DarkLord 1st Gear September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 I'll be very happy liao if can maintain avg 70kph during peak hour. You can cover the the entire tunnel in slightly over 10 min. This 1st week will be indicative on how well the it will handle rush hr traffic, especially the KPE-ECP merge toward Shears bridge and the opposite way during evening peak time. My worst case senerio is increased bottle neck at Sheares bridge while CTE remains just as heavily utilized. Today, there's a massive jam liaoz.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 Yup it saved time and money for me too.. used to be $6.50 on CTE now I just pay 1 gantry at entry to ECP... hope it stays this way Well.. The bad news is.. There's 16 gantries along KPE.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 I tried KPE to work today. From TPE to ECP, one end to the other. Traffic not bad but can't help and realised that all cars kind of slow and abit of cartoon like crawling I noticed that the stretch of Lorong Halus between TPE and the tunnel of KPE seems to be farther than I expected. May I know the speed limit of this stretch? I was doing 90km/hr and cars around my car appeared to be same speed. Perhaps most motorists speed at that stretch because it looks exactly like an expressway and also, they come from TPE. Now I am worried.. Who knows I may get a summons ticket anything outside tunnel is 80km/h Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 (edited) I've been driving along KPE ever since the ECP-PIE stretch opened. Actually the speed limit is not hard-wired to 70 km/h ... if you get what I mean. to be honest.. feel like going 80kmh.. but not sure where are the cameras hidden, can see the blue sign "Speed Camera Ahead" though.. actually the speed cam are located just after all these speed cam warning signs Edited September 22, 2008 by Dafansu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 Yes so u all shld know what to do when u see the speedcam sign and what u shld do after u pass the speedcam sign Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 70km/h is real slow but if the traffic is smooth, you can reach from one end to the other in 10 minutes. tested the road today, not bad except it very bumpy. Ya...ya...ya..... your CNG is cheap and can test the whole stretch of KPE hor..... not really that cheap lar but i can afford to test to and fro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paperboat Neutral Newbie September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 Agree that the website is a disappointment.From TPE, there is another exit to KPE - exit to Lor Halus and keep right. hi bros... assuming i am traveling from yishun to east coast park, does it make sense to enter KPE at Lor Halus and then exit at a ECP exit towards airport direction? thanks for the kind advice :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coburn 1st Gear September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 yes there are 16 gantries.. but logically most (if not all) are at entrance / exit of KPE? so no single driver will need to be hit 16 times Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
N00b 4th Gear September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 i think going cte up pie den kpe wld b shorter. anybody any comments? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 no sense cause kpe is from northeast towards city area which means slanting towards the center part of singapore. unless u wanna avoid erp or peak hours traffic then i would say it's worth it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 at most hit two times if i'm not wrong, every entry will have one and there's two additional, one at ecp exit and pie exit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zenscape Neutral Newbie September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 (edited) Hi Noob, where are you coming from and going to and at what time? CTE along AMK exits sure jam until PIE exit and ERP is a killer on CTE.. PIE also jam in the morning. I think worst off at the end of the day if you are going from CTE to PIE and then KPE. Edited September 22, 2008 by Zenscape Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 Totally agree. Took that way for fun yesterday, almost went nuts at 70kmh I think I'll stick to the ECP ya man.. set cruise control at 70kmh from tpe all the way to ecp.. almost dozed off (well, a bit exaggerating lah) anyway, looking at the bright side.. smooth traffic with near zero opportunity to hit the brakes, and rpm maintained below 2000, my fc actually improved from 14l/100km to 10.5l/100km... (i usually travel to shenton area from sengkang via upper serangoon.. jam throughout during peak) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 so how any improvement to CTE??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanlee 1st Gear September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 today CTE, very smooth, manage to drive at average of 70-80km/h at 8.45AM... and today is monday... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanlee 1st Gear September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 (edited) normally ave 5 exit will jam... today at 8.45am, no jam at exit... Edited September 22, 2008 by Tanlee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 Yeah..but seriously, its too slow to be safe, i mean what kind of allowance is there for overtaking if one needs to? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged September 22, 2008 Share September 22, 2008 boh pian loh... overtaking will take a longer time to complete.. unless u know exactly where those cameras are.. complete the manuvoure before reaching the next camera ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...