Where to get 3M Windo-Weld, need to use on Engine Mount

Vtim

Anyone know where to get hold of the 3M Windo-Weld (Primerless) Super Fast Urethane ?

My stock engine mounts, especially the lower back are torn and the front one is about to suffer the same fate (after only 50k to 60k km).

This 3M Windo-Weld can be used to filled up all the "gaps" in the stock engine mounts ( I will be doing it on a set of new engine mount) and make it last much more longer, most US DIY guys are doing it to their stock engine mount as it is much cheaper than aftermarket Polyurethane engine mount.

see here:

http://www.raktron.com/misc/mt.htm

http://importnut.net/motormount.htm

post-319-1245768041_thumb.jpg

Edited by Vtim

u nvr fail 2 amaze mi bro.... [thumbsup]

have to do it lah, not many Trajet around liao and stockist may not be stocking it in 2 to 3yrs times, so I better strengthen the newer ones so it can last at least 100k km and will also rebuilt the current mount that is crack. So I'll have another spare set, all this is done at a very low cost [thumbsup]

thanks, will take a look [thumbsup]

Hi there, i read ur thread with interest. My car is alsoo experiencing intermitten vibrations and i suspect it to be the mounts. Currently 40k.

I dun tink i want to chg them out as yet and was wondering if the mentioned product will help? If u are doing it, r u gg to DIY?

Hi there, i read ur thread with interest. My car is alsoo experiencing intermitten vibrations and i suspect it to be the mounts. Currently 40k.

I dun tink i want to chg them out as yet and was wondering if the mentioned product will help? If u are doing it, r u gg to DIY?

Yes, I am going to DIY but onto a new engine mount so that it will last longer than the usual 40 to 50k km as I plan to drive it till scrap [sweatdrop]

sounds like a lot of work. [sweatdrop]

oh yes, it will take at least 24hrs, depending on how much/thick I want to apply

40 - 50K only ??? Are engine mounts suppose to last such a short lifespan?? My car close to 100K le...

not all are the same, my Trajet are known to last only around 50k plus or minus [sweatdrop]

After you strengthen the engine mount, your car will vibrate like a race car. You will feel the engine vibration throughout the whole vehicle, very noisy. [shakehead]

That's why I am using this 3M type of polyurethane which has a "Shore A Hardness" of 60 - 65, which is softer than those after-market polyurethane engine mount insert which is around 90, even the SBR on the stock engine mount is more than 80 and is much harder. With a softer material (60 - 65) filling up all those gaps on the stock SBR engine mount, it will cushion the vibration of the SBR and prevent it from pre-mature crack/tear.

hmmmm.... Didn't know trajet one so bad.. Thinking of diy dye my fabric seat...

I think it is better to install leather seat instead if you have kids, fabric traps too much dirt [sweatdrop]

I done it for my wife car liao. It's only a bit better than the C-ONE engine mounting my car using, but still feel lots of vibration from the engine.