear July 18, 2008 Share July 18, 2008 (edited) i agree with u that life is difficult here, everyday kana push, very stressful but then same goes every where else. however this is where my friends and family r. i have no doubt that anyone of us will have that ability to adapt to any first world country. u put me anywhere i can survive one. but whenever i fly over Singapore i know i had come home. whenever i touched down, driving along ECP see the familar flower n trees i am also glad i am home, to the place i grow up in. One very annoying thing is that, our governmetn like to give out citizenship to useless "foreign talents" especially sports person. For 3 generation my grandpa slog, my mum slog, i slog then u anyhow give citizenship to these sportsman n women who cant perform. my heart pain. my family got to slog for 3 generations, they throw pink ics like credit cards. Edited July 18, 2008 by Songsong ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...