Live in nursing homes in JB?

Sleepyman

SINGAPOREANS could consider living in nursing homes in neighbouring Johor Baru, Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan suggested yesterday.

It would be cheaper, yet be near enough to Singapore for family members to visit and for residents to return for medical care if necessary, he said.

He told Parliament yesterday that he recently visited a site in Johor Baru where a Singaporean investor was planning to build a 200-bed nursing home.

He asked the investor about the costs involved, and was stunned at how low they were.

He said: 'It is mind-boggling. The cost of land and construction cost is so low that my cost of putting up just a polyclinic (in Singapore) is probably more than his cost of putting up a 200-bed nursing home (in Johor Baru).

'The monthly cost of keeping a resident in a private nursing home in Singapore, you can stretch it easily to pay at least 2-1/2 months of nursing home care in Johor Baru.'

If any medical problems cropped up, the elderly could be taken back to Singapore by ambulance, he said.

For most Singaporeans, visiting a relative in a Johor Baru nursing home would not pose significant difficulties, he said.

The investor, who is a nursing home chief executive, told him that many people visited their relatives weekly, even in nursing homes in Singapore.

Mr Khaw added: 'Of course many visit daily, but quite a significant number visit only during the weekends, so what is the difference in putting them in Johor Baru?'

Lol... We Singaporeans are screwed... [sleeping]

[He said: 'It is mind-boggling. The cost of land and construction cost is so low that my cost of putting up just a polyclinic (in Singapore) is probably more than his cost of putting up a 200-bed nursing home (in Johor Baru).

Million $ question for a million dollar ministar : Who decide the cost of land and construction in Singapore? The Worker's Party? If not, why he sounds so surprising? [speechless]

There are already such nursing homes for Singaporeans already, I believe. They are considered expensive for the locals.

Why stop at nursing homes, I wonder.

An entire block of 3-room flat can sell their flats off, buy a big plot of land and build, say, a semi-detach each.

All the blood, sweat and tears shed and the loss of life sacrificed by all who had served NS, the mind boggling amount of money spent on weapons and infrastructure and it look like we will end up as Malaysians again! zzz

Haahhahhha,pay them millions to think of ideas like this..goodnes. [scholar] WAT will they think of next..they sure take good care of you for voting for them lol..

So piss off for what?? There's nothing we can do besides complaining in front of the LCD rite???

Now........ y dun we have the option of whether to pay our taxes as well?? Or change it to a system whereby it's based on OUR appraisal of them...

Edited by Wanderer

he might as well said we should call our malaysian when we grow old and useless..it looks like singapore is a place for the rich and famous and if you are old and useless..here is no longer welcome you...KNNBCCB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! [furious] . [furious].

You move lor.

"He asked the investor about the costs involved, and was stunned at how low they were."

Let us all move to Johor!

Edited by Davidtkl

"He asked the investor about the costs involved, and was stunned at how low they were."

Let us all move to Johor!

He himself is a Malaysian and dunno cost of land there ?

Pay him millions to act blur and talk c*ck.

Hope that his offspring will send him to Rwanda's old folks home when he's old and immobile.

He said: 'It is mind-boggling. The cost of land and construction cost is so low that my cost of putting up just a polyclinic (in Singapore) is probably more than his cost of putting up a 200-bed nursing home (in Johor Baru).

'The monthly cost of keeping a resident in a private nursing home in Singapore, you can stretch it easily to pay at least 2-1/2 months of nursing home care in Johor Baru.'

It's also mind boggling how much we pay our Minister of Health to spew crap [smash][knife][rifle]

I guess what I'm about to say here may invite flaming...

To be fair to him, first, can anyone argue, is the cost of maintaining a nursing home more expensive here than in Malaysia? OKlah, gahmen, provide a land free lah, and even throw in a spanking new building with nice facilities for free. Then maintainence leh? He's not even saying, ALL will be shoved to JB. He's just saying, providing an even ADDITIONAL cheaper solution. Also, there's also limited land issue. These facilities will have to be subjected to the strict standard like those in Singapore. I find, the opposition sometimes argue for the sake of arguing...

Edited by Tjkbeluga

If any medical problems cropped up, the elderly could be taken back to Singapore by ambulance, he said.

does this mean they will buck up at the SINGAPORE immigrasi?

if they do send pple back to SG by ambulance, confirm die waiting at the singapore kastams lor. totally CMI [thumbsdown]

anyway, maybe mr kawr walks the talk. are his parents in malaysia nursing homes also? [laugh]

is the health minister stupid or what?

what? he's surprised to know our land costs? How much is his house? does he know?

FYI, this health minister is born and grew up in Malaysia, if my memory doesnt fail me........

is he acting blur or what?

we should tell our garment to give us back all our CPF if we were to stay in JB old aged home

why should we let them hold on to our CPF while we are not even staying in spore......