Hermitage 1st Gear May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 Yup, it didn't make a difference for me either! With or without P plate I was zipping around traffic and cornering with gusto! Haha! Thinking about those days sure brings back some happy memories. But that was when I was young & carefree, nowadays, I drive to get from A to B in the quickest time...without having to make a detour to IDAC!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limhm Neutral Newbie May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 The P plate was on our car...There's no difference when my hb drive....but it does make some difference when I drive... Most of e time when I do parking, I make sure no pp is at e bk of me....But once, there's a nice guy...waited for me to do parking b4 he drives off....I was oredi in e parking lot le....jus abit more to e left...n I tot he wld drive off....but he was kind n patient, signal to me to take my time...maybe he jus dun wan me to be kan cheong bah... Nvr note down his car no....else can compliment him here.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amortifiedpenguin Clutched May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 I think the problem with the P Plate regulation is that it makes no distinction between a P Plate on his first year as driver, and someone who passed driving and never drive for maybe a few years, and then suddenly decides to get a car. In my P Plate year, I drove almost everyday. There were days where I make as many as 10 to and fro trips covering literally the whole island, and through all kinds of traffic conditions. For all drivers, practice makes perfect, doesn't matter if it's P Plate or not. P Plate is only meant to caution other drivers to be considerate and patient, so that the P Plate has the chance to build up confidence on the roads. its even worse for me. SAF driver- i was driving class 3 & 4 vehicles everyday for 1.5years before i got my civilian class 3 license but i still need to put p plate for one year. feeling really sucks but of course i do not drive like a p plater at all. but that was last time. have never actually stopped driving since i enlisted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 2 years ago on one fine day, when i was still supposed to be on probation, i forgot to display. That day i was wondering, how come everyone on the road was so nice. You see, every time i hit the road with my P Plate on, surely got at least 3 fellas cut in my lane 45 degrees that kind. That day waaah everyone was so nice. Then i look at the corner. forgot to put! i kena aimed at when i display the P Plate thats why! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 The P plate was on our car...There's no difference when my hb drive....but it does make some difference when I drive... Most of e time when I do parking, I make sure no pp is at e bk of me....But once, there's a nice guy...waited for me to do parking b4 he drives off....I was oredi in e parking lot le....jus abit more to e left...n I tot he wld drive off....but he was kind n patient, signal to me to take my time...maybe he jus dun wan me to be kan cheong bah... Nvr note down his car no....else can compliment him here.... talk about parking..just last week i saw this lady at the 4th deck of a certain mscp. she reversed in and out..in and out..and in and out. i finished parking my car, tore my coupons fold my mirrors and she still doing it. lol.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amortifiedpenguin Clutched May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 i noticed that its not only p plate that gets aimed. small cars also get aimed. luckily my car is small but rather capable. never had problems switching lanes. but always gana aim. i traveling on lane 1 at 95km/h with the car infront just 1.5 car lengths away but nooo the car behind me will ALWAYS try to overtake and cut infront of me, of which failing most of the time. what has become of safety following distance? sigh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limhm Neutral Newbie May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 (edited) talk about parking..just last week i saw this lady at the 4th deck of a certain mscp. she reversed in and out..in and out..and in and out. i finished parking my car, tore my coupons fold my mirrors and she still doing it. lol.. Keke...me not so bad lah...in once, feel more to one side...do another round, tat's it... Wat surprised me is...there r nice guys ard....I oredi signal him to go since I m oredi in e lot liao...but he stlll bother to wait till I finish parking.... But I did see such incident b4....some ladies damn yim chim....i saw her parked quite ok liao...keep going in n out...too eng liao.... Edited May 21, 2009 by Limhm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dpink Neutral Newbie May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 Kurty, Wellcome to the street, I know how stressful it is,every newbie does. dont they??? Slow and steady,be observant with the road conditions,traffic etc.I am sure when more hours on the road you will be ok.Important to get famillar the car power ,accelarations,gears....etc.Learn to be a defensive driver when you are on the road.............HAPPY DRIVER ALWAYS ENJOY THEIR DRIVE. Thk drive safely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged May 21, 2009 Author Share May 21, 2009 (edited) wow, never know this thread can go on and on. once again, thanks for the golden advises and encouragement. i'm back on road today, driving the usual way but pre-signal to give ample allowance and wait till traffic is slower. probably i driving around 9pm.. most of the people already reaches home. every where i go, i see bad omen (accidents) reminding me times after times, safety come first. i also take my own sweet time when i stop at traffic light while making a right turn at cross junction. like said, i rather being honked than to arise into an accident. well, i was one who not savvy with my parking too, trying to improve. still need 2 or 3 attempts before i need to get it right. my ride was a small car with only 1.2 cc.. thus i believe, i often being bullied or high beam by others. since my 3 weeks on the road, i learnt driving really is not simple as it seems. a lot of factors can determine the style of the driver, be it safe or reckless. one important thing, patience. which all along, i never had that. haha, finally retribution. so next time, when you see a green car with MCF sticker, 629. that's me, pls give way and patience hor Edited May 21, 2009 by Kurty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onenightstd2 Neutral Newbie May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 hi bro, don't be dishearten, just ingnor these idiots, keep within yr lane and move on. These idiots can do anything to you except body contact. Just call the police and their balls will string. Remember keep a camera in yr car. Very useful for evidence collection. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sammy_koh Neutral Newbie May 22, 2009 Share May 22, 2009 yeah. buden cannot tahan those kids driving their dads cars. always wanna impress. encounter many times. only when they bang would they learn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Exowraith Neutral Newbie May 22, 2009 Share May 22, 2009 Probation plates dun seem to help. been driving a few years liao. ever since my brother passed and now have the P-plate on the car it seems that other drivers seem more impatient than if you not have the P-plate on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nizmo89 3rd Gear August 17, 2015 Share August 17, 2015 Question about P-plate, its been nearly 2 years since i passed my driving test, and i have yet to remove the P-plate. My friend said "Its illegal to continue displaying the P-plate after a year of driving" is the statement accurate?If so i will faster go and remove Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged August 17, 2015 Share August 17, 2015 Question about P-plate, its been nearly 2 years since i passed my driving test, and i have yet to remove the P-plate. My friend said "Its illegal to continue displaying the P-plate after a year of driving" is the statement accurate? If so i will faster go and remove I don't think it's illegal to continue displaying it. As far as I'm aware it's perfectly okay. Some people do it to make people siam them. Or some just lazy remove. I do know there are sometimes people who buy the plate and display even though don't need. What is illegal is not displaying it when you are your first-year probation driver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shrsrn Clutched August 17, 2015 Share August 17, 2015 TS, you should try and learn your regular routes well. That way you can 'join the queue' to merge with other roads/ highways rather than trying to join the queue last minute. This is a sure way to annoy drivers who may have waited 'guai guai' in line then not happy to see someone trying to 'jump queue'. You will see lots of people trying their luck in these situations and unless you meet a gracious driver, dont be surprised to see a high beam/ honk. when I first passed driving, there was already affordable portable GPS systems (around 7 years back or so). My parents bought one but I found it useful to plan my route ahead using the old sch street directory or google maps or street directory.com. Having to rely on yourself and your memory to get around certainly helps you gain a knowledge of our roads. I know of other new drivers who will get totally lost without their GPS. Dont let the road bullies get to you, when I encounter them... I always think they could be having a really bad day or sth bad happened to them. Like a really small p___s. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged August 17, 2015 Share August 17, 2015 Question about P-plate, its been nearly 2 years since i passed my driving test, and i have yet to remove the P-plate. My friend said "Its illegal to continue displaying the P-plate after a year of driving" is the statement accurate? If so i will faster go and remove Not illegal. If not those that drive family cars how? I rmb I bought one set for each of the family's car when I just pass so need to keep transferring here and there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nizmo89 3rd Gear August 17, 2015 Share August 17, 2015 Im not quite sure, as in my family im the youngest and everyone else in my family has had their license for more than 5 years now. So i was wondering if it was illegal if i still displayed it even though i have passed by probation period. Not illegal. If not those that drive family cars how? I rmb I bought one set for each of the family's car when I just pass so need to keep transferring here and there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunset73 5th Gear August 18, 2015 Share August 18, 2015 Im not quite sure, as in my family im the youngest and everyone else in my family has had their license for more than 5 years now. So i was wondering if it was illegal if i still displayed it even though i have passed by probation period. Don't worry. No issue. You only get into trouble if you drive without a valid licence. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...