Voodooman Supersonic November 1, 2025 Share November 1, 2025 On 11/1/2025 at 10:37 AM, inlinesix said: NTUC Enterprise has a number of social missions to accomplish. A lot of senior facilities are built by NTUC Enterprise. On the other hand, Income is sucking more deployable capital with its long tail biz + systemic importance FI. NTUC Enterprise cannot bluntly says why they need to exit Income. Then be truthful and don't hide behind some financial engineering exercise to get rid of a social mission you can't afford anymore? But is NTUC Enterprise profitable overall? Do they have to make money in every social mission they are involved in? Are they a for profit organization? What are their mandates? I don't have all the answers but what they did was wrong and deceitful. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic November 1, 2025 Share November 1, 2025 On 11/1/2025 at 10:37 AM, inlinesix said: NTUC Enterprise has a number of social missions to accomplish. A lot of senior facilities are built by NTUC Enterprise. On the other hand, Income is sucking more deployable capital with its long tail biz + systemic importance FI. NTUC Enterprise cannot bluntly says why they need to exit Income. Why cannot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 1, 2025 Share November 1, 2025 On 11/1/2025 at 11:00 AM, Voodooman said: Then be truthful and don't hide behind some financial engineering exercise to get rid of a social mission you can't afford anymore? But is NTUC Enterprise profitable overall? Do they have to make money in every social mission they are involved in? Are they a for profit organization? What are their mandates? I don't have all the answers but what they did was wrong and deceitful. It is not about profitability. It is cashflow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 1, 2025 Share November 1, 2025 On 11/1/2025 at 11:26 AM, Volvobrick said: Why cannot? Implied Social mission. Moreover, it is difficult for ppl to understand why they need to exit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged November 1, 2025 Share November 1, 2025 (edited) On 11/1/2025 at 4:52 AM, Ct3833 said: This is what I mean.... After laying off more than 15,000 employees, Microsoft’s CEO has just received a record salary of $83.2 million https://blog.bostonorganics.com/after-laying-off-more-than-15000-employees-microsofts-ceo-has-just-received-a-record-salary-of-83-2-million/ IMO, 83.2M is too little, he deserves at least 100M.😆😄 This is the leader who took MSFT from a $300B market cap in 2014 to $3.85T today, growing it more than 10X in a decade. News only focus on his pay because that sell news, but not anyone can grow a large cap by more than 10X in 11 years. Yes, layoffs are unfortunate, but they’re part of tech. At the same time, millions of people worldwide have benefitted from MSFT’s rise, since it’s in nearly every global ETF/unit trust/mutual funds, not to mention the direct shareholders. Employees, too, have enjoyed good pay, perks, and the prestige of working at a Mag 7 company, so while some must leave when the industry shifts, they’ve still been fortunate to have contributed to that extraordinary growth story which is now part of their resume for life. Edited November 1, 2025 by Stary Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic November 1, 2025 Share November 1, 2025 On 11/1/2025 at 12:53 PM, inlinesix said: It is not about profitability. It is cashflow. NTUC Income is a negative cash flows business? I thought you said it is the long tail that they are worried about? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 1, 2025 Share November 1, 2025 (edited) On 11/1/2025 at 1:39 PM, Voodooman said: NTUC Income is a negative cash flows business? I thought you said it is the long tail that they are worried about? That’s why I said most ppl will not understand. Solvency ratio. If you and volvobrick also can’t understand, how to explain to layman? Edited November 1, 2025 by inlinesix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic November 1, 2025 Share November 1, 2025 On 11/1/2025 at 1:39 PM, Voodooman said: NTUC Income is a negative cash flows business? I thought you said it is the long tail that they are worried about? Anyhow hamtam one.... Difficult/cannot explain. People cannot understand. Implicit reasons..... Yada yada.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 1, 2025 Share November 1, 2025 On 11/1/2025 at 2:17 PM, Volvobrick said: Anyhow hamtam one.... Difficult/cannot explain. People cannot understand. Implicit reasons..... Yada yada.... Based on this reply, it just shows you don’t understand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic November 1, 2025 Share November 1, 2025 On 11/1/2025 at 2:17 PM, inlinesix said: That’s why I said most ppl will not understand. Solvency ratio. If you and volvobrick also can’t understand, how to explain to layman? Haha... I think you are trying to smoke us. First cashflow, then solvency (ok, this is better as it can be attributed to thin capital). The question to ask is, why the many capital calls, poor underwriting leading to uw losses or they are investment losses? Based on Perplexity. Before its proposed sale to Allianz, NTUC Income was facing capital and financial resilience challenges, but not acute liquidity or solvency issues. The sale was pursued to bolster its long-term competitiveness and capital flexibility in a crowded insurance market, as the cooperative model limited its ability to raise equity. NTUC Enterprise (the majority shareholder) had injected capital multiple times, including during the Covid-19 pandemic, and had standby funds and subordinated bonds issued to support solvency. However, these measures were acknowledged as possibly insufficient for future financial shocks without more capital support. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 1, 2025 Share November 1, 2025 (edited) On 11/1/2025 at 2:40 PM, Voodooman said: Haha... I think you are trying to smoke us. First cashflow, then solvency (ok, this is better as it can be attributed to thin capital). The question to ask is, why the many capital calls, poor underwriting leading to uw losses or they are investment losses? Based on Perplexity. Before its proposed sale to Allianz, NTUC Income was facing capital and financial resilience challenges, but not acute liquidity or solvency issues. The sale was pursued to bolster its long-term competitiveness and capital flexibility in a crowded insurance market, as the cooperative model limited its ability to raise equity. NTUC Enterprise (the majority shareholder) had injected capital multiple times, including during the Covid-19 pandemic, and had standby funds and subordinated bonds issued to support solvency. However, these measures were acknowledged as possibly insufficient for future financial shocks without more capital support. That’s why I said you can’t understand and still thinking I tried to smoke both of you. It has nothing to do with U/w loss or investment income. Rather, it is Income social obligation that require it to write really long-tail biz. It is mostly due to Life biz. Due to long-tail biz, Income requires to hold more capital (solvency). That will require NTUC Enterprise to inject (liquidity) as minority shareholders unable to do so. In addition, MAS considers Income to be Systematically Important Domestic FI. That means it needs to hold more capital than other Insurers. Edited November 1, 2025 by inlinesix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic November 1, 2025 Share November 1, 2025 (edited) On 11/1/2025 at 2:17 PM, inlinesix said: That’s why I said most ppl will not understand. Solvency ratio. If you and volvobrick also can’t understand, how to explain to layman? Lay flat man asking... So is it right not to sell? Also is it corright to scold ccb pxp? 🤔😁 Edited November 1, 2025 by mersaylee 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 1, 2025 Share November 1, 2025 On 11/1/2025 at 4:26 PM, mersaylee said: Lay flat man asking... So is it right not to sell? Also is it corright to scold ccb pxp? 🤔😁 Just sell to Tem Mile Seek. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic November 1, 2025 Share November 1, 2025 On 11/1/2025 at 5:31 PM, inlinesix said: Just sell to Tem Mile Seek. TMD...i mean for ten mil dollah? 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atachi 6th Gear November 3, 2025 Share November 3, 2025 On 10/29/2025 at 7:06 PM, Sosaria said: HdBee flat still going up up up defying gravity https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/five-room-dbss-flat-boon-keng-sold-record-155-million 5-room for upwards of 1.5 million is insane. I know many old money retirees that say this is good value. They rather have this high floor big HDB, than squeeze in a small new launch condo 2+2 same price ulu location. HDB town council fee cheap for them plus get govt handouts, compared to condo have higher MCST fees. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 3, 2025 Share November 3, 2025 On 11/3/2025 at 9:51 AM, Atachi said: I know many old money retirees that say this is good value. They rather have this high floor big HDB, than squeeze in a small new launch condo 2+2 same price ulu location. HDB town council fee cheap for them plus get govt handouts, compared to condo have higher MCST fees. retirees wont get to see 99years when ah gong takes back everything. so they dont care. highly unlikely i will see it too. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic November 7, 2025 Share November 7, 2025 Even the job designed for retrenched people to stay employed in being cut. watch out PHV drivers, you will be taken over by Robodrivers. quickly go upskill. Not i say one hor…. muayhahhahhahhahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged November 7, 2025 Share November 7, 2025 On 11/1/2025 at 4:52 AM, Ct3833 said: This is what I mean.... After laying off more than 15,000 employees, Microsoft’s CEO has just received a record salary of $83.2 million https://blog.bostonorganics.com/after-laying-off-more-than-15000-employees-microsofts-ceo-has-just-received-a-record-salary-of-83-2-million/ i remember back in 2007/8 when i was in HP.. the knn CEO got a bumper $40m salary + bonuses Lehman Bro crisis soon struck and tens of thousands of HP employees tio pok no surprises that everyone cheered when the HP CEO died of illness some years later ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...