Boyboy 1st Gear November 13, 2009 Share November 13, 2009 Hey bros.. i am looking at the mio plan now.. was told $56 for mio tv broadband and house phone. I would like to ask is 6mbps enuogh or need 10mbps. i am currently on 10mbps but i dun really dl things much . at most stream movie and play online game. i think just go for the base plan. 3 mpbs i believe i just downgraded my starhub from 8 to 2mbps. honestly no diff for me. most of the shows i dl also not the popular ones so i can't get super fast dl speeds on 8mbps anyway. occasionally 2megabyte per second but usually max 200kbps nia. same same with my downgraded connection ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged November 13, 2009 Share November 13, 2009 i think just go for the base plan. 3 mpbs i believe i just downgraded my starhub from 8 to 2mbps. honestly no diff for me. most of the shows i dl also not the popular ones so i can't get super fast dl speeds on 8mbps anyway. occasionally 2megabyte per second but usually max 200kbps nia. same same with my downgraded connection lotsa techies already talk about STIX, no matter how big your pipe locally, your limit is still at the STIX. all the stuff we surf for is outside singapore, so no matter how big our pipe, it will be of no use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear November 13, 2009 Share November 13, 2009 DO NOT TAKE UP MIO PLAN. i warned you, dont come back complaining... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfisti168 1st Gear November 13, 2009 Share November 13, 2009 I hav to go exchange the modem 3 times in one month. wat do u think? I think you must have put your modem at a not-so-cool place bah? For me, my modem is standing one. So larger surface area for cooling... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 DO NOT TAKE UP MIO PLAN. i warned you, dont come back complaining... please be more specific, don't just warn and never give detail [hur] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear November 14, 2009 Author Share November 14, 2009 I took up the mio plan a month back. so far no complains....modem on lan connection no hiccups, switch to wireless connection from kitchen to my bedroom excellent....overall satisfied with mio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 Its being more than a year with MIO - Mobile, Land line and BB. So far so good After I took up, few of my friend also sign up, majority ok except some minor issue but they have being all resolve: 1) Cross line, friend received calls which the dialer actually dial a very different number.... 2) MIO TV has affect BB causing DC, but after a few checks, ok since then. Above were all story of abt a year ago, like I said - so far so good.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 On MIO home plan for about a year. 1. Analogue Phone line no issues. 2. Unlimited video on demand on MIO TV. Seriously, the programme selection sucks. Movies mostly B-grade. I don't even bother to watch nowadays. 3. 8M broadband is fast, but disconnects occasionally. I have basically given up using the wireless LAN. Nowadays I just connect my laptop straight to the ADSL modem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 ok.. thanx all for the replies! because tat phone is a spare line as last time use to dail up 56k de.. so my hse also quite seldom use. Anyway i would like to know if it still can be connected to fax machine? as now my tat line is 2 port to 1 phone and 1 fax machine... anyway wat attract me is the 30% off for 3 mobile line oso.. seems quite good singtel ask me call 1688. 1688 say will call me back by yest.. but no reply from them... thanx everyone! Do post if there is any other prob as i haven sign up yet.. haha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nts0408 Neutral Newbie November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 because tat phone is a spare line as last time use to dail up 56k de.. so my hse also quite seldom use. Anyway i would like to know if it still can be connected to fax machine? as now my tat line is 2 port to 1 phone and 1 fax machine... Your fax machine can only connect directly to the MIO modem phone output. The incoming line will be converted to digital if you are using MIO plan and will not support analog phone or fax machine. So you have to ensure the fax machine is closed to MIO modem or there is a phone line to extend the output to your machine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 That was also my consideration, until i experienced an estate-wide power outage that knocked out all 3 telco's mobile base-stations as well, so handphone signals all gone Considering my land line was not that high, i remained analogue. next time get a battery back up system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidercool 1st Gear November 14, 2009 Share November 14, 2009 Me on MIO since day 1 for > 4 yrs. No prob at all. Upgraded to 6M just this year. Should cast votes for this thread. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weymin Neutral Newbie January 10, 2010 Share January 10, 2010 MIO sucks big time....so does the call services. I've always been on Starhub, but after moving to an older Condo, the place wasn't wired for BroadBand (meaning Starhub Broadband cannot connect - including the digital line). No choice but to get additonal MIO (TV, Digi LandLine + Broadband). Ask yourself, when you switch on StarHub Cable TV, do you need to wait at least a minute before you get a program? MIO does. Do you need to keep your StarHub Set-top box Power ON (in Standby mode) 24/7? MIO requires it else each time you turn on the Set-top Box, at least 15~20 minutes. Both digital line are the same (cause they depend on the Modem for signal), BUT, the SingTel Broadband signal keeps dropping (just Jan2010 alone, I made 3 calls to the call centre to get issue resolve). Make matters worst, can't use landline to call, so call on Handphone to 1688......imagine you're using HP call time listening to Elevator music for 20~30 minutes! When you do get them online, the problem can't be resolved...(standard "wait 15~20 minutes" for system to reset or port to be reset - which btw it never does, and you've got to call back to demand for a technician to be dispatched). Luckily, my current place is rental, and I'm moving out in a year's time.....I'll definitely swtiching back to Starhub services. AT least when I had problems, it was always resolved online (I only had the Technician visited once). If eve the two telco goes into the common Box collaboration, I hope its the Starhub one we consumers are getting......SingTel has businesses elsewhere to even bother about improving local services (its Singapore that gave them the start - I'm sure its forgotten). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear January 10, 2010 Share January 10, 2010 Do we really need 3 Telco with our market size?? Is it bringing more benefits and more saving to the people? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged January 10, 2010 Share January 10, 2010 i think starhub's offer is currently unbeatable. i just switched my savings is amazing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 10, 2010 Share January 10, 2010 Do we really need 3 Telco with our market size?? Is it bringing more benefits and more saving to the people? actually last time only one, people say monopoly and they can do whatever they want, now got 3 also complaint Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear January 10, 2010 Share January 10, 2010 actually last time only one, people say monopoly and they can do whatever they want, now got 3 also complaint I not complaining lah, I am asking a question only mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic January 10, 2010 Share January 10, 2010 actually last time only one, people say monopoly and they can do whatever they want, now got 3 also complaint because oligopoly is much worse. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...