Atrecord Supersonic May 22, 2016 Share May 22, 2016 So you didn't buy a bigger mpv?Not yet. Was hoping estima will see a brand new model later this year so decided to renew coe and wait till next year when hopefully got suitable model and coe also low... And since the Wish had been ok so renew n continue. Then if got suitable model next year just sell or scrap to get back protested pqp. Now no new estima, next year see which is best fit lor... My starter motor failed me around 9.5 years or 250k mileage. Replaced with a used one for about $150. The initial symptom was car unable to start. Waited for few minutes and tried again and it was ok. After some month/s same happened again and again waited for few minutes before starting again. Finally decided to get a workshop to check and it was the starter motor. Ours always start at first crank leh... Like this also suddenly conk... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 22, 2016 Share May 22, 2016 If no crank sound when turn the ignition on likely to be the batt. If crank sound and still can't start than is the starter motor. The latest batt life span last around 1 year with so many electronic stuffs inside the car now a days. Worse for t hu is maintenance free batt. After one year any time can expect it to die on you. Those old school that allow guild to be added can last around 2 year plus. Starter motor a recon should be sufficient since your is the renew coe car. Don't waste money on new. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buadongdong Twincharged May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 Thanks thanks... renewed for 10 yr, so likely will get new one... tks lots. Yours had the exact same symptoms too? I hope there's no other problems... what could be the cause of this leh? Is it anything to do with driving habit or maintenance or??? Yup, exactly the same symptoms.. When I turn on the ignition key, I get all the lights on, aircon able to turn on with fan, but engine simply don't crank. Just a "tiak" sound and like you mentioned, the brake pedal becomes hardened and cannot depress. Was also at a loss when this happened to me initially until someone mentioned to me that it could be my motor starter. So went to WS and found that indeed its my starter up the lorry liao. So they gave me 2 choices, 1) to recon or 2) get new. Hope your ride is fine already. Please share with all of us what is the real cause of your problems and how you got it solved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 Not yet. Was hoping estima will see a brand new model later this year so decided to renew coe and wait till next year when hopefully got suitable model and coe also low... And since the Wish had been ok so renew n continue. Then if got suitable model next year just sell or scrap to get back protested pqp. Now no new estima, next year see which is best fit lor... need COE price to drop more than the scrap value of your wish by next year just to break even provided the car prices follow the quantum of coe price drop good luck! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 Yup, exactly the same symptoms.. When I turn on the ignition key, I get all the lights on, aircon able to turn on with fan, but engine simply don't crank. Just a "tiak" sound and like you mentioned, the brake pedal becomes hardened and cannot depress. Was also at a loss when this happened to me initially until someone mentioned to me that it could be my motor starter. So went to WS and found that indeed its my starter up the lorry liao. So they gave me 2 choices, 1) to recon or 2) get new. Hope your ride is fine already. Please share with all of us what is the real cause of your problems and how you got it solved. How you went to WS leh? Tow truck? tks... need COE price to drop more than the scrap value of your wish by next year just to break even provided the car prices follow the quantum of coe price drop good luck! Sigh… Am prepared to pay more to get a bigger MPV, as the kids are growing (but the Wish is not ). Not hoping to break even, unless COE plunges, which will likely come about only if there's major problem with economy, etc. - don't want that to happen lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 (edited) Ok tks. Haiz... Can jump start n go workshop or not huh? Or must tow for sure? If starter motor, jump start will not work. I called Derrick motor. He use spanner to knock on the starter. Then can start to drive to his workshop. If you know which is the starter, can try. something like to latch it in with the knock. This is the starter for Latio. Edited May 23, 2016 by Ben5266 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 Immobiliser. An immobiliser or immobilizer is an electronic security device fitted to an automobilethat prevents the engine from running unless the correct key (or other token) is present. This prevents the car from being "hot wired" after entry has been achieved and thus reduces motor vehicle theft. -- Since you mentioned your car alarm is crazy on rainy days, could it be the one preventing you from starting the car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 If starter motor, jump start will not work. I called Derrick motor. He use spanner to knock on the starter. Then can start to drive to his workshop. If you know which is the starter, can try. something like to latch it in with the knock. starter.JPG This is the starter for Latio. Thanks… but I dunno which is the starter, plus my mech just told me that it's blocked and can't be reached… Immobiliser. An immobiliser or immobilizer is an electronic security device fitted to an automobilethat prevents the engine from running unless the correct key (or other token) is present. This prevents the car from being "hot wired" after entry has been achieved and thus reduces motor vehicle theft. -- Since you mentioned your car alarm is crazy on rainy days, could it be the one preventing you from starting the car? But it wasn't raining yest leh… and it also recovered on its own on that rainy day. sigh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buadongdong Twincharged May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 Tow Truck lor.. No choice but to spend that additional $60 to tow it to the WS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cmdsea 3rd Gear May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 If starter motor, jump start will not work. I called Derrick motor. He use spanner to knock on the starter. Then can start to drive to his workshop. If you know which is the starter, can try. something like to latch it in with the knock. starter.JPG This is the starter for Latio. That means the solenoid pinion was stuck. If its accessible then tapping it will usually shake it free (the solenoid is the small cylinder roughly the size of a toilet roll cardboard tube, on top of the big cyclinder which is the actual motor). To locate it, follow the thick power cable from the battery + terminal down to the engine. If you cant locate it, put the car into 1st, release handbrake and rock the car backwards and forwards 2 or 3 times will free the starter pinion from the flywheel (manual cars only) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 Let us know finally how you solve. Wah lao this one Tua Ki... towed to WS, my mech just dropped bomb… it's the alternator that got prob wor, caused the batt to be flat as it's not charging. But strange that the lights, radio, etc. all still working. Told me engine mount also should replace together… Will be painful... Haiz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buadongdong Twincharged May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 Is this your trusted Mechanic? Is he trying to pull a fast one on you? Don't think the motor starter will affect the alternator leh. Engine mountings you'll have to judge for yourself whether the car is indeed vibrating serious enough for you to replace now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 25, 2016 Share May 25, 2016 Is this your trusted Mechanic? Is he trying to pull a fast one on you? Don't think the motor starter will affect the alternator leh. Engine mountings you'll have to judge for yourself whether the car is indeed vibrating serious enough for you to replace now. I'll say supposed to be trusted. At least he's easily accessible, normally. He said it's the alternator wear and tear and somehow just conked off, and the starter motor was not spoilt. On engine mount, it's 10 yr and the car has been having some vibration since day 1, but it's apparently a norm for the wish. Another owner did suggest I replace it some years back but I didn't do it. But I was quite surprised by the price, as it went up to $5xx. Checked with stockist one set (of 4) only $225... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buadongdong Twincharged May 25, 2016 Share May 25, 2016 I'll say supposed to be trusted. At least he's easily accessible, normally. He said it's the alternator wear and tear and somehow just conked off, and the starter motor was not spoilt. On engine mount, it's 10 yr and the car has been having some vibration since day 1, but it's apparently a norm for the wish. Another owner did suggest I replace it some years back but I didn't do it. But I was quite surprised by the price, as it went up to $5xx. Checked with stockist one set (of 4) only $225... So at the end of the day, it is concluded that the motor starter was perfectly fine and its the alternator that was the cause of the whole issue? As for mountings, the parts usually cost around the price you stated. The other cost goes to the labour as it is cumbersome. Hope all is well for you and your renewed ride.. Huat ah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 25, 2016 Share May 25, 2016 I'll say supposed to be trusted. At least he's easily accessible, normally. He said it's the alternator wear and tear and somehow just conked off, and the starter motor was not spoilt. On engine mount, it's 10 yr and the car has been having some vibration since day 1, but it's apparently a norm for the wish. Another owner did suggest I replace it some years back but I didn't do it. But I was quite surprised by the price, as it went up to $5xx. Checked with stockist one set (of 4) only $225... change the engine mounts la. unless you like the vibration all the time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 25, 2016 Share May 25, 2016 So at the end of the day, it is concluded that the motor starter was perfectly fine and its the alternator that was the cause of the whole issue? As for mountings, the parts usually cost around the price you stated. The other cost goes to the labour as it is cumbersome. Hope all is well for you and your renewed ride.. Huat ah! Yup said the alternator faulty so not charging the batt, causing it to be v weak, only 8.somthing v... but still got labour costs charged separately leh... Can only hope the car will not give further problem... tks…. change the engine mounts la. unless you like the vibration all the time. Apparently for wish even brand new already got the slight vibration. In any case, yes, we replaced it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeotl2000 Neutral Newbie May 29, 2016 Share May 29, 2016 My starter motor failed me around 9.5 years or 250k mileage. Replaced with a used one for about $150. The initial symptom was car unable to start. Waited for few minutes and tried again and it was ok. After some month/s same happened again and again waited for few minutes before starting again. Finally decided to get a workshop to check and it was the starter motor. Hi may I know where you get the recon one? My gHonda stream starter konk out. Need to replace ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...