Rm2s 5th Gear July 17, 2009 Share July 17, 2009 I dunno why we rely so much on agents...the market is quite tranasparent and honestly, buying/selling property no need agent...you just need a good covenycing lawyer... I guess i have yet to find good one that deserves the kindda fees they charge... I think I am alone on this....seems like there are still many agents out there making BIG bucks.... Many reasons. Those big players or super rich does not have the time to advertise and attend to all the calls themselves. They will get agents to market their property for them and also get agents to lookout for good buys on their behalf. Sorting out all these pre-sale/pre-transaction activities can be a drag for many people, hence, agents still can make a living. You are right, a good, reliable conveyance lawyer is one of the key in property transaction, getting one is not as easy as it seems. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear July 17, 2009 Share July 17, 2009 Yalor Yalor [laugh] Easily 20K per month? No passion will also do until got passion lar! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear July 17, 2009 Share July 17, 2009 Then you should be in the 120K to 150K range. income tax is indeed heart aching. i have to save my one month performance bonus in march to pay for it. mine is after child and parents relief and a 20% rebate, else may have to terminate broadband liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched July 17, 2009 Share July 17, 2009 Luck only plays a small part in real estate industry. A lot got to depend on hard work. From what I encounter, luck plays a very big part. You can be very hardworking, doing alot of advertising and arranging alot of viewings, but ultimately whether people will call you for viewing or not, or will buy or not, is another matter altogether. It is not simply a formula that works, but only enhancing the possibility of success. When I bought my current house, I did first viewing in morning, and put downpayment in afternoon. The agent only advertised the house the day before and pocketed >$15k just like that. I had been on the hunt for quite some time and knew what I wanted so everything were cut out for the agent. But if you looked hard around at those houses on offer, you will see that some houses have been in the market for longest time and yet still can't find buyer. Pity the agent or agents handling the case. It could be due to condition of the house or unrealistic asking price of owners, but there is nothing much the agents can do. Especially in bad times where not many people want to buy. Whether a house can move depends really on alot of factors, hardwork of agent only being part of it. You must also factor in economy downturn period where sales are trickering. How are you going to feed your family with no income for few months in a stretch? A GCB agent I encountered is now doing suburban houses because he has not done any transaction for close to a year already. So he bo bian have to 'downgrade' his target to deal with commoners. But in good times, his 1 transaction can earn few hundreads Ks in commission! He is super hardworking, sacrificing alot of his personal time for work, but to no avail when market is really bad. Hardwork will be important but it will not guarranttee you success. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparks Neutral Newbie July 17, 2009 Share July 17, 2009 I think for all commission based jobs, you really need the luck and of course at the end of the day, hard work does pay off. Know the right people, know when to strike. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 17, 2009 Share July 17, 2009 I dunno why we rely so much on agents...the market is quite tranasparent and honestly, buying/selling property no need agent...you just need a good covenycing lawyer... I guess i have yet to find good one that deserves the kindda fees they charge... I think I am alone on this....seems like there are still many agents out there making BIG bucks.... nope you are not alone. all previous properties bot and sold myself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HONDAFIT08 Neutral Newbie July 17, 2009 Share July 17, 2009 hmm wat about car agent ? any car agent here ? can share isit a good and stable job with good salary ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched July 18, 2009 Share July 18, 2009 hmm wat about car agent ? any car agent here ? can share isit a good and stable job with good salary ? Not really. Any jobs with high commission and low (no) fix salary is never a stable job with good salary. There's potential for unlimited earnings, but the potential for zero earnings is also unlimited. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear July 18, 2009 Share July 18, 2009 actually hor, do you all think singapore's personal tax to be low, high or medium, as compared to the rest of the developed countries ? personally i think that other countries pay high tax but have social benefits like fully subsidised education and health care , but here, we do not enjoy such benefits, yet we pay a progressive income tax which is not really low. And dont forget that the 7% GST actually adds to the income tax, which can be quite substantial. example , if someone's take home pay is $100k per annum and he spends it all, he is paying 7% or $7k of tax in the form of gst, and add his payable income tax of $3k (i know), it adds up to $10k. which means is 10% tax, with no benefits. so are we paying less or more than the rest with social benefits ? pls include the 20% tax per mth tat we wont see think 62 yo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged July 18, 2009 Share July 18, 2009 pls include the 20% tax per mth tat we wont see think 62 yo. this i will have to disagree. seeing how alot people have diffculty managing their finances, be it credit card bills, car loans, etc.... without CPF alot more people will not have a home..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparks Neutral Newbie July 18, 2009 Share July 18, 2009 Same sentiments here. I am actually glad that there is CPF contribution every month. With my partner's combined amount, we could use less cash and less loan to finance property. Anyway, I think we have diverted away from the topic of how much property agent makes. Have a good weekend! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear July 18, 2009 Share July 18, 2009 oh PLS CPF is just an excuse to hdb flats at absurd prices. If govt didnt have cpf, flats now would have to be priced at half for the general population to afford housing. High HDB prices and CPF just aims to lock all your money with them so they can "invest it wisely" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsogoodman 4th Gear July 18, 2009 Share July 18, 2009 i know 1 agent, join only 3 weeks.. still undergoing course and training... already earning close to $20K in comm... it's about consistency, can he make $20K every 3 weeks for the next few months or years or is it only a one-off thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HONDAFIT08 Neutral Newbie July 18, 2009 Share July 18, 2009 Not really. Any jobs with high commission and low (no) fix salary is never a stable job with good salary. There's potential for unlimited earnings, but the potential for zero earnings is also unlimited. ya quite true . but maybe still young can give it a try 1st :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged July 18, 2009 Share July 18, 2009 oh PLS CPF is just an excuse to hdb flats at absurd prices. If govt didnt have cpf, flats now would have to be priced at half for the general population to afford housing. High HDB prices and CPF just aims to lock all your money with them so they can "invest it wisely" even if it is priced at half, alot people still can't manage it... if you can't manage a 40-50k car, even give you 150k 5rm, you gonna have problem.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged July 19, 2009 Share July 19, 2009 Everyone who attended those ERA or similar agent's recruitment talk will be impressed by their figures given for top sales people ( A Handful of them). Those drop out figure no mention (By the truck load). Yes, it always seem very nice when you go for talks but they'll never tell you how bad the situation is until you feel you've just fell into a shithole . No harm trying though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged July 19, 2009 Share July 19, 2009 From what I encounter, luck plays a very big part. You can be very hardworking, doing alot of advertising and arranging alot of viewings, but ultimately whether people will call you for viewing or not, or will buy or not, is another matter altogether. It is not simply a formula that works, but only enhancing the possibility of success. When I bought my current house, I did first viewing in morning, and put downpayment in afternoon. The agent only advertised the house the day before and pocketed >$15k just like that. I had been on the hunt for quite some time and knew what I wanted so everything were cut out for the agent. But if you looked hard around at those houses on offer, you will see that some houses have been in the market for longest time and yet still can't find buyer. Pity the agent or agents handling the case. It could be due to condition of the house or unrealistic asking price of owners, but there is nothing much the agents can do. Especially in bad times where not many people want to buy. Whether a house can move depends really on alot of factors, hardwork of agent only being part of it. You must also factor in economy downturn period where sales are trickering. How are you going to feed your family with no income for few months in a stretch? A GCB agent I encountered is now doing suburban houses because he has not done any transaction for close to a year already. So he bo bian have to 'downgrade' his target to deal with commoners. But in good times, his 1 transaction can earn few hundreads Ks in commission! He is super hardworking, sacrificing alot of his personal time for work, but to no avail when market is really bad. Hardwork will be important but it will not guarranttee you success. This economy downturn has made me realize luck is 90%, hardwork 10% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon Neutral Newbie July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 by the way.. does a property/car agent contribute Cpf? how to define taxable income? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...