Brake light not lighted up

Jkcs

Hi everyone,

my ride, when depressed on the brake pedal, the brake light including 3rd brake light does not lit up. when this happens, my central lock fails to lock too. Braking is not a issue.

Can someone advise what's wrong? I am going to the AD service center tomorrow. Thanks.

if after testing all the bulbs and show no sign of malfunction , then I may suspect it's the 1) fuse 2) foot brake solenoid .

Also be extra vigilant when some idiot are following too close to you as they depend on your brake light to warn them of any slowing down.

Hi everyone,

my ride, when depressed on the brake pedal, the brake light including 3rd brake light does not lit up. when this happens, my central lock fails to lock too. Braking is not a issue.

Can someone advise what's wrong? I am going to the AD service center tomorrow. Thanks.

check ur fuse box.....but something muz ve short it so need bring back AD to check if under waty. Btw, wat car? [confused]

Edited by Hamburger

@ Bro Hamburger and Bro Passion,

my is Kia Rio. Yup, will wake up early and go CNC in Ubi tmr. [sleeping]

I know how to open the fuse box but dunno how to troubleshoot [:p]

@Bro Contax,

hopefully other motorist dun tailgate me too closely. and dun swear at me too..

@ Bro Hamburger and Bro Passion,

my is Kia Rio. Yup, will wake up early and go CNC in Ubi tmr. [sleeping]

I know how to open the fuse box but dunno how to troubleshoot [:p]

@Bro Contax,

hopefully other motorist dun tailgate me too closely. and dun swear at me too..

open e fusebox n there will b a simple wiring diagram. look for e fuse tat is use for brake lights. See if its broken. Most proly there will b few spares fuses by e side for E use [flowerface]

was told that the brake switch was faulty, it was replaced foc by Cnc with a warning. Warranty void now as car had not been serviced by them after 10K Km.

any KIA owners here can recommend a WS that is good in servicing KIA car? thanks. :)

If you frequent M'sia...can have your car serviced by KIA m'sia....warranty will be safe.

Otherwise for normal maintenance...most workshop can do it.

was told that the brake switch was faulty, it was replaced foc by Cnc with a warning. Warranty void now as car had not been serviced by them after 10K Km.

any KIA owners here can recommend a WS that is good in servicing KIA car? thanks. :)

Dan where were you going for servicing after the 10k km??

I have the exact opposite to threadstarter's problem. All my brake lights are still lighted up even though i have switched off the engine. What is wrong?

maybe wire wrong connection?

brake light should light up even engine off.nothing wrong what.unless you talking abt,after you leg off pedal,still light up,then something wrong.Either short circuit or brake switch tio jam somewhere.Go get it checked.

when ur engine is off and ignition off oso, u can only on ur headlights and when u depress ur brake pedal ur brake light will still light up... nothing wrong wif tis...

I think what you meant is even though you did not depress your brake pedal when your engine is off, all your brake lights are lighted up. I encountered the same problem last year too. On that very night I did check to make sure all my lights (i.e. head, signal and brake lights) are off after I parked my car. About half an hour later my friend told me that he saw all the brake lights on my car were lighted up. Was quite shock when I heard that. Drove to a nearby workshop immediately and the technician told me the stopper switch for the brakes lights broke. My car was back to normal again after the broken switch was being replaced. My car's stopper switch is in the wiring compartment under the steering wheel, not sure about yours.

I think in most cars, the brake switch is normally closed, until you step on the pedal. Then it is open and the brake lights comes on.

So if the switch is broken and becomes open, all the brake lights will be lighted up even though you did not step on the pedal.

Thanks everyone for all the inputs...For my case, it was all the brake lights were lighted up even thou I did not step on the brake pedal.

After driving to the workshop, it was the same prob as wat bro Wry85 encountered...something was wrong with the stopper...

In the end, the mechanic replaced the stopper and the brake light prob was gone. It was all done in abt 5mins.