Driver say HV valets r bullies, u agree?

Apollo

Driver say HV valets r bullies, u agree?  

51 members have voted

1. 1.

• Yes.. good riddance they r gone!
    • Yes.. but there r bigger bullies ard.
    • Dunno... neber been there/ use their service.
    • No... they just making a living.
    • No.. heresay only wat.

Home > ST Forum > Online Story

Holland V. valets' bullying tactics

I REFER to reports on Tuesday and Wednesday, 'Holland V. valets to close' and 'Holland V. valets not leaving'.

Coincidentally, I had my first unpleasant encounter with the Holland Village valets last Saturday afternoon and strongly advocate stopping their operations for several reasons.

First, these valets engage in bullying tactics which penalise drivers who do not use their services. I was repeatedly prevented from using newly vacated parking lots by valets who blocked and rushed into these lots without concern for vehicle safety. When I finally found a lot after a 45-minute wait, a valet honked at me incessantly as I reversed into the lot, supposedly to intimidate me into giving it up.

Second, these valets do not operate in accordance with parking regulations. Valets carry a stack of parking coupons, using them on multiple cars as they enter and vacate the lots with a time period. Furthermore, I observed that a parking attendant did not issue a summons for an expired coupon, but merely notified the valet to replace it.

Lastly, HDB carparks should by right be open to all paying members of the public without discrimination. I deem it unfair that an additional $8 paid to a valet should give a driver priority to a HDB parking lot I pay the same amount to use.

Yvette Chee (Miss)

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Onl...ory_277839.html

Edited by Apollo

Valet operators did a good job IT IS disappointing and discouraging to read that the HDB has asked the Holland Village valet operators to close shop.

Sakthya Services is doing a great job and providing good services. Who would have bothered to take such an initiative in 2001 to make both customers and shop owners happy? Even DBS Bank supports Sakthya.

When a business is performing well, barriers are put on private operations. If a permit is needed to allow valet operators to improve their services, help them. Why stifle the entrepreneurial spirit? Don't break their spirits. They have put in a lot of time and energy.

Singapore needs more small-time business entrepreneurs. We should be happy for them that, with these small businesses, they are making money to provide for their family needs. There are more small-time business entrepreneurs in any Chinese City than there are in Singapore.

Marcus Lee

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Onl...ory_277865.html

i'm not so rich, so i always park at MSCP behind HV there..

dunno why pple rather "fight" for parking, even if no valets there will be a huge mess during peak hours.

of course, off peak i will park at HV directly, but usually at the double storey car park and no valets for me pls.

they did what, by banning the valet service.

or do u mean that higher authority have to step in to resolve the 'issue' which hdb caused when they clamp down on the valet? [:p]

actually, if the valet service pple never pay hdb any rent, this was bound to happen. can do biz for few years consider damn lucky liao

Actually, I encountered those valet pple at HV while looking for a parking lot just last week. No problem with them at all. In fact, they r rather friendly & professional imho. But when i know that the price is freaking $8....i was [furious] So i went and waited for another lot nearby. Nobody harrassed me or anything.

I guess its becos the ST artcle contributor is a female thats y she kena "bullied" [laugh]

Except this isn't a free enterprise. The carpark belongs to someone else and not the valets.

How would you like it if someone went to your house and charged you $2 to enter?

Parking lots should be allocated on a first come first serve basis. The valets should not be allowed to skip the "queue" by reserving the lots.

Marcus is clearly right when he says the valets make customers happy. The problem is this: the bulk of us are not customers and we shouldn't have to be customers to enjoy what is essentially a public good.

talking about valet parking, since when did singapore flyer started valet parking and when did they start with a flat $5 parking fee instead of time based using iu? got a shock last sat when i was there. they losing money so try to squeeze drivers instead?

Actually, I encountered those valet pple at HV while looking for a parking lot just last week. No problem with them at all. In fact, they r rather friendly & professional imho. But when i know that the price is freaking $8....i was [furious] So i went and waited for another lot nearby. Nobody harrassed me or anything.

I guess its becos the ST artcle contributor is a female thats y she kena "bullied" [laugh]

single ladies surely kena bullied lah. I parked at H next to those valet and those chaps dont even bother to talk to me. No one bullies me in Singapore. Thanks to PAP.

They are very aggressive. There were several occasions where they try to fight a parking lot with me whilst I was waiting for a car infront of me to move off.

Valet operators did a good job IT IS disappointing and discouraging to read that the HDB has asked the Holland Village valet operators to close shop.

Sakthya Services is doing a great job and providing good services. Who would have bothered to take such an initiative in 2001 to make both customers and shop owners happy? Even DBS Bank supports Sakthya.

When a business is performing well, barriers are put on private operations. If a permit is needed to allow valet operators to improve their services, help them. Why stifle the entrepreneurial spirit? Don't break their spirits. They have put in a lot of time and energy.

Singapore needs more small-time business entrepreneurs. We should be happy for them that, with these small businesses, they are making money to provide for their family needs. There are more small-time business entrepreneurs in any Chinese City than there are in Singapore.

Marcus Lee

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Onl...ory_277865.html

wait till these valet service invaded into Marcus Lee's HDB lots, then he will understand why people complaint... but on the other hand, maybe marcus LEE stay in own private home and can afford those extra $8 bucks hor, thats why he cannot understand why a public parking lots are for the public .... [:p]

Public lots are meant for public use. These are not meant for personal enterprise to make money out of them.