Freestylers09 5th Gear May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 travelling is a nono for me..too lazy...till now my furthest route is 45 mins with 2 changing of bus..now reduce to 30 mins time is more important for me...sometimes tink back if 2-3 hours back and fro..end up working hour 1 day is like 12 hours...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 I read this news article from USA TODAY some years ago, and it has never left my mind... as I also have a long trip to and fro for work. Think jurong west to changi or tampines; have switched jobs but never quite left the area USATODAY.com - Think your commute is tough? Anyway, from the above article, yes, let's be thankful that singapore is a small place, relatively. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 This is my experience... Me stay in the west..and used to work in Tuas ( 10 ~ 15 min drive).. Lost my job in Jan 08 due to restructuring...found one in the eastern part of Spore after 3 mths.. Morning drive was a breeze...AYE to ECP....though I have to start my journey ard 0620..but usually the drive will take abt 30 min. Evening drive for the return journey is a total nightmare....for whatever reason there is a always a jam from the stretch outside NUS all the way to the Clementi Ave 6 exit. The next jam will be the stretch along Boon Lay stretch .. With all these jams...the whole journey will take 40 to sometime 1.5 hrs !! Travellin time is one thing....but most important we must love the job after spending all the time to reach the office..For me..I had never settled in due to the work environment and culture and after a year of search....finally managed to secure a job back in Tuas area in a different industry. So will be returning "home" after 1 year in the East.....and I am definitely looking forward to this homecoming !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 I stay in the west and is unlikely to go for a job in Pasir Ris or Tampines. There were quite a few times when I almost fell asleep on the highway after I had a long work day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 get a bike lor. should be able to squeeze thru traffic except on rainy days Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceyeo Neutral Newbie May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 (edited) This is my experience... Me stay in the west..and used to work in Tuas ( 10 ~ 15 min drive).. Lost my job in Jan 08 due to restructuring...found one in the eastern part of Spore after 3 mths.. Morning drive was a breeze...AYE to ECP....though I have to start my journey ard 0620..but usually the drive will take abt 30 min. Evening drive for the return journey is a total nightmare....for whatever reason there is a always a jam from the stretch outside NUS all the way to the Clementi Ave 6 exit. The next jam will be the stretch along Boon Lay stretch .. With all these jams...the whole journey will take 40 to sometime 1.5 hrs !! Travellin time is one thing....but most important we must love the job after spending all the time to reach the office..For me..I had never settled in due to the work environment and culture and after a year of search....finally managed to secure a job back in Tuas area in a different industry. So will be returning "home" after 1 year in the East.....and I am definitely looking forward to this homecoming !! Welcome back to Tuas haha.. yes its a fantastic place to work it despite most people negative impression of it ^^ PS: I will never worry about travel distance since its the job that matters. If you enjoy working in the company that is most imporatant due to the amount of hrs each week you are spending there. Edited May 18, 2009 by Vinceyeo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daryl76 Neutral Newbie May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 duhz.. though i live less den 10km from my office, coming home can take nearly 30mins cos of the stupid jams at upper serangoon exit.. everyone is taking that road to siam ERP on the CTE.. damn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 (edited) Before I had a car, I used to stay in Tampines and work in Pandan also. I was young and needed the money. Get to work using bus n mrt, wake up at 6 and leave the office at 9.30pm (new dept start up). I was so tired I fell asleep on so many ladies shoulder on the mrt. Luckily they were really kind and no one ever poke me to wake up! But if your fren dun need the money and dun want to spend the time, why bother? Edited May 18, 2009 by Jamesc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 (edited) i have some friends that really have long travelling time and distance.... got one live in jurong west and work in loyang... got one live in JB and work in hendersen... (travel to and fro thru 2nd link everyday) after 911, when things got really bad, i ever went to an interview to work in a plant in batam! (the job required to and fro from singapore EVERYDAY, at least that's what the interviewer told me...) i live in north btw [sly] Edited May 18, 2009 by Scion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 i have some friends that really have long travelling time and distance.... got one live in jurong west and work in loyang... got one live in JB and work in hendersen... (travel to and fro thru 2nd link everyday) after 911, when things got really bad, i ever went to an interview to work in a plant in batam! (the job required to and fro from singapore EVERYDAY, at least that's what the interviewer told me...) i live in north btw [sly] From JB, wow. What is your friend's travelling time like that? Freaking far and troublesome ;x Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 Welcome back to Tuas haha.. yes its a fantastic place to work it despite most people negative impression of it ^^ PS: I will never worry about travel distance since its the job that matters. If you enjoy working in the company that is most imporatant due to the amount of hrs each week you are spending there. I believe if we like a co working style, environment and of cos the pay package, we wont mind the long travelling time...In my previous co at Tuas,,,there were colleagues who stay in Punggol or Sengkang who dun mind the long distance..likewise in my current place...there are pple who travel everyday from JB to work !!....they claimed the journey will take them at least 2 hrs..if it is jam free at the causeway. I believe these pple are driven by passion..or a case of couldnt finding a better alternative. So at the end of the day,,it is a personal decision, if someone finds it worthwhile, go ahead and do it, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceyeo Neutral Newbie May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 From JB, wow. What is your friend's travelling time like that? Freaking far and troublesome ;x Yes its very common to find JBers coming to Singapore to work and go home. I have plenty in my office and they are just so used to it. Ofcourse if given a choice they would rather not do it too. But they are earning from the currency exchange so that compensates them plenty already. I dread to see the day Ringgit becomes 1:1 with SGD haha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 19, 2009 Share May 19, 2009 Alot of my technicians stay in JB work in Loyang... everyday wake up 4am to catch the transport to sg. To them it's worth it because they earn 2k here equal to 4-5k in ringgit... equivalent of degree holder pay in malaysia or maybe even more. I guess it's all a matter of how desperate you are for the job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear May 19, 2009 Share May 19, 2009 i also have a colleague stay in johore jaya there every morning travel to sg and reach by 8.30am so yea it all depends how much u want the job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghaz Neutral Newbie May 19, 2009 Share May 19, 2009 yah man...used to stay in JB but commute daily across the causeway.. work start at 8am, but already awake at 4.30am... 2 hrs ++ travelling time to Changi, then another 2hrs++ back home... very siong lah...can tahan only three years, then told wifey must come back Spore...... total hrs spent daily travelling on road average 4 hrs ++... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 19, 2009 Author Share May 19, 2009 Not sure if those who reply stating that their colleagues long travelling time got read the title carefully. Does travelling time affect your choice of job??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghaz Neutral Newbie May 19, 2009 Share May 19, 2009 ask company to sponsored loh... but at least you could 'wash' your eyes daily mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear May 19, 2009 Share May 19, 2009 ask company to sponsored loh... but at least you could 'wash' your eyes daily mah yea bro. i wish. even the ceo and cfo pay parking... but den company pay lor... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...