Keenblade Clutched August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 As he said... when it first came out, it's a blast of a drive and almost one of a kind. Though now with a few competitors (Fabia, various korean hatches, Jazz/Fit) is it worth the premium (added insurance etc)? Perhaps the key point I was asking was if it is worth it to get one now or should I wait for the 2011/2012 SSS to be released lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 As he said... when it first came out, it's a blast of a drive and almost one of a kind. Though now with a few competitors (Fabia, various korean hatches, Jazz/Fit) is it worth the premium (added insurance etc)? Perhaps the key point I was asking was if it is worth it to get one now or should I wait for the 2011/2012 SSS to be released lol Jazz and Fit are hardly "competitors" IMHO... Fabia looks like a ripped off of the swift and their VS Fabia is just a tuned up TSi engine... Korean hatches? Which ones? Sorry I'm comparing based on performance. Now the question is, can you afford a SSS now? If the anwser is "yes", then by wait for the 2012 SSS? Since you are getting the old SSS anyway. the older the SSS, the short the loan so it doesn't mean cheaper hor. Having a Swift 1.5a for 5 years almost "chui" already but that's cos I neglected it and family dunno how to take good care. Get a young SSS (2009 at least) to enjoy it's prime years... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cluboxed 1st Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 maybe the new SSS will come with a 1.4L turbocharged... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keenblade Clutched August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 @Pocus: yeah, if one really wants a SSS, just get one lol. I'll probably be shopping around for one soon enough. @Cluboxed: Maybe it would have a 1.6 twin turbo and an option for Traction control for the heck of it =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 It's more "Fun" than "Fast" lah.... But in 2006 when it just launched, 125Bhp for a Euro 4 1.6 engine is unheard off. May not be as fun as the mini cooper or the Audi A1, but for a fraction of the price you really can't complain much... maybe it's the revvy engine and short shift throws that gives the impression that it's 'fast'. it definitely lives up to its name: swift. but fast, not really. the high driving position, high clutch biting point and jiggly ride oso kinda spoils the fun abit. hope the new model improves on these. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thirt13n Neutral Newbie August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 maybe it's the revvy engine and short shift throws that gives the impression that it's 'fast'. it definitely lives up to its name: swift. but fast, not really. the high driving position, high clutch biting point and jiggly ride oso kinda spoils the fun abit. hope the new model improves on these. hahaha its not fast, just the pick up is good because of the close gear ratio. in short, SSS is a sprinter, not a marathon runner.. but i always found it weird that the height of the car is too high.. i m quite tall and there is still ample space above my head when im seated which doesnt make sense to me hahaha.. but i have no doubt that its a really fun car to drive.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 maybe the new SSS will come with a 1.4L turbocharged... that will only happen if the CEO of Suzuki is Tan Ku Ku...lol jokes aside, sorry to burst the bubble but heard the new SSS will not have a TSi engine or a DSG gearbox as speculated by some magazines. Even though VW owns 20% of Suzuki, they are still pretty much left to their own R&D. So expect a newer NA unit for the 2012 SSS fully developed by Suzuki themselves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jq1988 4th Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 Suzuki Swift Sports is an awesome car to drive...fast, very fast....powerful.....very powerful.....can hit 210km/h on NS highway o... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 (edited) The new SSS has already been announced.. "...It is powered by a 1.6-litre petrol engine linked to a six-speed manual gearbox, and produces 134bhp at 4400rpm(?) and 118lb ft of torque" Answers any doubts.. SSS.bmp Edited August 10, 2011 by Magfocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 11, 2011 Share August 11, 2011 Suzuki Swift Sports is an awesome car to drive...fast, very fast....powerful.....very powerful.....can hit 210km/h on NS highway o... Fast car but heard not a comfortable car for long distance?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pitbull Clutched August 11, 2011 Share August 11, 2011 Fast car but heard not a comfortable car for long distance?! Part of it becoz the stock seat too soft, the cushions sagged when you sit on them. No support for lower back and butt, and i'm only 63kg, cannot imagine a heavy weight sitting on them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged August 11, 2011 Share August 11, 2011 The new SSS has already been announced.. "...It is powered by a 1.6-litre petrol engine linked to a six-speed manual gearbox, and produces 134bhp at 4400rpm(?) and 118lb ft of torque" Answers any doubts.. 6 spd is good, but 134bhp at 4.4k rpm? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear August 11, 2011 Share August 11, 2011 6 spd is good, but 134bhp at 4.4k rpm? I believe its a typo, its for the max torque at 4400rpm. Still, i guess people have expected a better power output from the SSS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear August 11, 2011 Share August 11, 2011 Suzuki Swift Sports is an awesome car to drive...fast, very fast....powerful.....very powerful.....can hit 210km/h on NS highway o... Better hold on tight to your seats... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keenblade Clutched August 11, 2011 Share August 11, 2011 As Richard Hammond usually likes to say... It's not about how many brake horsepower (BHP), but rather the Horsepower per Tonne (power to weight ratio) that matters! Swift is small and light, less bhp increments is needed to make it fly lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear August 11, 2011 Share August 11, 2011 I believe its a typo, its for the max torque at 4400rpm. Still, i guess people have expected a better power output from the SSS. 134bhp from a 1.6l NA engine is already pretty decent especially if it meets emissions standards. I am glad they stuck to their philosophy of making a high revving small NA engine coupled with manual transmission. It stays true to the SSS philosophy which uses certain basic principles to make a fun car. High revving engine, close ratios manual with light kerb weight. Hope they remember to keep the boot small As the new swift is lighter than the old swift, I expect this SSS to be lighter than the current gen SSS as well. Expecting perhaps a weight saving of 50kg thereabouts? With the 6 speed manual, I hope the FD will increase - 4.9 or 5.1 FD should be great. With that, it will be an affordable (relatively speaking) entry level trackie car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear August 11, 2011 Share August 11, 2011 (edited) Press release from Suzuki NEW SUZUKI SWIFT SPORT TO MAKE WORLD DEBUT AT 2011 FRANKFURT MOTOR SHOW New Swift Sport: an evolution of Swift series' sporty flagship The new generation Suzuki Swift Sport will make its world debut at the 64th International Motor Show (IAA), which will be held in Frankfurt, Germany, from 13 to 25 September 2011 * Edited August 11, 2011 by TandemAssassin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear August 11, 2011 Share August 11, 2011 134bhp from a 1.6l NA engine is already pretty decent especially if it meets emissions standards. I am glad they stuck to their philosophy of making a high revving small NA engine coupled with manual transmission. It stays true to the SSS philosophy which uses certain basic principles to make a fun car. High revving engine, close ratios manual with light kerb weight. Hope they remember to keep the boot small As the new swift is lighter than the old swift, I expect this SSS to be lighter than the current gen SSS as well. Expecting perhaps a weight saving of 50kg thereabouts? With the 6 speed manual, I hope the FD will increase - 4.9 or 5.1 FD should be great. With that, it will be an affordable (relatively speaking) entry level trackie car. I agree, i am glad they refused to give it any more power and disrupt the max attack and still sane speeds kinda mantra for the SSS Thats what makes it fun right? Plus i like the looks of the new one.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...