Clear carbon question?

Starengine

for manual cars, if put at 3rd gear on highway speed at 90km/h, rpm about 4K+, will this help to clear carbon?

normally how long will be good?

for manual cars, if put at 3rd gear on highway speed at 90km/h, rpm about 4K+, will this help to clear carbon?

Push it to reaching redline at every gear would be good [thumbsup]

1 gear 3-5k, 2 gear 5.5k to 6k.. depends on your rev cut. change just before cut. 3rd gear same as 2nd. 4th gear, 3-5k. den resume 5th gear. complete twice your carbon almost cleared

Edited by Robo

Just drag twice and it will clear? Thought need to maintain for certain time period?

Is it floor all the way or accelerate gradually?

Edited by Dennisk

thanks...just curious, why 1 and 4 gear lower while 2 and 3 gear higher?

hmm... low gear high power. den 1st gear drag too much will spoil e gearbox. unless u have a high performance car tuned to a high powered gearbox... dont drag the 1st gear too high.. 4gear.. not much power so no use to pull.. unless u drop the speed abit on 4th gear den whack 3rd gear again

thanks...just curious, why 1 and 4 gear lower while 2 and 3 gear higher?

The best place to help your ride clear carbon is the NS Highway [nod]

Each gear can be dragged swee swee to almost redline other than 5th gear/6th gear unless your is a one of kind powerful ride [nod]

In Singapore road, it's not easy to do so ...

At most, your 3rd can drag til almost redline niah before licence tio kantong [:p]

IMHO, clearing carbon is not jus lutting it for a couple of mins niah :D

Edited by Mzrmazda3

I normally sent my vehicle to a workshop to check the carbon content that is accumulated into the throttle inlet. What they do is to remove the flexible hose connecting from the air-intake to the throttle head and check the inside for carbon deposit.

If require proper cleaning, they will remove the throttle intake and give a a throughout clearing. Thereafter, re-instate it one will find that the air flow is smoother.

Just drag twice and it will clear? Thought need to maintain for certain time period?

Is it floor all the way or accelerate gradually?

oh yes.. that too.. maintain for like 3-5secs for 2nd to 3rd gear..

2nd, 3rd and 4th gear i floor the pedal. den 5th drop to 4th. 2 or 3 times is sufficient to clear much carbon.

normal when i take 2nd link i will do this sequence den after that i try and maintain top speed for a few kms it should sufficiently clear. after sg customs once, after my custom again. den after the first toll i feel the throttle significantly lighter, whack 1 more time den try and maintain top speed till the exit to jb.

by the snd try.. can smell carbon smell liao

Edited by Robo

in sg i cannot really be bothered to clear.. no space.

only sometimes after midnight den on highway whack whack abit.. nvr above 120km.. no pt tio catch license kantong..

Hmmm...I don't really know how to clear carbon and was hoping that this thread may shed some light on the proper technique. So thanks guys for the feedback and responses! But I guess for my ride, the method may be slightly different as it revs to 8k and there's no limiter! Hope you guys can give some pointers...

u need ur engine block to heat up till very hot to burn the carbon in the chambers effectively (by itself), adding some cleaners into the fuel can assist to speed this up

cleaning the throttle body /intake manifold itself is a different matter, u need to dismantle it

My method:

Pedal hard all the way in the first 3 gears, even for the 1st gear i drag all the way to redline. Will redlining in the 1st gear harmful in long run?

Use Cowtax lah. You all never see advertisement on TV? Got Cowtax workers inside your engine doing the cleaning. [laugh] Not only clear carbon, protect your engine as well.

My method:

Pedal hard all the way in the first 3 gears, even for the 1st gear i drag all the way to redline. Will redlining in the 1st gear harmful in long run?

redline = stress components and dump fuel, it does nothing for clearing carbon but makes it worse

u feel "smoother" after that cos the ecu detects a more agressive style and adjusts the fuel map temporarily accordingly

My experience on clearing carbon.. same as what mention above.. ramp up hard and then up and down NSHWY ... feels good after that.. but nothing beats doing the real top engine overhaul .... see for yourself how the sludge and carbon built up.. they even need to oil and grind the carbon out.

From then on, I trust no oil additives for cleaning.. carbon that hardened how to clear by it self... now car feels good for GOOD... at least for the last 8 months!!