OPC mindset

Picanto

That's more like Group 1 (call Group 1b) that I had categorized.

They won't cheat the system. No incentive to cheat lah!

not worth the risk lor.just pay $20,can use the whole day like nobody's business.

to those who cheat,sometimes,it doesn't necessarily are those who can't afford to pay..it's just in their system to cheat.everyday at jln jurong kechil can see a Touran rushing home after 7.30am. [lipsrsealed]

Cannot afford to pay, but still want to drive.

Pathetic!

Lidat, I'd rather take the train and not be termed a 'cheat' in life.

And also, if you post in forums to say that OPC cheats are wrong, you'll get innundated by howls of fury from OPC Cheat supporters who scream that "you have nothing better to do?"

haha....yep. typical broken record. no point arguing w them. see if those cheaters still tok so yaya when they get caught n got to court to pay their $10k fine.

Cannot afford to pay, but still want to drive.Pathetic!

Lidat, I'd rather take the train and not be termed a 'cheat' in life.

I think your statement refers to OPC cheats as well as those who cheat the 3/4 tank rule in order to save cost of petrol.

i would like to find out what triggers OPC drivers to take the risk to beat the system. the punishment is heavy yet they still dare to do it. any comments?

There are cases of pure carelessness.

It was a saturday morning and becos on fri was a public holiday, so i woke up thinking it was sunday and i proceeded to drive my OPC car to buy breakfast. When i moved abt less than 200m frm my home, it suddenly stuck me that today is SATURDAY and i quickly turn back! [sweatdrop]

Edited by Rickster

Think the OPC cheaters make up a very small minority of OPC drivers out there. All the OPC drivers I know are honest and use the coupons whenever neccessary, otherwise, they stick to the OPC timing.

The mentality of the cheaters? Well now, I think they all have different mentalities as individual people in everyday life, normal functioning adults one and all. But one thing they have in common is the MOTIVATION...think most people here must have experienced this type of motivation in one way or another in our lives. Ask yourself this: Have you ever re-used parking coupons? Have you ever been to JB for the express purpose of fuelling up? And when you did so, have you ever rocked your vehicle up & down so as to get more cheap fuel in? Have you ever driven at max 3 - 4K rpm for the entire duration of a tank of fuel? What was your motivation for doing these things? SAVE MONEY lorrr....

how much is the fine? if it is too little like 100, then people will am more willing to cheat as takes 5 cheats only to win back the money.

erm...if is only $100.

Penalty for failing to display a day licence

It is a serious offence for failing to display a valid day licence, use an invalid or altered day licence when an OPC is used during the restricted hours. First time offenders may be fined up to $5,000 for failing to display a valid day licence or using an invalid day licence, and fined up to $10,000 for using an altered day licence when the OPC is used during the restricted hours.

you'll need to cheat er... 250 times to win back level 1 prize and 500 times to win back level 2 prize. thats like cheating for one or two years straight. [sweatdrop]

I totally agreed with you. I rather pay $20 for ease of mind than to try to break the rules. May bypass the system once but not always so lucky one. So we should not brand all OPC as the same. Well, we are dealing with people issue here.

Ask yourself this: Have you ever re-used parking coupons?

Ans: Yes, tio orr gong $50......don dare to do again [sweatdrop]

Have you ever been to JB for the express purpose of fuelling up?

Ans: Yes. Everyweek w/o fail at MY railway station [thumbsup]

And when you did so, have you ever rocked your vehicle up & down so as to get more cheap fuel in?

Ans: Never. Cheap fuel is cheap and don need to chop passport, queue up, risk kena rob [drivingcar]

Have you ever driven at max 3 - 4K rpm for the entire duration of a tank of fuel?

Ans: Yes. All the time. when i hit 4k, i redline already [lipsrsealed]

What was your motivation for doing these things?

Ans: SAVE MONEY lorrr.... [idea]

for every opc that cheats, lta loses $20. in the end its the govt that loses $$. for normal car drivers, i believe we dun lose any $$. we just carry on with life as usual.

no disrespect but I disagree with this.

government will collect what they want to collect to do what they want or need to do, build roads, pay civil servants, buy F16s, etc.

and if they cannot get money from person A, they will get it from person B.

so yes, I believe that OPC cheats affect me personally. if government budget got shortfall because more and more people decide to cheat on coupons, then government will find a way to raise the money, from higher fuel taxes, road taxes, car taxes, parking taxes, ie from ME. [furious]

no disrespect but I disagree with this.

government will collect what they want to collect to do what they want or need to do, build roads, pay civil servants, buy F16s, etc.

and if they cannot get money from person A, they will get it from person B.

so yes, I believe that OPC cheats affect me personally. if government budget got shortfall because more and more people decide to cheat on coupons, then government will find a way to raise the money, from higher fuel taxes, road taxes, car taxes, parking taxes, ie from ME. [furious]

but the govt does not know how many people try to cheat in one day. the revenue loss is a BIG question mark.

govt is coming up with an electronic system to cut down on the number of cheaters. whether they can succeed or not remains an issue.

but the govt does not know how many people try to cheat in one day. the revenue loss is a BIG question mark.

govt is coming up with an electronic system to cut down on the number of cheaters. whether they can succeed or not remains an issue.

My opinion is that our govt is the only "company" in the world that can actually earn money from the actual research itself [:p]

If you've seen the overview of LTA's masterplan, its very clear that OPC's are a testbed for how our govt can implement a "pay as you use scheme". Once the electronic system is implemented and fine-tuned, and when there are sufficent ERP gantries, they will be getting rid of the OPC scheme.

So whatever in the cost for the information they've gotten from the OPC scheme, I'm sure they've factored in that people will cheat and an estimated cost.

I think your statement refers to OPC cheats as well as those who cheat the 3/4 tank rule in order to save cost of petrol.

Oops, yes ... sorry wasn't clear. I meant the OPC cheats, not OPC owners.

iif government budget got shortfall because more and more people decide to cheat on coupons, then government will find a way to raise the money, from higher fuel taxes, road taxes, car taxes, parking taxes, ie from ME. [furious]

OPC cheat topic aside, how often do they run a fxxking deficit? (not saying they don't but how often?)

They (the collective "authorities" as a whole) collect so much money until they do not fxxking know what to do with it until they lose it in western banks/ minibonds/ etc, start thinking of how to increase minister's pay further.

So much money until town council think they are mini-tamadesick.

When talk abt increase public assistance to 3000 families, they increase by $50/ mth from $250 to $300 initially, they come up with CCB so many reasons (like eroding work ethic etc).

Increasing the minister's pay by more than 50,000 won't erode work ethic?

Ok. Back to OPC cheats.

If u put one nekkid SYT in front of some guys, their brain functions shut down and the other HEAD goes full throttle, then later kenna STDs etc or wreck family ties, come forum cry father cry mother.

Cannot resist temptation.

and whenever i see the fireworks at national day parade, feel heart pain. its like burning away tax payers $$.

literally is actually...

Every morning without fail will see those subaru impreza,fake suzuki swift sport,red plate chiong on expressway.Seriously,no money buy coupons then take bus,why risk other ppl life by chionging on expressway when raining?cut ppl lane just to reach before 7am.How fast can they go when I'm already 90 in the tunnel and in front of me is a taxi.End up what those ppl got,7.05 at the exit of the expressway.Does it make them a cheat?Well,I think they are.Seriously,with those cheats coming up.I would soon write to TP to get them to station on CTE,in between two tunnels to catch those cheats.they are just too much.Just my 2 cents worth.