Car Insurance nowadays... tsk tsk tsk...

Liquidh

1. $563

2. 20% NCD

3. 30+

4. Lancer 1.6L (OPC)

5. Lonpac

6. Compren

Itchy finger go change car, so now.......

1. $1200

2. 20% NCD

3. 30+

4. Hyundai Sonata 2.4L (Normal Plate)

5. NTUC

6. Compren

Like to check with insurance gurus here. I'll be renewing my road tax/insurance as it is expiring today for my 1 yr old car. Managed to get a few quotes from a few co. Lonpac which used to be the cheapest has increase their minimum premium from around $500 to $750 b4 GST now since 1st July, this means those who had locked in the old premium on 30th June were paying the $535 rate quote which is valid for a month.

But with premium going up, I managed to get a competitive quote of $730 with 50% NCD+protector. I was thinking whether should I save on the option "Insuring COE/PARF" saving another 5% premium. The difference being:-

If one insured COE/PARF and if the car is totaled, the insurance co. will issue a final cheque to the insured. Whereas if one does not insured the PARF/COE, insurance co will issue a cheque minus the PARF/COE residual rebate, and the owner has to go LTA to do the necessary admin paperwork to claim back the residual value. Previously PARF/COE rebate need to be traded to the car dealers for some % off, but with LTA going to rebate the PARF/COE in cash from 1st Sep onwards, is it necessary to insure PARF/COE? Will you guys continue to insure the PARF/COE to save on the potential administration overhead?

Edited by Amazon777

I don't understand

how come some bros here can get $500+ premium with only 10-20% NCD for compre?

to me that's ultra cheap

is it the difference in coverage?

Duno lei. My first 2 renewal is done via Guyer one.

hmmm...lets see.

My OPC lancer started VIRGIN with AIG. Prem = $1,500++

First renewal(10% NCD) done via Indian Insurance = $800++

2nd renewal(20%) done via Lonpac = $563/-

Now currently with the Sonata is under Aunnty Lucy = $1200. Reasonable rah. Its a 2.4ltr car afterall.

Overall, the car insurance have been acceptable to me. I dont find it excessively expensive at any one time. [:)]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

HHH,

the new sonata is out in taxis

they'r conspicuous everywhere.

But hor, i still think your grille nicer. the new one look very korean leh. so many pseudo chrome linings.

Ya i saw quite a few facelift taxis on the road liao.

i find the front grill a bit BENG too. chrome and shinny one.... [shakehead]

But the interior got wholesale changes lei. Looks good. [nod]

And it comes with the 2.0ltr version only lei. Duno enough power for this size and weight of car bor. Test drive units coming into komoco next month. Will test drive it then see how. [nod][:)]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

It will be prudent to insure with COE/PARF to obtain the full indemnity. Furthermore, the 5% discount is quite insignifacant to justify the option to opt out the COE/PARF.

1st insurance bought together with new sunny at tan chong,no NCB, $1.2k (knn..i feel kena con but agent dun allow me source for my own insurance) [rifle][furious]

2nd renewal,I did not renew with tan chong, $700+ renew on my own at ntuc.10% ncb

3rd renewal, Lonpac $600+. 20% ncb

4th renewal(recent), ntuc $702 (30% ncb).cheapest I can find.

Im 31 tis year, insurance all comprehensive.

hi,for 3rd party fire n theft only,must the loan be fully paid up before the ins companies accept u?? ur premium is very attractive...

I don't think so, but the consideration should be more on your risk appetite.

As a general guideline, if one need to top up cash to sell his car, 3rd Party is not for him.