Property Agent how much??

Sugar

I got a colleague who has just tendered his job. He said he is going to be a property agent, saying how much money agents can make.

So i want to find out how much does a full time property agent make.

Not the top agents and not those that just join for a few months only.

Those really average agents who is doing full time and has been in this field for say 5 years?

I also know it depends on whether the economy is booming or in recession....but just a really average figure.

Thanks

both my neighbour are property agent, one just join and she was told that she may not get paid for the first 6mths (as commission from developer may be delay as long as 6 to 9 mths) [sweatdrop]

I tried last time as property agent, worked 8 months close only one rental and one HDB sales, earn 3K only...nearly bankrupt...

before u start must really have a lot of savings to sustain, petrol, newspaper advert, food, fliers, namecards etc etc etc all need money....

I believe u must have the will to win, or desperate to survive (owe a lot of money,back against the wall type) to succeed in property agent, dun think about money first, make sure you have enough contact/network, really knowledgeable in your property sale detail/paperwork, have a lot of patience...

if you have the mentality to "try out only", "see how it goes", then you better think twice....

lastly, be prepared to come across nasty customer/buyer and unscruptunous fellow agents.....

it is basically a sales job. good in talking, pick a right niche like selling gcb when times are good and switching to lower end products when bad times, lots of hard work and luck, can earn easily $100k a year. easily. be ruthless and unprofessional (lots of them are, lots of them from my experience) and can easily scam people and earn more.

you dun need to be ruthless and unprofessional or scam to earn more than 100k, this is really uncalled for.

What you need is good attitude and professionalism and referrals will come your way.

you dun need to be ruthless and unprofessional or scam to earn more than 100k, this is really uncalled for.

What you need is good attitude and professionalism and referrals will come your way.

with the new law coming in Jan, there'll be less "flippers" in the market, that's why I still cannot decide whether to join my neighbour's property agency, they are mostly dealing with new project launches [sweatdrop].

No CPF, no medical benefits, consider as self employed [sweatdrop]

with the new law coming in Jan, there'll be less "flippers" in the market, that's why I still cannot decide whether to join my neighbour's property agency, they are mostly dealing with new project launches [sweatdrop].

Can i ask what new law that is coming in Jan?

I am sure with the massive number of transactions of late, many people out there will be tempted to be a property agent.

if you are starting from scratch.... you may want to consider carefully, i know you got quite a few mouths to feed.

But if you have contacts and already have quite a number of people in buying/selling, you can try to go for it.

Alternatively, what you can do is, find a property agent friend, tie up with him, as a partner and for cases referred/handled by you, while he just get the paperwork done, you get a commission for it. Of course percentage wise, he should get higher.

I am sure with the massive number of transactions of late, many people out there will be tempted to be a property agent.

your capital gains may be taxed if you sell more than 1 property a year.

if you sell more than 1 property within a period of 4yrs, you are consider a property trader, so the profit from the sales are taxable, at the moment, it depend on IRAS to decide whether to tax or not.

if you are starting from scratch.... you may want to consider carefully, i know you got quite a few mouths to feed.

But if you have contacts and already have quite a number of people in buying/selling, you can try to go for it.

Alternatively, what you can do is, find a property agent friend, tie up with him, as a partner and for cases referred/handled by you, while he just get the paperwork done, you get a commission for it. Of course percentage wise, he should get higher.

yah man, 4 kids to feed and my mum have renal failure (PD at home).

you alternative is a good idea [thumbsup]

your capital gains may be taxed if you sell more than 1 property a year.

I remember it's more than 1 property within 4 yrs [sweatdrop]

Edited by Vtim

Just a quick one, property is commission based.

and in this line work hard doesnt = $$

some people chiong like siao in the end also kena play hard.

It is called self-employed for a reason,

not only do you need good PR skills, luck, hard work, effort, determination, good time management.

$$ to last, motivation because you can sleep till cows come home.

i have 2 frens who came out of army and navy after 6-10 yeasr sign on.

i tell you the change is not simple.

I remember it's more than 1 property within 4 yrs [sweatdrop]

yuo. its 4 years. i type too fast. And it is not a sure thing that you will be taxed if you sell more than 1 property within 4 yrs. The key word is 'may' as in you may be taxed. So actually it is still based on the fella's mood [sweatdrop]

that's true, it's a big "may" but knowing IRAS, they might just Tax you after 10yrs later [sweatdrop]

One thing I find rather hilarious is that every Tom Dick or Harry property agent give themselves some fancy title - like Marketing Director, Sales Director. I mean who are they trying to kid? If it's about increasing their credibility then I can say please save it. It has totally the opposite effect.

The best form of credibility is sincerity and being professional.

why not? Many agents earn 5 figures a month.

But its not about the money.. Its about the passion. [thumbsup]

And its not fast money.. It takes time to cultivate. [nod]

Easily 20K per month? No passion will also do until got passion lar! :D