Shull Turbocharged November 2, 2008 Share November 2, 2008 Hi bros/sis..my 24mth Singtel contract ending in Dec.. now i'm thinking of switching(along with my gf) to M1 because they provide free calls to 3 M1 lines..since 70% of our outgoing calls are to each other, it makes sense to make use of this M1 promo.. but the thing is, i've heard horror stories of M1 overcharging..or charging when the user is overseas for 1mth+ and totally didn't use the line at all.. Also, as i travelled to M'sia often, i would like to know whether M1 has roaming without the need to pay additional $10 extra for autoroam.. Calling from M'sia is not a problem as i have a maxis line..i just need to receive sms/calls while in M'sia.. So i would like to gather feedbacks from m1 users..esp those relating to billing, cust service and signal quality.. Thanks in advance ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanchelsk 2nd Gear November 2, 2008 Share November 2, 2008 bro i have been wif M1 for 10yrs 6mths.. n is waitin for contract to end tis dec 08.. n goin over to singtel.. cos corporate rate la.. rating for M1.. signal quality: 9.5/10 i travel around asia pacfici n europe.. their roaming partner is vodaphone... good... cost of bills: 3/10 veri expensive autoroam charges, plus monthly $10 autoroam charges, no free MMS for ultimate plan, no roll over of unused talktime... cust svc: 8/10 cost of handsets: 4/10 veri expensive handsets... ur malaysia sms is received free... sending @ $0.60/sms my only complaint of overcharging is when i cancel the GPRS service, they still can bill me for data access charges.. From my view: wan cheap then shld go starhub.. but not reliable.. M1 expensive but reliable.. Singtel.. haiz.. no choice cos company policy to use.. hope it give u overviews.. jus my cents worth of input... dun flamed me hor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 2, 2008 Share November 2, 2008 agreed on the overcharging thingy.. also, the value add service also silent killer. what crap bye bye ring.. asked them to terminate, next month bill still receive full charges on that. called and questioned the blur cso (prob her colleague boh zoh kang).. got it waived anyway. if u go with m1 better check your bills everytime. roaming not sure cant advise much on that but i think its not the cheapest cust svc and signal quality is quite good. also have the 1+1 plan ($10 per mth but plan similar to their lite (sunsaver) worth about $26) for my wife.. i think now not offered to new customers leow.. i'm clinging on to this.. and yes, still can have the free call from my phone to hers (+2 more m1 lines) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic November 2, 2008 Share November 2, 2008 I have been using M1 for 7 years. So far so good. No overcharging and stuff like that. They do have this pay-per-roam thing so need subscription needed. Signal for me is good and customer service is average, nothing to complain about. Not a fussy customer I guess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redplanet Clutched November 2, 2008 Share November 2, 2008 Billing: So far okay, no overcharging but more expensive compared to Singtel & Starhub. Cust Svc: Fast, friendly and responsive. Most satisfactory aspect of being with M1. Signal strength: Good outdoors and roaming coverage. In-building coverage getting poor in my area and workplace. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged November 2, 2008 Share November 2, 2008 With M1 for 11 years. Service std: 9/10 Plan pricing: aren't they all the same??? Reception: As good as it can get I suppose. Never had dropped calls Handphones pricing: 1/10. Most expensive, most of the time. Want cheap, go Starhub. Autoroaming: Free if you take up the CitiBank Starhub Visa card. Thatz all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged November 2, 2008 Share November 2, 2008 i'm wif M1 for coming to 5 yrs. so far no experience of overcharging.sometimes i even feel i paid cheaper den wat i used. for roaming i using de pay-as-you-roam. so no need de mthly subscription. phones prices i feel is not dat exp. i compared singtel is more exp. starhub of cos de cheapest. my only gripe is de re-contracting. they nvr offer u special discounts or vouchers to make u re-contract wif them. it's as if they don care u stay wif them or not. unlike starhub, which will auto send u at least $100 voucher to purchase another hp n re-contract. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear November 2, 2008 Share November 2, 2008 I am with M1 since 1997. So far I am happy with them. Billing: No over charging Cust Service: Very good! Respond fast to my requests. Signal quality: Not bad, I would say its getting better over the years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic November 2, 2008 Share November 2, 2008 (edited) I've used m1 for my company phone for a long time. I seldom have problem with them, except the charges appear to be on the higher side. But I get handphones much cheaper than Singtel or Starhub. I travel frequently and only once I couldn't connect at Waterloo in Canada. Recently, I changed to Singtel.. I was late for payment once, and kena the 50cent fine...still behave like a fxxking authoritarian company. Also cannot pay by credit card. When I lost my phone and I have to get a freaking company letter of authorization to get a replacement SIM card. For the other two, the worst case, I just need to pay the SIM card. Dunno what's wrong with this bureaucratic red company? I think I'll change back to the other two once my contract is up. Edited November 2, 2008 by Kb27 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hogster Neutral Newbie November 3, 2008 Share November 3, 2008 Wife and me been with M1 for many years liao. So far no issues. I thought over charging was a Starthub thingy?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 3, 2008 Share November 3, 2008 (edited) if i travel overseas, it is with my family sometime ago, my dad bought a set of walkie talkies from china for my kids to play the range is 5km it so happens that my sis also bought a set of motorolla walkie talkies, 3km range i realised that if i syn the 2 sets together and use it as comms equipment for holidays, i save on all the $$$$ but there are problems to it: 1) Walkie Talkie got no vibrator alert. So if the background is noisy, you wouldnt know the other party is calling you. 2) i bought a big handphone pouch and attach it to the bag so that the walkie talkie is next to my ear. but look like some army stuff 3) one party talk only but there is one good upside apart from $$$ is that the calling is instant. ie not ring tone. Edited November 3, 2008 by Mustank Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Irene Neutral Newbie November 3, 2008 Share November 3, 2008 I just terminated the 1+1 plan from M1. They tried to make me stay but only willing to give $50. Knowing their phones are much ex then starhub.. i wasnt tempted. I also find that starhub is more generous in giving vouchers, somemore phones are cheaper. 10 years with M1 already yet i never receive anything... they are just stingy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geboz Clutched November 3, 2008 Share November 3, 2008 Have been on M1 corporate plan for ~10yrs, no complain ! Monthly subscription of $14 with caller-id and autroam, bundled with 300 free SMS and $20 worth of talktime. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanchelsk 2nd Gear November 3, 2008 Share November 3, 2008 oh ya no voucher at all one.. i also recently terminated the M1 1+1 ($10) line... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speddevil Neutral Newbie November 3, 2008 Share November 3, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear November 3, 2008 Share November 3, 2008 With M1 for 11 years. Service std: 9/10 Plan pricing: aren't they all the same??? Reception: As good as it can get I suppose. Never had dropped calls Handphones pricing: 1/10. Most expensive, most of the time. Want cheap, go Starhub. Autoroaming: Free if you take up the CitiBank Starhub Visa card. Thatz all. I think u mean CitiBank M1 Visa card? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear November 3, 2008 Share November 3, 2008 1+1 plan is low priced plan, of course voucher also low price la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear November 3, 2008 Share November 3, 2008 I just terminated the 1+1 plan from M1. They tried to make me stay but only willing to give $50. Knowing their phones are much ex then starhub.. i wasnt tempted. I also find that starhub is more generous in giving vouchers, somemore phones are cheaper. 10 years with M1 already yet i never receive anything... they are just stingy. I'm with M1 for 6 or 7 years already, classic plus plan. Contract expire in Mar'08 but they didn't offer me any re-contract sweety. So my wife help me email to M1, and finally they offered $100 e-voucher + 6 months of $10 credit. During purchasing of handset I discovered I got another $100 discount, so total I got $200 worth of "voucher" to buy another handset, but I only used $138. The handset they even delivered to my house without any additional charges. Customer service wise I think is strong point cos very easily can get thru them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...