Post-It notes new weapon in parking war

CarsNStars

These inconsiderate parking are not confined to landed houses, my condo carpark has such parking idiots too. It's usually the bigger cars such as CRX, Toyota Estima that parked head in and eat into the lot beside. They never think how can others park beside when they take up more than one lot and even if I managed to squeeze in, how are they going to reverse out with the limited rear space.

i always have this wicked idea to park super close to the car until he cannot open the door or no way to reverse out

then purposely stay a few meters away and observe what he do [sly]

haven't got the answer whether can phone-record the incident and demand for a paint job if he dings my door (especially when i need a new paint job) [sly]

These inconsiderate parking are not confined to landed houses, my condo carpark has such parking idiots too. It's usually the bigger cars such as CRX, Toyota Estima that parked head in and eat into the lot beside. They never think how can others park beside when they take up more than one lot and even if I managed to squeeze in, how are they going to reverse out with the limited rear space.

I hear ya,

I have the same problem in my condo, most owners have big jeeps like nissan murano, toyota fortuner and various continental cars, sometimes 2-3 and they park taking up 1 1/2 lots.. not only that, they tend to misjudge the

space (when reversing) and tend to reverse their big cars all the way in to the extent that it blocks the walkway behind the carpark !

get a lousy smelly fish lowlee, park beside them [pirate]

problem solved [thumbsup]

Den shake the lowlee abit so maybe some of the fish got drop on the car... hehehe [lipsrsealed]

if you cannot beat them, join them. get this and show them whose got a bigger shiit

2632394669_f6b2587fa5.jpg

and if your condo management aint like what you got, it is time to show some muscles:

ironhide2.jpg

no need to to shake lowlee.....

(heavy breathing) you donnnnn knnnoowww the POWER of the Fish sidddeeeee( heavy breathing) [smash][smash][laugh]

re giving way to buses, some bus drivers have taken a step too far, even you very close liao, they will just shoot out. happens almost every other day !

wah you think until so cheem, i think it's simply upbringing & if being considerate is taught & shown.

My real life e.g not saying that it is representative.

But really got me to understand how my actions has impact on my kid and I have to change my bad habit consciously.

I have to watch my behaviour when I am driving with her in the car. Sometimes idiots will caused me to cursed

"WTH is that guy trying to do?" (which is very toned down from before) when they cut in or drive w/o due care.

One fine day, I had to brake hard to avoid this car coming out of a lot w/o due care. B4 I cld say anything, my girl already

quipped "Aiyo, what is he doing" followed my incomprehensive grumbling about the incident.

That's from a <3yo. Now, I seriously bite my tongue with her around but am suffering Dissociative identity disorder. [smallcry]

I can't blame kids for monkey see monkey do. But as they grow, they fail

to change their bad habits with maturity (rushing in to MRT blocking people getting out comes to mind)

Perhaps u are right. underlying factor inner pride

wah you think until so cheem, i think it's simply upbringing & if being considerate is taught & shown.

My real life e.g not saying that it is representative.

But really got me to understand how my actions has impact on my kid and I have to change my bad habit consciously.

I have to watch my behaviour when I am driving with her in the car. Sometimes idiots will caused me to cursed

"WTH is that guy trying to do?" (which is very toned down from before) when they cut in or drive w/o due care.

One fine day, I had to brake hard to avoid this car coming out of a lot w/o due care. B4 I cld say anything, my girl already

quipped "Aiyo, what is he doing" followed my incomprehensive grumbling about the incident.

That's from a <3yo. Now, I seriously bite my tongue with her around but am suffering Dissociative identity disorder. [smallcry]

I can't blame kids for monkey see monkey do. But as they grow, they fail

to change their bad habits with maturity (rushing in to MRT blocking people getting out comes to mind)

Perhaps u are right. underlying factor inner pride

Dunno... everytime I come to MCF my brain behaves differently [laugh] To sum up my "cheemalogy", we do not have (enough) pride in ourselves.

if you cannot beat them, join them. get this and show them whose got a bigger shiit

2632394669_f6b2587fa5.jpg

dude you are a redneck at heart. if you were white american, you'd be attending monster truck rally as well as the rodeo [laugh][thumbsup]

This is so hilarious I just have to post it up here for all to see. Warning : For entertainment purposes only! In no way do we condone using Post-It notes for anything other than boring memos.

------

Original article taken from AsiaOne Motoring.

Respect my car space

By Fiona Chan

In a peaceful little cul-de-sac somewhere in the west of Singapore lives a family that is - almost - like any other.

damn it, it isnt like any other, just how many are not a prisoner of the loan of the car, not to even mention a garage. and the lovely house, most of us are holed up in stacked up apartments that are less than 110sqm and have to walk so damn bloody far from the mscp and have to fight for the season parking lots.

and lets face it, most people are working and slogging so hard for a house that they leave empty most of the time. wtf

They have a bunch of well-dressed kids, a lovely house and a garage that can hold three cars comfortably.

There's just one problem: The household has more than three cars. Quite a lot more. Seven, to be exact.

When the entire family comes home, as inevitably they do, their cars - marked by the same digits on all their licence plates - overflow onto the road in front of their house like a vehicular oil spill. They seep insidiously into the lots in front of their neighbours' houses, tarring their personal space and polluting their goodwill.

obviously it is not an ordinary family, if they can buy seven cars why not buy over the neighbour's house to use as garage. and double digit number plates are not cheap to bid, even triple number house units are rarer. no wonder COE prices are going up. in the end, the common folk suffer again at their expense.

I know this because every time I drive over to visit my friend, who lives opposite this family, I have to dodge their cars while looking for somewhere convenient to park.

Of course, it's not illegal to take up parking spaces that your neighbours don't use. It's not even morally wrong for a single household to own seven cars (although I, the owner of half a car, think it should be).

But, to me, buying several more cars than your own house can accommodate is the height of inconsideration.

It's not like there isn't an obvious solution: Just sell one of the sports cars and use the money to build a bigger garage, for heaven's sake.

Then again, thoughtless motoring behaviour appears to be the norm in Singapore. In my own, significantly less wealthy, estate, many of the older single-storey houses are too small to shelter even one car. So residents park their cars right outside their houses, on both sides of the narrow road, along which runs a single white line.

This is actually illegal but the owners clearly don't care.

just where is the saman aunty when we need her???

What they seem more concerned about is glaring at me as I am forced to inch my car through the obstacle course created by their protruding vehicles to get to my house.

I've never actually rammed into one of their cars. But I am always tempted to.

just bang lah, if everyone does a part and keep scratching those nice cars, they'll end up in the house in a matter of days

The same goes for all those foodies who park illegally outside eateries - even when there is a perfectly legitimate carpark just a few minutes' walk away - just so they can maximise their eating convenience.

The Sunday Times ran an article last week about how nerve-racking it is for these drivers to dine and dash. But it is 10 times worse for the rest of us, who have our nerves shredded trying to carefully squeeze past their obstructive cars, and don't even get to stuff our faces.

What I would love to do is paste notes on the dashboards of these parked cars and make them look like parking summonses, just to give their owners a scare.

"Gotcha, sucker!" these notes will say. "Next time it will be for real."

I don't quite have the meanness - or, to be honest, the balls - to do this, although my friends tell me they've stuck Post-it warnings on the cars they've seen illegally parked near their homes.

All I do, in a cowardly fashion, is live in hope that one day the traffic police will come knocking on the doors of these parking idiots.

continue dreaming

After all, in Singapore, that seems to be to be the only way that anyone can be persuaded to do what in other countries would be plain common sense.

Take buses for example. You might think that letting a poor lumbering bus exit from its bus bay would be a natural instinct for other motorists.

But no, drivers have to be threatened with a fine before they will give way to a bus. Unfortunately, there's no penalty for drivers who grumble loudly and non-stop about the new law.

no not true, some bus drivers are quite a.s.s.hooles too

Do we really have to introduce - and enforce - punishments for every thinkable inconsiderate driving activity? Surely there is some shame in always having the obvious spelt out in the form of a law?

still living in dreamland, how to enforce every small little thing and offence?

If there's anything I've learnt from years of kindness campaigns, it's that courtesy can't be taught. So I'm taking matters into my own hands.

courtesy starts from within yourself. if you cant be courteous, dont expect others to be courteous to you.

and if you feign courtesy only because you expect it in return, then forget it, courtesy doesnt go full circle.

The next time I visit my friend in his cul-de-sac, his neighbours better watch out. I'll be armed - with a bunch of Post-its.

便利贴女孩 in action?

[email protected]

re giving way to buses, some bus drivers have taken a step too far, even you very close liao, they will just shoot out. happens almost every other day !

totally agree... it happen to me too... they are like king of the road liao...

manz, if you know of anyone who has but doesnt want those dakar rally srickers, pass them on to me [bounce2][bounce2]

SAF should have their own dakar rally in area d [pirate]

i confirm volunteer reservist [bounce2][bounce1][bounce1]

Now I juz re-read the post I wonder how some people so lucky and fortunate (to live in such a big house) can be so unkind to park like that. Maybe once u reach a certain level of richness u tend to forget abt others and think purely for urself, and see others as low class.... or at least do what you want pretending they dun exist :X