Instant tweak - more responsive engine, lower FC

Drive_carcar

For better FC, I recommend driving with aircon at maximum possible temperature (about 27 deg) when driving above 90 km/h. Then drag will not be a factor. I also drive without aircon quite a bit, except on expressways.

But for engine performance, there is no better tweak than to drive without aircon.

Wah. i cannot tahan driving without air-con.

And i don't like to open the windows, make the interior of the car dusty.

even driving 1 - 2km to nearby kopidiam in the evening to get my dinner, i must on the aircon too.

recently the afternoon sun is so hot, how to tahan without aircon? [sweatdrop]

Actually, I also fine with driving without air-con but the problem is the risk and danger of prolonged exposure to harmful road dust and fumes.

Try stopping behind a bus or lorry with air-con switched off and windows wind-down [hur]. No joke, I saw SG drivers actually doing that [sweatdrop].

No lah, unless NSH sprint else air-con and air-filter are a must. My air-con is set at 25 all the while.

Regards,

remove spare tires

remove aircon,radio

remove rear seats, carpets, and all the interiors that are not critical.

remove side and rear windows and replace with clear plastic sheets

remove bumpers

change to lighter and small wheels

pump tires with more air

drive with 1/4 tank of fuel all the time

empty the boot.

remove exhaust tail pipe

change bonnet into ply wood?

what else can we do??

Might as well buy Tata Nano, the new car from India. All already stripped at factory level, no need to go through the "after-market" hassle! [;)]

i think you are supposed to drive with windows UP. to reduce drag. but it is like a furnace. good for weight loss program but not for commuting in spore.

then end up carrying water, lots of water to drink. 1 l water equals 1 kg.

remove spare tires

remove aircon,radio

remove rear seats, carpets, and all the interiors that are not critical.

remove side and rear windows and replace with clear plastic sheets

remove bumpers

change to lighter and small wheels

pump tires with more air

drive with 1/4 tank of fuel all the time

empty the boot.

remove exhaust tail pipe

change bonnet into ply wood? <- might as well put plastic bag to cover

what else can we do??

U forgot the most impt one: Reduce driver weight, tong pang no ONE!

More fuel saving tips:

a) Go to office before 7am and come back after 10pm to avoid peak hour traffic. Lower traffic means better consumption.

b) Change to 13in rim and use 165/80 tyres

c) Take out bonnet, bumpers, carpet, roof linings and wear as little clothes as possible to save weight.

d) Turn off engine as soon as you see traffic light turms red.

e) Better yet, sell car away and take MRT....

Sell car take MRT will kena "sardine treatment"....unless u like it. [sweatdrop][sly]

Just don't turn on the air-con whenever you can.

My Civic averaged 12km/l, after 1 week of running with as little use of air-con as possible, shot up to 14km/l. Pickup also faster, care feels lighter without air-con on.

Acherly u can consider switching to aftermarket drop in air filter. More air and thus engine can breathe better and more responsive. No need the extra fuel. [sly]

Sell car take MRT will kena "sardine treatment"....unless u like it.

My height is just nice at others' arm-pit level.

When the rest of the perspiring passengers are holding onto the hand-railing for support, I faint.

for i think without aircon got 10-15% more power but for fc not much diff...

but open window will have drag but open sunroof slightly got drag anot?...

Just don't turn on the air-con whenever you can.

My Civic averaged 12km/l, after 1 week of running with as little use of air-con as possible, shot up to 14km/l. Pickup also faster, care feels lighter without air-con on.

Acherly u can consider switching to aftermarket drop in air filter. More air and thus engine can breathe better and more responsive. No need the extra fuel. [sly]

That's my next tweak. But I realised it's a rather tricky matter to choose the right filter. Anybody can recommend a suitable one for Honda Civic 1.8 MT? Brand & Model would be most appreciated.

As long as got wind come in, there's bound to be some drag. But whether the drag is significant or not, is also a function of speed. Higher speed, more resistance, fuel efficiency goes down.

My gut feel is, winding down window is find for speeds not exceeding 60km/h. Once above that, it get's too noisy, and if you got light loose things lying around inside the cabin, they may fly around you, so it's not safe.

One approach that I try nowadays, is when it gets too warm, I turn on air-con in auto mode for long enough for the cabin temperature to drop to a comfy level. Once that is reached, I turn off the air-con. It might help FC, I'll update all when I go the the pump next.

Switching off the aircon when driving on a cool evening or morning are tips that has always been known to save fuel. But today in Singapore city traffic, high exhaust emmission, motorist will tend to enjoy some comfort. Moreover our city is very humid also.

It may not be practical to off the aircon. probably setting a higher temperature so as the aircon compressor working less and hence load on the engine is less, saving fuel is more practical.

Bro, do note that you are driving a car with ivtec. Your finding may not be applicable to other cars

Aircon on/off, I am not sure how much savings i get.

my 1.8L ivtec close 4 valve while I am cruising with the ECO light on. thus the fuel saving starts

For the same journey (40%hw, 60% city)

Normal Traffic - I get 11km/l

School Holiday period I get 13-14km/l

If I travel at non peak hours 15-16km/l

Highest i achieved was 18km/l with literally the road to myself. (80% HW)

But if literally jam short journey with no chance to cruise, it's less than 9km/l

Edited by Osiris

Sell car take MRT will kena "sardine treatment"....unless u like it.

My height is just nice at others' arm-pit level.

When the rest of the perspiring passengers are holding onto the hand-railing for support, I faint.

Then u make up for your height loh.

Eat more onions and learn to release "gas". [sweatdrop][laugh]