Instant Water Heater

Nlatio

Actually, the storage heater is one way to get over water pressure issue.

The storage tank is always placed overhead. Water is allowed to flow into the storage tank (regardless of flow rate/pressure), and the heater will get to work heating this water up. So the heated water coming out of your tank will always be at a consistent flow rate.

That's why people installing rainshower will almost always use storage heater for the assured flowrate.

Storage heater uses a mixer and water flow/pressure is regulated by the amount of cold water. Increase the pipe size may improve flow.

The 2amp rating stated on the handphone charger refers to 5v DC power, it does not consume 2 amp on the 220v AC input source. The actual consumption on the wall plug is likely around 0.05amp only.

thanks. physics not my strong suit  [laugh]

Loose wire connection can cause ‘arching’ which produce a great amount of heat. This is how welding works - melt the metals and fused together. Fix electrical appliances and devices properly for safety.

My friend once had arcing between wires near his circuit breaker. Could have been really serious from the photo i saw.

thanks. physics not my strong suit [laugh]

My friend once had arcing between wires near his circuit breaker. Could have been really serious from the photo i saw.

I think i had something similar for our circuit breaker. One night it tripped, cannot switched back on. Desperately called those 24 hr electrician. He removed the cover and part of the wall was blackened.

My friend one can actually see the arcing happening as he opened it up. Damn scary.

thanks. physics not my strong suit [laugh]

Haha bro, you dont say noboday knows but now we all know, it is not physics lah, it is electrical.

Just joking, i am guessing the anwer also but i know it is certainly not 2 amp.

Edited by Ct3833

Water heater better dun play play Better get approved heater from Singapore. There are few cases of water heater fatality.

Ya lor. Mine too - both are Cornell bought in 2000. 1 was spoilt 2 years ago (16 years) n another still working.

LOL

Money a bit tight now

I think I will just get the non approved one from JB

for my MIL place.

Instant water heater ok for washing plates but for a shower better to get a storage heater.

Storage heater has a higher pressure for a really good shower.

I really cannot stand low water when showering and

most importantly you switch it of before the shower

so you won't get electrocuted.

Haha bro, you dont say noboday knows but now we all know, it is not physics lah, it is electrical.

Just joking, i am guessing the anwer also but i know it is certainly not 2 amp.

electricity is governed by physics mah.

wah ...not physics lah

when you see someone attractive and get an electric shock, it’s chemistry they say

Sometimes you have to switch off all the breakers including the main one outside the flat, before you can restore power. Something like a total hard reset.

If sometimes your breaker trip, you can't push it back on, it means there's still a earth leakage or short somewhere.

What you need to do is to unplug all your electrical devices, removed them totally from the socket. Then try to turn on your breaker.

If it's successful, then start adding your devices/appliances one at a time.

You'll find the culprit, the moment you plugged in and the breaker trips.

If sometimes your breaker trip, you can't push it back on, it means there's still a earth leakage or short somewhere.

What you need to do is to unplug all your electrical devices, removed them totally from the socket. Then try to turn on your breaker.

If it's successful, then start adding your devices/appliances one at a time.

You'll find the culprit, the moment you plugged in and the breaker trips.

This is so much like life.

When people have a problem they just want to switch on the circuit breaker.

They have to find the root cause and solve that real problem.

Cannot just reset the breaker as their is a leakage somewhere else

and not solving that is very dangerous.

anyway do these instant heaters really draw so much?

I guess it's possible as those electrical cooking hobs can draw 20A.

Like i mentioned, most electrical storage heaters locally are designed to be within the 13A limit of the normal plugs.

FYI typical instant water heaters are rated between 3000W to 3500W by design. 

Current draw = 3000W / 220V = 13.6A

FYI typical instant water heaters are rated between 3000W to 3500W by design.

Current draw = 3000W / 220V = 13.6A

That's just slightly more than a storage heater. But the local joven brand one is about 12.5amp.

This is so much like life.

When people have a problem they just want to switch on the circuit breaker.

They have to find the root cause and solve that real problem.

Cannot just reset the breaker as their is a leakage somewhere else

and not solving that is very dangerous.

My home circuit breaker trip last Tues when I was taking the electrical kettle off its stand to pour out the water. But I left everything on and it didn't trip again. Also no tripping since then. Was bit puzzled.

That's just slightly more than a storage heater. But the local joven brand one is about 12.5amp.

My home circuit breaker trip last Tues when I was taking the electrical kettle off its stand to pour out the water. But I left everything on and it didn't trip again. Also no tripping since then. Was bit puzzled.

If the breaker trips, it could be the insulation of the wires has degraded.

Depending on how old is that wire, you might want to consider replacing it.

Heating appliances carry a lot of current and heats up the wire and insulation.

Long time ago, my fridge would trip the breaker. I've no clue what's happening, but my a/c colleague came, replaced the wire and all is well again.

ELCB or RCCB works in 2 ways :

1. Overcurrent

2. Earth leakage

If the breaker trips, it could be the insulation of the wires has degraded.

Depending on how old is that wire, you might want to consider replacing it.

Heating appliances carry a lot of current and heats up the wire and insulation.

Long time ago, my fridge would trip the breaker. I've no clue what's happening, but my a/c colleague came, replaced the wire and all is well again.

ELCB or RCCB works in 2 ways :

1. Overcurrent

2. Earth leakage

Thanks. My convection oven cannot use Liao. Keep tripping the breaker. Quite common problem with oven. Will monitor the kettle. But we use it three times a day. Seems quite OK since then.