Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear February 28, 2009 Share February 28, 2009 for me, i just need a a roof, could afford a car, one income with wife at home taking care of young one, at least for the initial few years before consider working again and every mth still can have some saving im happy already...... I am trying hard to achieve this but in the end can not and hence get a maid to take care of the young one but still have saving...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged February 28, 2009 Share February 28, 2009 I am trying hard to achieve this but in the end can not and hence get a maid to take care of the young one but still have saving...... we are into the 3rd year with that lifestyle....the only complain she has--> sometimes, the son make her very angry!!..... ... im lucky that my wife is those homely type and not "career" minded...... but im thinking of getting her to look for work next year,.. worry she lost touch with the actual world out there.... perhaps part-timer if not a full timer.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched February 28, 2009 Author Share February 28, 2009 Duxton was really expensive then...but when compared to many recent HDB project in the new estate...it looks cheap. Though expensive however its a good location. The value will go up. Its a kinda force saving. House value goes up with inflation. A good investment. This is where all the money come from... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched February 28, 2009 Author Share February 28, 2009 How can anyone buy a house with a 30 yr loan. 30 years is a long time to pay to own a house, much less an HDB flat with a 99 yr lease. Assuming one starts working at 25 and work till 55, thats 30 yrs assuming no breaks from work due to unforseen circumstances. And on top of it, both person got to work to support the installments, while not making more than $8K combined. What if one of them got laid off? Something is wrong with the math here. No wonder there are people worrying about not having enough to retire. There is no issue of having a loan period of 30 years. U stretch it when u are young and amount will go lower. U can always do refinancing every 2-3 years and clear off slowly. Moreover, there are very few % in sporean that stays in one house for a full 30 years. Modern thinking is to wait for value to go up then sell and buy. Thats where the money come from. Force saving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged February 28, 2009 Share February 28, 2009 There is no issue of having a loan period of 30 years. U stretch it when u are young and amount will go lower. U can always do refinancing every 2-3 years and clear off slowly. Moreover, there are very few % in sporean that stays in one house for a full 30 years. Modern thinking is to wait for value to go up then sell and buy. Thats where the money come from. Force saving. agree and disagree with that approach...... perhaps im conservatives... that kind of practice to me is like stretching to the limit.. very small window for hiccups and assuming everything is smooth sailing for many years ahead...... any hiccups, the owner would be stuck in a deep sh*t where they cant afford to keep and cant afford to sell.... we see many example recently....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Isaaccas Neutral Newbie February 28, 2009 Share February 28, 2009 Anyway everyone got different risk profile. Some prefer to be more prudent which is also good, while some are ready to risk for a better return. End of the day, no risk no gain and no loss. High risk high return and potentially higher loss. To each his own.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged February 28, 2009 Share February 28, 2009 Though expensive however its a good location. The value will go up. Its a kinda force saving. House value goes up with inflation. A good investment. This is where all the money come from... Agree. It bound to appreciate more in percentage as compared to those in the new estate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged February 28, 2009 Share February 28, 2009 (edited) I am trying hard to achieve this but in the end can not and hence get a maid to take care of the young one but still have saving...... If want to, can lah...just have to save on other things. My wife and I also work on person's budget (the one with a lower income) when it comes to big purchase eg. house, cars, etc... At least if one of us lose his/her source of income, we are still able to service the loans. We bought a flat instead of private apartment. More money, more holidays and shoppings...less money, holiday less and less shopping. Edited February 28, 2009 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched February 28, 2009 Author Share February 28, 2009 agree and disagree with that approach...... perhaps im conservatives... that kind of practice to me is like stretching to the limit.. very small window for hiccups and assuming everything is smooth sailing for many years ahead...... any hiccups, the owner would be stuck in a deep sh*t where they cant afford to keep and cant afford to sell.... we see many example recently....... Yea. U have ur point too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear March 1, 2009 Share March 1, 2009 wow..1st hand flat at $484K ? where? HDB direct are selling 600K plus in Tanjong Pagar, no surprise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear March 1, 2009 Share March 1, 2009 This price is consider damn cheap liao. Just take a look at old toa payoh 3 room flat transaction. Most of them are well over 234k @ only half the size!!!!!!!!! http://www.hdb.gov.sg/bb33/ispm051p.nsf/Se...nForm&Seq=1 HDB flats are gauge purely on 2 things....... Location & Unit level. Nothing else matters. House condition counts for nothing. I know cos i have been monitoring HDB flat prices for toa payoh & sembawang closely since 2005. Lost count in the number of houses i've view liao. Recently just sign the OTP to sell my house and place deposit for a lovely unit at toa payoh with fantastic views of the city and even the spore flyer. Gona sign the OTP very soon. You are right location and level. You also have to notice north facing and south facing, carpark the facing will also affect price. You so lucky ah, got TP flat? I monitor monitor till end up nothing. Q number 1st few 10 or hundred but count from behind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged March 1, 2009 Share March 1, 2009 The math is wrong but cause by some invisible hand at work. In one hand, make sure you tie up by loan and not able to use your CPF for other purpose. On the other hand, worry that you got not enough to retire and hence make you work till die and that my good fellowmen .... is the bottomline !! ( well at least for the majority of locals ). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear March 1, 2009 Share March 1, 2009 see heng suay one... my friend got her at commonwealth the bto one i think for 300k+.. now less than 5 years...at least worth 500k+ now...si bei heng to kio tio in first place..and now rocket price up in just less than 5 years which cant even sell yet.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear March 1, 2009 Share March 1, 2009 This price is consider damn cheap liao. Just take a look at old toa payoh 3 room flat transaction. Most of them are well over 234k @ only half the size!!!!!!!!! http://www.hdb.gov.sg/bb33/ispm051p.nsf/Se...nForm&Seq=1 HDB flats are gauge purely on 2 things....... Location & Unit level. Nothing else matters. House condition counts for nothing. I know cos i have been monitoring HDB flat prices for toa payoh & sembawang closely since 2005. Lost count in the number of houses i've view liao. Recently just sign the OTP to sell my house and place deposit for a lovely unit at toa payoh with fantastic views of the city and even the spore flyer. Gona sign the OTP very soon. abang, got go jaybee pump petrol or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear March 1, 2009 Share March 1, 2009 Without fail....rain or shine. But after moving house.......maybe wont be going liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie March 1, 2009 Share March 1, 2009 he okay but then he has family background for him to start with.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie March 1, 2009 Share March 1, 2009 bro, if u drive...its just located in between 2 SLE/BKE entries/exits. got JC/pri/sport school just ard you... to woodlands civic centre/causeway pt is about 15mins walk distance and there is bus stop ard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie March 1, 2009 Share March 1, 2009 thanks for the correction. i remembered some where there but didnt bother to check.. :P consider cheap ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...